We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 270 San Diego hotels

The Consulate Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)
Hotel amenities
The Consulate Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
20%
Ranked #241 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    10
    21
    47
See reviews for
29
15
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel because they supposedly had a 24-hour shuttle to the airport, but it was broken down and we had to take a taxi. Our room was on the street side of the hotel and there were fire engines and ambulances going by all night long. Also in our room the bathroom light kept turning on for no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, Ca
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not what I expected from the pictures. It was sketchy from the start because coming in at night, I thought we were in the ghetto. Took a long time to check in and they charge for parking I went back and checked all the websites from Booking.com (which says parking is free) to their own and nowhere does it says... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your stay was not what you expected we are taking the feedback into consideration and trying to make changes. Thank you. More

Gardena, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Every time the hubby and I would come down to San Diego this was the place we would stay at,at least 3 to 5 times a year.Sadly this place keeps getting worse and worse :/ but the price keeps going up. It seems as if they only care about the lobby because the rest of the hotel(more like a bad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your expectations were not met and we will bring this up in our next staff meeting. We thank you for your patronage. More

San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Front desk clerk did not know what she was doing. It took us forever to checkin. No refrigerator, no microwave, no pool (closed), no hot water!!!!!!!!! Mold in the shower on the ceiling. Save yourself the money and headache. Pay a little more for a place with hot water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are undergoing some renovations, we have implemented a new check in/check out procedures and we are in training, So I can understand you frustrations and only apologize that it took longer than expected to check in. To exacerbate the situation, the weekend you came we had a plumbing issue and yes that created cold water, no water. We are... More

Moss Point, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

No microwave, no refrigerator, no continental breakfast, room needed repairs, otherwise clean. No shuttle to airport, but they do have one you have to pay $12.00 for. For a five story bldg. I was very disappointed. I have stayed in Quality Inn's & Comfort Inn's in AL, TN, VA, TX, NM, AZ, & CA paying the same room rate with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are no longer the Quality Inn, We are sorry for your negative experience and we are making changes regularly. More

Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stay here for one night after a Sea World visit. It is very convenient to Sea World. The ladies at the from desk are fantastic! One of them is Sarah(?). Room: It was very stuffy as I walked-in. Their ventilation system they used is some type of cooler and it didn't help on a hot and muggy day. I just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We have changed names and we are making changes to our hotel and upgrading. Thank You. More

West Covina, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here two years ago for one horrible night and from the more recent reviews I can see that if anything it has gotten worse, even though that is hard for me to believe. This is because out of hundreds of hotels that I've stayed at anywhere in the world, this was by far the worst experience. As some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

There is work that we are doing to upgrade this hotel, we do have a zero tolerance policy, At this point we do not have the nightclub open, and we are a limited service budget hotel and we are priced competitively with the hotels in the area. This review is old and we are currently working and still have more... More

Espanola, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We reserved this Hotel for our family moon as it advertised it was close to Sea World which it is but I would recommend sleeping in your CAR before you stay here! The online pictures DONT represent the hotel AT ALL- Rooms & Hall way stink like something from 1940, the bed room key gave us problems EVERY TIME we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I visited San Diego for a short weekend and my stay from beginning to end was absolutely horrible and a sad excuse for customer service. I used Choice Rewards points one night and paid for the other night. The receptionist said that I only needed to re-checkin the next morning so that I could keep my same room. The next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This place is horrible, horrible! We stayed overnight and paid to park our car in the parking lot while we went away on a family vacation. Our car was broken into on the very first night. The hotel was NO HELP AT ALL. The thieves broke the window and stole my purse, along with other items. The only way we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to The Consulate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Consulate Hotel

Also Known As:
Quality Inn Airport Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
Quality Inn Airport Seaworld Area Hotel
San Diego Quality Inn
Quality Inn San Diego
Address: 2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Consulate Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Point Loma near many great attractions. We have over 100 rooms some suites that have a Harbor View. We have Free WiFi and all the room amenities. Shuttle service and underground parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your The Consulate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Consulate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Consulate Hotel to your Saves list