We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

#175 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
17065 W. Bernardo Dr., San Diego, CA 92127 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
37
13
16
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is the worse holiday inn express I've ever stayed at! And I'm a IHG rewards member and I stay at a lot of the holiday inn properties! They put me in a handicap room with dirty worn out carpet and the mini fridge wasn't working! When I called to switch rooms, SHERILL LOPEZ told me they were sold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deenesh S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review

We are really sorry about the way you felt about your stay at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all guest and do our best to go above and beyond expectations. In this case I approved a full refund on your reservation even though it was made through expedia.com and was non refundable, and your room type was not guaranteed.... More 

San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a "staycation" at this hotel a couple weeks ago with the family. It was a nice, older hotel that had a really decent breakfast. There are not a lot of restaurants in the area, but if you go up the freeway a couple exits, you will find many restaurants. The rooms are a little dated, but overall, not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Highly disappointed with this location! The hallways had an old smell and were dated. Worst of all, the room never got cool at 79 degrees while I, the bride, and my parents tried to get ready for my wedding day. I was completely frustrated and sweating like a pig. I had to call the front desk about the air conditioning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review

Dear AonMileFailte, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is deliver exceptional service and be the best hotel around. However, we sincerely apologize that your stay was negatively by the water and room temperature which fell below your expectations. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value,... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express hotels for the convenience and the price. I love the amenities, but this one needs work. First, my daughter chose this location for the proximity for guests to travel to the winery for the wedding. She reserved a block of rooms and she had to call, several times regarding the price quoted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review

Dear ohltb, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your high score in cleanliness. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the lack of hot water, toilet condition and air conditioning. We will address these concerns. I assure you that the feedback... More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this particular hotel because it was affordable and close to my parents' house (we were visiting my father, who was ill), hoping that the room would just be a place for us to crash at night. Instead, on our second morning there, we were woken up by our 3-year-old speaking those four words that every parent dreads... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coos Bay, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

GOOD - Front staff were very helpful and nice. Asked for a top floor and he put us in the newer section third floor. Breakfast was decent. Plenty to choose from. We ate early and when I went back in to grab a banana they were almost all gone. Don't know if the gal was going to restock more or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I stayed on the first floor, room 1xx. I called the front desk about the ants in the bathroom and in the room. A manager was suppose to come over but no one came. LOL. Then from about 10pm to about 1am on Sunday, LOUD soccer kids were racing and running down the long hallway on the first floor. Again,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deenesh S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review

Dear BobbbyE, I am really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at hour hotel. We did have a large soccer group in house so I apologize about the extra kids this last weekend. It is out of the norm for staff to not pay attention to details so thank you for bringing that to my attention. I will visit... More 

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

If you are looking for a nice clean hotel in a location easy to find with great staff this is it. I have stayed here three times, twice for two weeks. The staff is not only friendly, but are always asking if you need anything. There is a small pool and work out room and a washer and dryer. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

The rooms are sleek looking sure... not cleaned or maintained very well, we found hair in the bathtub and what looked like PEE stains on the walls around the toilet (GROSS!). Took us 40 minutes to get towels... could have gone to the store for some in that time. The pool was very cramp and not maintained well, towels all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review

Dear MarkySantu, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention, and we apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort caused by the overall cleanliness of our bathroom, breakfast and room service below par. Please know that these are not the standards that we... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 via mobile

Hilton Garden Inn is bit worn-out place where breakfast selection is miserable. E.g. You can find toast, but not real bread or sausages. No crossaints either. There is no buffet and plenty of standard breakfast selection is missing. Second negative is the internet. You have to login on it everyday and sometimes more often. The speed is miserable (SpeedTest measured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review

Dear MadeInFinland1975, Thank you for sharing your experience online. We appreciate you choosing our hotel during your recent business travel. I am glad to know that you had a smooth check in and appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly staff. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apology for the issues you had at breakfast and as well... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question