We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mission Valley Resort

3.0 of 5 875 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mission Valley Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mission Valley Resort
Mission Valley Resort
Mission Valley Resort
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    71
    53
    72
    195
See reviews for
133
112
35
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (462)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (158)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
Delray Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is not at all a hotel. Its a rubbish roadside motel. Hotel staff is so rude. They gave us worst hotel room. Beds were so bad and there was no water coming in the bathroom. when i informed hotel staff they said if you want you can check out. I do not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the lack of options given by the front desk. We will use these coments for traing staff to provide options and perform service recovery. Again, my apologies. Mike Hensley,General Manager More 

Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

DISGUSTING!!!!! How this "Resort" passes health and safety standards is beyond me. Requested non smoking room the room stunk to high heaven! Staff were rude. Airconditiong unit leaked and SOAKED the carpet. The carpet has never been vacuumed. I don't think the walls have EVER seen disinfectant spray or a cloth. Power points were hanging out of the walls. Even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

My sincere apologies for youre challenges while a guest of the Mission Valley Resort. I hope that people that read these types of reviews take the time to reach out the Management Staff to review disfunction and receive service recovery. My apologies for the service you were given. Mike Hensley, General Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

This hotel is excellent for their price. My cousin had his 30th bday party here and they really took care of us and accommodated our requests. Aaron from the front desk helped us out when we accidentally took our key-cards with us instead of turning them over. He was very nice and always says "no worries!". We love this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It's always nice hearing that positive side of our guest experiences. Our staff is engaged and caring and we are a great value. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to your return. Mike Hensley, General Manager More 

Carbondale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

This hotel was so gross and run down. Both of the electrical outlets were not even secured to the wall!! A huge safety concern with children wanting to plug in their electronics! The room smelled bad, the carpet was stained and we didn't even have any washcloths. We had to use hand towels in the shower!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we continue to upgrade our rooms and guest safety is a main concern. I hope that you relayed these conserns at check out. We have a strong maintenace program that will address room issues as well a guest concerns. Thank you. Mike Hensley, General Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

We picked this from a Expedia sale, although was still high cost. Guess it was peak tourism time?. The place was fully booked, when we arrived to our room, dark, minimal lighting, wasn't the cleanest in town - ok if you like toothpaste on the blinds (why, i do not know). The room next to us - rubbish out the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The hotel is a safe invoronment for all. We will work on extra lighting in our guest rooms and the hopes that you relayed your concerns at check out so we addressed your exact room. Please call on me for future assistance. Thank you. Mike Hensley, General Manager. More 

San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I lived in San Diego for many years and recently moved away. I decided to stay and what use to be a fine hotel in San Diego however to my disappointment Mission Valley had a lot to be desired. When I checked in, I was given a room where the bedding was dirty. I was switched to a diffferent room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. My sincere apologies for the lack of professionalism on behalf of our staff. You are correct, those types of comments are very unprofessional. This will be a discussion topic at our next meeting. We are working on the cleanliness and towell issues and I hope that you give us another chance to show you we... More 

Syracuse, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

we stayed here while visiting San Diego. The property looks like it might have potential, however the rooms were severely outdated. The bed sheets were rough and the bathroom was filthy. There were hairs in the bathtub upon our arrival and when I pulled back the shower curtain there were more hairs stuck to it. On our last day (of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, my sincere apologies for the cleanliness of the bathroom. If you did not recieve attention on your issues at the front Desk, please call on me so I can reserch the issue. Thank you, Mike Hensley, General manager More 

Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

I got trapped into staying here through Travelocity's "Top Secret Hotels" scam. You pay a non-refundable price in order to get a "great" deal on a "top quality" hotel. You just don't know where it is before you prepay. I only paid $49 per night. It wasn't worth half that. The place is incredibly run down. The walls, carpet, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, We will focus our maintenance team to check on light sockets as well and available outlets for electronics. You are correct that the prices are great for the location and the houskeeping staff does a great job on the rooms. I hope you do give us the opportunity to show you we have made improvement... More 

Mexico City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

First, this is a motel, not a resort... not just any motel, a broken down, old, filthy motel... we arrived late so at front desk the clerk, was annoyed and just terrible service from him, so if everything started out like that.... the room, OMG the carpet had an iron burn right there, the mattress was like a hammock, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. My sincere apologies for the room condition you faced while my guest. I hope that you relayed this condition to the desk during your stay as we have a Maintenance Program to address these issues. Again, my sincere apologies for this challenge. Please call on me for any future stays as i will personally inspect... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Pro: 1) Very convenient location to Fashion Vally Mall, I-8, Hillcrest, Old Town, USD, college area. 2) Free Parking. SDCCU Credit Union ATM is located in the middle of parking lot. 3) Friendly and casual front desk staffs. Con: 1) Shower's water pressure is quite low. Brrrrr!!! 2) Wall is too thin. I had to hear next room's conversation. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are a 20 acre property surrounded by lush gardens and two swimming pools. We can be considered a resort, or an Inn. Either way, we have clean rooms and a friendly staff. Thank you. Mike Hensley, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mission Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Valley Resort

Address: 875 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mission Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mission Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Mission Valley San Diego

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay