We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 268 San Diego hotels

The Consulate Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Consulate Hotel to your Saves list
The Consulate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
21%
Ranked #241 of 268 hotels in San Diego
  • Overview
  • Reviews (94)
  • Photos (10)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    10
    21
    49
See reviews for
30
15
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I didn't realize that San Diego was so busy during the summer and we did something I will never do again - arrived in San Diego without any reservations. I went EVERYWHERE (even starting 40 minutes outside of town) trying to find a place to stay for the night and could not find anything except for this place. THE GOOD:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

okay so I read the reviews before we booked this and I thought maybe its not so bad and me and my friend didn't have that much money to spend and they are a great price when we got there it was decent looking.. was a young boy checking us into our room we got into are room where it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here during Comic Con and I was worried about review that said the hotel was noisy. I did not notice any noise from outside the hotel even though we weren't far from the airport. You could hear people if they were noisy in the hallway but this was not often. The room was roomy and clean, there were restaurants... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you we appreciate the feedback and kind words, we are trying to slowly update things at this hotel which is bring back the Bar the Ambassador (now open Thurs.-Sun) and we brought back the limited continental breakfast. We know how important it is to have a comfortable clean room and we are making a lot of changes. So Thanks... More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We booked this hotel because they supposedly had a 24-hour shuttle to the airport, but it was broken down and we had to take a taxi. Our room was on the street side of the hotel and there were fire engines and ambulances going by all night long. Also in our room the bathroom light kept turning on for no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay was not what you expected. We are trying to update and make changes. Thank you. More

San Diego, Ca
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Not what I expected from the pictures. It was sketchy from the start because coming in at night, I thought we were in the ghetto. Took a long time to check in and they charge for parking I went back and checked all the websites from Booking.com (which says parking is free) to their own and nowhere does it says... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your stay was not what you expected we are taking the feedback into consideration and trying to make changes. Thank you. More

Gardena, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Every time the hubby and I would come down to San Diego this was the place we would stay at,at least 3 to 5 times a year.Sadly this place keeps getting worse and worse :/ but the price keeps going up. It seems as if they only care about the lobby because the rest of the hotel(more like a bad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your expectations were not met and we will bring this up in our next staff meeting. We thank you for your patronage. More

San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Front desk clerk did not know what she was doing. It took us forever to checkin. No refrigerator, no microwave, no pool (closed), no hot water!!!!!!!!! Mold in the shower on the ceiling. Save yourself the money and headache. Pay a little more for a place with hot water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are undergoing some renovations, we have implemented a new check in/check out procedures and we are in training, So I can understand you frustrations and only apologize that it took longer than expected to check in. To exacerbate the situation, the weekend you came we had a plumbing issue and yes that created cold water, no water. We are... More

Moss Point, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

No microwave, no refrigerator, no continental breakfast, room needed repairs, otherwise clean. No shuttle to airport, but they do have one you have to pay $12.00 for. For a five story bldg. I was very disappointed. I have stayed in Quality Inn's & Comfort Inn's in AL, TN, VA, TX, NM, AZ, & CA paying the same room rate with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are no longer the Quality Inn, We are sorry for your negative experience and we are making changes regularly. More

Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stay here for one night after a Sea World visit. It is very convenient to Sea World. The ladies at the from desk are fantastic! One of them is Sarah(?). Room: It was very stuffy as I walked-in. Their ventilation system they used is some type of cooler and it didn't help on a hot and muggy day. I just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We have changed names and we are making changes to our hotel and upgrading. Thank You. More

West Covina, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here two years ago for one horrible night and from the more recent reviews I can see that if anything it has gotten worse, even though that is hard for me to believe. This is because out of hundreds of hotels that I've stayed at anywhere in the world, this was by far the worst experience. As some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
B D, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

There is work that we are doing to upgrade this hotel, we do have a zero tolerance policy, At this point we do not have the nightclub open, and we are a limited service budget hotel and we are priced competitively with the hotels in the area. This review is old and we are currently working and still have more... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Consulate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Consulate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Consulate Hotel

Address: 2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Consulate Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Expedia, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Consulate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Airport Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
San Diego Quality Inn
Quality Inn San Diego

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located in the heart of Point Loma near many great attractions. We have over 100 rooms some suites that have a Harbor View. We have Free WiFi and all the room amenities. Shuttle service and underground parking is available. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
110

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer