We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Consulate Hotel

2.0 of 5 2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Consulate Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Consulate Hotel
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    11
    21
    51
See reviews for
30
15
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

My daughter and i stayed at the Consulate hotel as part of our getaway weekend for the San Diego Film Festival. We were nervous after reading all the negative reviews, but find it hard to fault the hotel on anything. The staff was very helpful, the hotel and room very clean. The room had everything one could need. Towels and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Yes our building is great, especially if you get a higher floor the views are fantastic. We thank you for the kind words, we have been working on many things at this hotel and it is great to see some of it is working. As far as the amenities, we do have fridge and micro available on request. We apologize... More

Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel was the backup hotel for a convention we attended and the prime hotel was full. The good news: some recent paint, the restrooms on the main floor are all modern, has a covered parking garage, and a small pool and there is some new carpeting. The staff was fairly attentive but had to apologize at every turn. I'm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, we are taking this seriously and we understand your frustrations. We are a limited service budget hotel and we are making changes, but we do understand. Thank you. More

El Paso, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I was really scared staying here with all.the bad reviews however my room was clean.but I.was messing towels to shower . The bad the elevator was not working which took.forvever to go to.the lobby from my room. Also front desk.have to learned better custumer service it took min on sunday waiting for the lady to.get back from.walking around doing nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we will bring this up in our meetings. Thank you for your patronage. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is garbage. The shower head in the bathroom is made for midgets!!! The hotel smells like a old musty closet and the rooms were just gross. The elevator was really small and old, I feared for my own life each time I stepped on, I'd say it's comparable to the tower of terror. I recommended staying far away... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was not what you expected, however we cannot respond to such angry hurtful words, We received the review from your other party as well and we can say we hope you have better luck in your travels. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This place was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. The carpet was stained, the elevator was extremely small and stopped at every floor which I was on the 6th floor, the breakfast area was never cleaned, the shower head was around my chest heighth. This is a last resort kind of place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. More

Beijing
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were a bit concerned about the terrible reviews, since we had booked for one month. Everything went well: clean, spacious room with a lots of light and great view on the water, we got a mini bar and microwave. Not noisy and not scary. All appliances worked well. The staff is a little careless but it is a question... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you we appreciate the kind words and your feedback. Please come back and stay again. More

Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I didn't realize that San Diego was so busy during the summer and we did something I will never do again - arrived in San Diego without any reservations. I went EVERYWHERE (even starting 40 minutes outside of town) trying to find a place to stay for the night and could not find anything except for this place. THE GOOD:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were uncomfortable, however you arrived at the busiest time of year COMIC-CON and if you had called ahead you would have been made aware of the situation. We are a limited service budget hotel and our prices were FAIR Market Value. We keep them in accordance of ALL the HOTELS in the area. Again we are... More

Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

okay so I read the reviews before we booked this and I thought maybe its not so bad and me and my friend didn't have that much money to spend and they are a great price when we got there it was decent looking.. was a young boy checking us into our room we got into are room where it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

First we apologize if the stay was not what you expected, however we clean every room after every stay, if you were checked into a room that was not cleaned, we apologize however when we are made aware of any problems or issues we rectify them right away. thanks for the feedback. More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here during Comic Con and I was worried about review that said the hotel was noisy. I did not notice any noise from outside the hotel even though we weren't far from the airport. You could hear people if they were noisy in the hallway but this was not often. The room was roomy and clean, there were restaurants... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you we appreciate the feedback and kind words, we are trying to slowly update things at this hotel which is bring back the Bar the Ambassador (now open Thurs.-Sun) and we brought back the limited continental breakfast. We know how important it is to have a comfortable clean room and we are making a lot of changes. So Thanks... More

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We booked this hotel because they supposedly had a 24-hour shuttle to the airport, but it was broken down and we had to take a taxi. Our room was on the street side of the hotel and there were fire engines and ambulances going by all night long. Also in our room the bathroom light kept turning on for no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay was not what you expected. We are trying to update and make changes. Thank you. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Consulate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Consulate Hotel

Address: 2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Consulate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Consulate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Airport Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
San Diego Quality Inn
Quality Inn San Diego

10 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay