We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mission Valley Resort

875 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mission Valley Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

557 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    78
    86
    68
    89
    236
See reviews for
170
128
40
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (557)
  • Mar-May only
    (135)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (208)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (108)
All months
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Found a good deal on Hotwire for this 'resort'. On the positive, I will say that the customer service, at least face to face, was very good. My room appeared to be clean and I didn't feel unsafe in the room. Those are the minimum things that I want when I stay someplace. On the negative: 1. Very old looking.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TLV
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed with the kids Hotel is relatively old and bathroom needs renovation However - Kids enjoyed the pool very much Very nice restaurant with good prices Staff is helpful Bottom line - a real bargain

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for grandson's birthday. All tickets purchased and expedia had ***(three star) surprise hotel in San Diego close to seaworld and legoland for special up to 40% off normal price. So booked it for 5 days. Not that much cheeper because instead of 3 star it is 2 star. Expedia unresponsive to complaint so called hotel and they graciously... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jkatie, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Yes, you are correct we are a clean, hotel with comfortable beds & clean linen. Your feedback is invaluable to us, because it allows us to improve our hotel for future guests. Please know that your concerns are being addressed with our staff in hopes that you will... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The building is old and run down...... even the manager says "the hotel is 3 star because we have 2 heated pools a bar and a minimart" bar is discusting... minimart has 6 items for sale.... and the pools... they are life breading bacteria pools... I estimate the matress 25 yr old. Don't believe me? Dare you to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Eloy P, We know we are a older hotel but strive to give every guest a clean, comfortable bed & room. We are inspected by San Diego's Environmental Services in all our pools and food service areas and have passed all pool inspections and received "A" in all of our outlets. Therefore our pools are not "breeding bacteria pools".... More 

Torrance, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First thing I want to say is that when you check in make sure it is your name. I was going to get someone else reservation. When I went to sign in for check in it was someone else name and credit card. All I got was oops, it is time for me to go home. Front desk says they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear waller1234, Your are so right! Our rooms are clean and comfortable and the pool is a plus. We are always "training" working hard to improve performances in all departments. We will use your comments as a "mock training" session on what not to do upon checking a guest into our hotel. On your return to San Diego, book with... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

3 other friends and I drove all the way from Salt Lake City to San Diego to stay in this hotel - we thought it was a huge steal considering the price and 3 star hotel rating. I am not high maintenance - therefore, I dealt with the room. But it was nothing like the pictures that are posted here.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sariah Rose 666, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Yes, you are correct we are a clean, hotel with comfortable beds & clean linen. Your feedback is invaluable to us, because it allows us to improve our hotel for future guests. Please know that your concerns are being addressed with our staff in hopes that... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was probably one of the best places to stay in all of San Diego.....40 years ago. The rooms desperately need to be updated. The rooms could use a fresh coat of paint and new carpeting, but for the location and the value you can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jeffrey H, Correct da mundo! We are a value that you can't beat! It was great that you gave us 5 stars for service which as a team we work hard to provide to "every guest every time". We look forward to your return trip to our wonderful city. Sunny Regards! More 

Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The bed was comfortable and the bedding was clean. That's the only good thing I have to say. Now the bad. They put someone else in our room, even giving them a key. If it wasn't for us being in the room at the time these people would have been able to enter our room. For the next three days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Brett H, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We do have comfortable beds with clean linen. Your feedback is invaluable to us, because it allows us to improve our hotel for future guests. Please know that your concerns are being addressed with our staff in hopes that you will give us another chance in the... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well, the one star is generous! This place is terrible! The only reason we stayed here was the rest of out team was. We couldn't take the peeled paint, mold, dirty floors, water shutting off for several hours!!! We checked out after one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear jmd1959, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us, because it allows us to improve our hotel for future guests. Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel. More 

Fresno, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this hotel before reading reviews and it was with some trepidation I booked in, ready to leave after one night if what I had read was true. What we got was a fairly large room with two comfortable beds, the bed linen was of reasonable quality very fresh and white. There were ample thick white towels which were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Candw2015, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and your comments on the staff are much appreciated. What a great description of our Mission Valley Resort. Comfy beds with fresh linen, towels & hot efficient showers. Pleasant, professional staff with a great restaurant, bar, pool & landscaping. We look forward to servicing you in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#164 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#56 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#153 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
#127 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay