We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mission Valley Resort

875 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mission Valley Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mission Valley Resort
Mission Valley Resort
Mission Valley Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

523 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    75
    80
    63
    84
    221
See reviews for
157
121
38
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (523)
  • Mar-May only
    (135)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (173)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (108)
All months
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I cannot give any stars to this place. My one requirement for hotel stays is that it's clean. This place besides being old, tired, and not maintained, was filthy. After our first night here our bathroom was not cleaned. Clean towels were thrown on the bed, not placed in the bathroom. A new bath mat was not left at all.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Be aware that this is not a resort, it is an old run down, horrible 1970's hotel next to a busy freeway. The room was dirty, small, old, not enough towels, asked for more, got none, hair dryer shorted out, power points hanging out of the wall, smelt damp, basically made our skin crawl. Didn't risk eating at the restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not sure where the upgraded section of the hotel is, but the 4 rooms I got were small, smelly and can't even compare to a "0.5" star. Book through Hotwire showing that it's a "3" star hotel. Guess I should have suspected the price being at $50 a night to be too good to be true. Lots of other hotels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was there for a week last March for a seminar. The management was careful to put us in their newer upgraded rooms. My room was a suite, with a kitchen area and sitting area. The bed was comfortable and the AC worked well. For a longer stay the rates are good, the grounds are pleasant, and it's about a 15... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear jennysayquah, Remember us next time visiting San Diego. All the great things we have available, location, outstanding family restaurant, grounds, pool, landscaping, great weather. Sunny Regards! More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Cockroaches, keys never worked, we got locked out 5 times. Was promised breakfast vouchers by staff, never received them. the WIFI was .02MBps!! Broken furniture, terrible service, the AC didn't work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear atcoleness, We are addressing all issues that you have expressed with each department. We apologize as it was not up to your expectations. More 

Reno, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Mission Valley Resort is located in Hotel Circle, which is a convenient location if you have a rental car or don't mind including cab/Uber fares into your trip. The front desk staff was very friendly but the quality of the hotel left much to be desired. The bedding is old and the mattresses are very worn...my back has finally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kristin N, First impressions about our friendly & efficient Front Desk staff is always a pleasure to hear about. Additionally, we work hard as a team in cleanliness & guest satisfaction. Unfortunately, we have no control of what people do as they walk thru or stay at our property. Be remindful of our great rates, free parking, great location,... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked via Hotwire, and this place was rated as 3 star. Let me tell you - It's not even CLOSE! Small room, no real desk, old fuzzy tube TV that wasn't even watchable, uncomfortable OLD beds, dirty bathroom with mold in the shower. Outside looks ok from afar, but when you look up close it's disgusting. Stains all over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jay S. If you value comfort, sleep & cleanliness Mission Valley Resort is the hotel on hotel circle to stay! We offer free parking and wifi, an outstanding restaurant and bar with friendly and timely service. On your next visit to San Diego book again, as we continue to improve our guest's experience. More 

MAGNOLIA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was probably one of the worst places I've ever stayed. The outside of the 'resort' was nice, though dated. The inside was completely dated, old, run-down and nasty. The bed was probably 30 years old; you could feel every spring and each spring could have used some WD-40. The bathroom was busted up, holes in the wall, finish off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Blake B, Unfortunate that your stay was not up to your or ours standards. We will look to shut this room down and do a complete "deep cleaning" including a fresh coat of paint.. We will address immediately the unfriendliness/helpful of the Front Desk and towels in the room and pool. Upon your return to San Diego we would... More 

Indio, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel should be charged with fraud!! They advertise great pictures but what you get is a room that hasn't been painted in 20 years and a bathtub that has patches instead of replacing . All they want is your $$ we had to leave and go pay for another hotel. So disappointed it's a GHETTO! don't stay here. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cilla 710, It is disheartening that you were not pleased with your room but also with our service. We may not be the newest or the fanciest hotel but we do take great pride in providing outstanding guest service. Upon your next trip to San Diego we hope you would give us another chance to service you. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came to San Diego for a few days. Saw this hotel on Expedia with decent reviews. We booked it. The hotel is dirty, room service comes at 8:00am and if you tell them to come back later they won't. The bathroom was filthy. It had hair all over the place. I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stephen D, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Iraidal, Sorry about the issues with your room. All of your issues will be addressed with the appropriate department. Upon your next visit to San Diego we are centrally located to everything in San Diego and would like to have you give us another try. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay