We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley

3.0 of 5 3805 Murphy Canyon Road, San Diego, CA 92123
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    54
    31
    18
    13
See reviews for
40
33
19
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (170)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley
See the most recent reviews
El Centro, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

It was great stay, Service was outstanding, there couldnt be more to ask for , the staff was great and hard working!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ldimeglio, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review!!! All of us at the Holiday Mission Valley Stadium strive to provide excellent service and are thrilled that you had an excellent stay. Please come back and visit us soon! Sincerely, Linda DiMeglio, General Manager More

Holtville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn San Diego in Mission Valley in March of 2010. I would definetly stay there again and recommend this place to my friends. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Nice to know there are still good employees and a clean place to stay. We will be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WesLavender, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Smiles, Thanks for your kind words regarding your stay with us! The improvements to the hotel during our renovation dovetail perfectly with the excellent service offered by our team of seasoned professionals! We look forward to hosting you from Holtville in February! Psst...be on the look out when you are on property and see if you recognize any celebrities... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the holiday inn mission valley a month or so ago. This was not a pleasure trip as my husband was having surgery bit come time to leave we didn't want to go. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They brought up a fridge by us merely asking if it was possible. My kids... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WesLavender, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Hi Beth, I hope your husband recovered from his surgery! Thanks for staying with us! I'm glad our team was able to exceed your expectations and take care of you during what I'm sure was a difficult time for your family. I will pass on your comments to our team! We do have refrigerators and microwaves available for the guest... More

West Jordan, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I stayed in room 111 which should never be used. Across the hall is meeting room 110 that has meetings until 9:30 pm. Behind my wall is the motors to the elevators which run all night and out my window is a busy road. The internet was horribly slow, and parking was horrible. Almost every vehicle was over the line... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WesLavender, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Mike, I'm sorry we failed to meet your expectations during your stay with us in January. We endeavor to exceed the expectations of all our guests, and in your circumstance it is obvious we failed to do this. I will contact you via e-mail to inquire regarding the specifics of your experience, because we should have relocated you to... More

San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

i booked a room for family that was coming to town. I was very satisfied with the hotels parking, decor, cleanliness and staff. The hotel was very well kept and the room was nice and tidy, well stocked and they made sure we had a fridge and microwave in the room as we requested. Gerrie checked us in and she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WesLavender, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Marci, Thanks for your kind words of praise for our hotel and team (I have passed on your comments to Gerrie)! We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests in order to make them advocates, and to ensure their future patronage. I am glad to hear that you are a loyal guest! Please let me know the next... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

I chose the hotel because it was very close to someone that I was visiting. From day one the lavatory sink drain was clogged and the water just laid in the sink until I left, also the counter around the sink was very small and water just laid on the counter which made it dangerous to use the coffee maker.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WesLavender, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear MaryJo, I apologize that your experience earlier this month was a disappointment. Our team should have noticed that the sink was clogged and asked that it be repaired. We are currently in discussions with a few vendors to change our current coffee offering, and one of the subjects is the migration of our coffee makers and cups away from... More

london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere miles away from downtown San Diego, even the cab driver had no idea where it was. The public areas are dark and gloomy and the food is awful. The bedrooms however were acceptable. The hotel contracts out rooms to local shipyard workers who monopolise the bar at night. The feel of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WesLavender, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Gezra, I apologize for your poor experience with us last month. We endeavor to exceed the expectations of our guests, and obviously we fell short of this goal. While our hotel is not located in the downtown market, we are located only 7 miles from the Gaslamp district of downtown. We are, however, centrally located to all the attractions... More

Shoreline, Washington
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We were there with our 12 yr. old for the Surf Cup Soccer Tournament. The hotel was very accomodating considering all the kids they had to deal with. That being said, we found the room service was less than expected. For 2 days we did not receive hand towels in the bathroom, even though we called the front desk. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JCTraveller1, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us last week. We appreciate your candor, and apologize for the issues regarding towels while you were staying with us. I agree that during times that increased demand for towels are expected we should be prepared from a staffing standpoint to make sure there is no shortage.... More

Mesa, AZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

This hotel stay was very pleasant. Hotel staff and even all house keeping staff were very friendly and accommodating. Entire hotel was very recently remodeled so it looked, felt and smelled new. Room was very clean, quiet, and modern. Pool and hot tub were in very nice condition as well and are heated (hot tub a little too much actually).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Las Vegas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

I stayed this hotel in Feb. and it's pretty nice. Staff were great and the restaurant was awesome. Awesome price for room. Will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley

Address: 3805 Murphy Canyon Road, San Diego, CA 92123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay