We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 270 San Diego hotels

The Consulate Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Consulate Hotel to your Saves list
The Consulate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
22%
Ranked #242 of 270 hotels in San Diego
  • Overview
  • Reviews (99)
  • Photos (10)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    11
    21
    51
See reviews for
29
15
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was the backup hotel for a convention we attended and the prime hotel was full. The good news: some recent paint, the restrooms on the main floor are all modern, has a covered parking garage, and a small pool and there is some new carpeting. The staff was fairly attentive but had to apologize at every turn. I'm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, we are taking this seriously and we understand your frustrations. We are a limited service budget hotel and we are making changes, but we do understand. Thank you. More

El Paso, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was really scared staying here with all.the bad reviews however my room was clean.but I.was messing towels to shower . The bad the elevator was not working which took.forvever to go to.the lobby from my room. Also front desk.have to learned better custumer service it took min on sunday waiting for the lady to.get back from.walking around doing nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we will bring this up in our meetings. Thank you for your patronage. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is garbage. The shower head in the bathroom is made for midgets!!! The hotel smells like a old musty closet and the rooms were just gross. The elevator was really small and old, I feared for my own life each time I stepped on, I'd say it's comparable to the tower of terror. I recommended staying far away... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was not what you expected, however we cannot respond to such angry hurtful words, We received the review from your other party as well and we can say we hope you have better luck in your travels. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. The carpet was stained, the elevator was extremely small and stopped at every floor which I was on the 6th floor, the breakfast area was never cleaned, the shower head was around my chest heighth. This is a last resort kind of place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. More

Beijing
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a bit concerned about the terrible reviews, since we had booked for one month. Everything went well: clean, spacious room with a lots of light and great view on the water, we got a mini bar and microwave. Not noisy and not scary. All appliances worked well. The staff is a little careless but it is a question... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you we appreciate the kind words and your feedback. Please come back and stay again. More

Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I didn't realize that San Diego was so busy during the summer and we did something I will never do again - arrived in San Diego without any reservations. I went EVERYWHERE (even starting 40 minutes outside of town) trying to find a place to stay for the night and could not find anything except for this place. THE GOOD:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were uncomfortable, however you arrived at the busiest time of year COMIC-CON and if you had called ahead you would have been made aware of the situation. We are a limited service budget hotel and our prices were FAIR Market Value. We keep them in accordance of ALL the HOTELS in the area. Again we are... More

Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

okay so I read the reviews before we booked this and I thought maybe its not so bad and me and my friend didn't have that much money to spend and they are a great price when we got there it was decent looking.. was a young boy checking us into our room we got into are room where it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

First we apologize if the stay was not what you expected, however we clean every room after every stay, if you were checked into a room that was not cleaned, we apologize however when we are made aware of any problems or issues we rectify them right away. thanks for the feedback. More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here during Comic Con and I was worried about review that said the hotel was noisy. I did not notice any noise from outside the hotel even though we weren't far from the airport. You could hear people if they were noisy in the hallway but this was not often. The room was roomy and clean, there were restaurants... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you we appreciate the feedback and kind words, we are trying to slowly update things at this hotel which is bring back the Bar the Ambassador (now open Thurs.-Sun) and we brought back the limited continental breakfast. We know how important it is to have a comfortable clean room and we are making a lot of changes. So Thanks... More

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We booked this hotel because they supposedly had a 24-hour shuttle to the airport, but it was broken down and we had to take a taxi. Our room was on the street side of the hotel and there were fire engines and ambulances going by all night long. Also in our room the bathroom light kept turning on for no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay was not what you expected. We are trying to update and make changes. Thank you. More

San Diego, Ca
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Not what I expected from the pictures. It was sketchy from the start because coming in at night, I thought we were in the ghetto. Took a long time to check in and they charge for parking I went back and checked all the websites from Booking.com (which says parking is free) to their own and nowhere does it says... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your stay was not what you expected we are taking the feedback into consideration and trying to make changes. Thank you. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Consulate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Consulate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Consulate Hotel

Address: 2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Consulate Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Consulate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Airport Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
San Diego Quality Inn
Quality Inn San Diego

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in San Diego with
any amenities

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located in the heart of Point Loma near many great attractions. We have over 100 rooms some suites that have a Harbor View. We have Free WiFi and all the room amenities. Shuttle service and underground parking is available. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
110

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Consulate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer