We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mission Valley Resort

3.0 of 5 875 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mission Valley Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mission Valley Resort
Mission Valley Resort
Mission Valley Resort
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    72
    54
    75
    197
See reviews for
135
113
37
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (470)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (158)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (107)
All months
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I came from Honolulu to San Diego and I found this Hotel perfect for my needs. Nice location for everything. The bed was excellent and housekeeping allowed me to sleep in late. I was on Hawaiian time the first week back in San Diego. Mahalo for Mission Valley Resort

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was really looking forward to staying here. BIG MISTAKE. First room they gave me had stuff missing off the walls, a busted lamp, busted bathtub spout, dirty carpets, beat up furniture and generally was in shoddy condition. Looked like someone had not had a fight in the room, but a fight WITH the room. Went to wash my face-no water.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. My sincere apologies for the condition of your room My hopes is that we were able to address your condition issues prior to your departure. Mike Hensley, General Manager More 

Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Most hotels on hotel circle jack up their prices $20 for weekends, so we moved from Travel Lodge to here. Very large, nice pool & huge jacuzzi. however, very old and outdated. Old style TV's and needs some interior work, but to just stay a night was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I belive you are correct in your honest evaluation. We are a clean, older property with nice grounds, a friendly staff and have great pricing. We look forward to your return. Mike Hensley, General Manager More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I needed a place to stay that would allow my dogs to stay with me. What we ended up with was terrible. The grounds are well kept and you enter thinking "wow". Getting into the rooms is a different story. The shower head had green scum growing out of it. I don't want to say it was mold because my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, My apologies for your room condition challenges and lack of follow up. Our focus is to provide a clean room at a great value. I am glad to see that staff was friendly and grounds were great. Thank you again for your comments. Mike Hensley, General Manager More 

Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived and found a very sketchy place. The lobby was next to a bar that intimidated me a bit, the rooms where next to a dark parking lot and while we were cheking in a junkie started a fight in the parking lot and the receptionist stopped helping us to call the police. We canceled our reservation and left.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I'm sorry that you felt uncomfortable with your experience at arrival. The hotel does offer a lobby bar / tavern that offers sporting events and games.. The Mission Valley Resort is a older property that is clean and has a friendly staff. We also have great prices. I think that you would have enjoyed yourself... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We're not from Sandiego and I ask a friend to book me a hotel ! When I got there I was shock and could not even sit the chair in the room , look at the bed and seat and it was horrible the place was dirty and smelly ! I could not even stand it ! I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your coments. I apologize for the room condition you experienced. We work hard daily to upgrade and clean our guest rooms. I am confident that this room was addressed and is in good working order. Thank you. Mike Hensley, General Manager More 

Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While one expects bargain hotels/motels to be a deal, one still wants a nice room that is clean, well maintained, with working air and heat. The furniture was not in the best of repair, the television for those who watch was not a flat screen, the bathroom small and the bed just OK. My last experience at this hotel during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. My apologies for your challenges. We will address all areas of your concern. Sincerely, Mike Hensley, Genral Manager More 

Delray Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

This is not at all a hotel. Its a rubbish roadside motel. Hotel staff is so rude. They gave us worst hotel room. Beds were so bad and there was no water coming in the bathroom. when i informed hotel staff they said if you want you can check out. I do not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the lack of options given by the front desk. We will use these coments for traing staff to provide options and perform service recovery. Again, my apologies. Mike Hensley,General Manager More 

Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

DISGUSTING!!!!! How this "Resort" passes health and safety standards is beyond me. Requested non smoking room the room stunk to high heaven! Staff were rude. Airconditiong unit leaked and SOAKED the carpet. The carpet has never been vacuumed. I don't think the walls have EVER seen disinfectant spray or a cloth. Power points were hanging out of the walls. Even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

My sincere apologies for youre challenges while a guest of the Mission Valley Resort. I hope that people that read these types of reviews take the time to reach out the Management Staff to review disfunction and receive service recovery. My apologies for the service you were given. Mike Hensley, General Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

This hotel is excellent for their price. My cousin had his 30th bday party here and they really took care of us and accommodated our requests. Aaron from the front desk helped us out when we accidentally took our key-cards with us instead of turning them over. He was very nice and always says "no worries!". We love this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It's always nice hearing that positive side of our guest experiences. Our staff is engaged and caring and we are a great value. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to your return. Mike Hensley, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mission Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Valley Resort

Address: 875 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mission Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mission Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Mission Valley San Diego

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay