We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
Add Photo

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    53
    101
    69
    27
    11
See reviews for
57
66
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (261)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here a week ago and were fairly satisfied. The room was nice although a bit small. One complaint about the room is the bathroom door. It's like a sliding closet door and even when closed you can still see through the crack in it. My HUGE complaint is the parking. Mandatory 30 dollar valet. That crazy talk. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had to go to San Diego to attend a big convention at the San Diego Conference Center. The hotel is a little over a mile from the Gaslamp district and the Convention Center. It is a nice walk though. It is only about a quarter mile walk to Little Italy, which has a lot of restaurants. The hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's not a beautiful hotel, but large rooms with decent amenities. We stayed on a higher floor and had a nice large room, with good views of the airport and ocean. It was clean and free wifi. It's a busy hotel and seems to cater to business and cruise ships guest. The front staff does a good job in keeping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a room in December 2014 for a business event in June 2015. Two weeks before the event on May 28th 2015 got a notice my reservation is CANCELED and moved to totally inconvenient and lower class hotel - Comfort Inn!!! A way to do business Starwood and I am a "Preferred Guest"!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David Y, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I want to apologize for the inconvenience this unfortunate system error caused. I'm glad my Sales Manager was able to talk with you and make concessions for the inconveniences you experienced. Whenever anything like this happens we work to immediately notify our guests and determine a viable solution for our guests and appreciate their... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is a remodeled Holiday Inn and is a round tower. Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our only complaint was that the lighting in the bathroom was not adequate. More light is needed over the sink. The hotel is close to the train station, the Gaslamp District, and the freeway.. Given the price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David Y, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Wow, I heard the Stones concert was great! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review of your experience. I read your comment about the bathroom lighting and I'll take a look at it to see if there's something we can do. We look forward to your return.... David E. York General Manager More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

I found this location to be perfect for my needs. I could walk to everything. The Gaslamp district, Hillcreast , Horton plaza, and sea port village . The hotel is a tad bit tired and worn but the staff is great & very friendly .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David Y, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I agree with you that we're close to everything and have the best associates always ready to serve our guests. We are always looking for opportunities to upgrade our rooms so please come back and experience some of those changes first hand. See you soon, David E. York General Manager More 

Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I had great experience staying for two nights. Excellent location and friendly staffs also helpful. If you want to stay in hotel at downtown. This the best bet. Everything is within walking distance. Very near to airport as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David Y, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review of our hotel and your experience staying with us. I don't think I could've said it any better than you did. Please visit again when you're traveling....guests like you make our jobs FUN. David E. York General Manager More 

Binningen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Hotel is well situated, directly at the highway/freeway entrance (great for trips to Sea World or shopping at Premium Outlet Las Americas ;-). 10min to the water with restaurants and the USS Midway Carrier to look at. Room was very nice, only annoying thing was the toilet which refilled every 1-2 hours. This is annoying specially during nighttime. Free Wifi.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David Y, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Marc - Thank you for the great review of our hotel and for sharing your experience. I had my team check on that dripping toilet so other guests won't be affected. I know valet parking can be expensive for our guest who come with a car; however, this is typical of most downtown properties because space is so limited. As... More 

Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Went on vacation with my wife to San Diego and area this month. Stayed at the Four Points. Room is extremely small. You practicly have the bathroom in your sleeping area. Paper thin walls and you can hear everything around you. Service was terrible. The staff claimed that they were super busy, like that is my problem. I just ended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David Y, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Jim - Thank you for your review and I apologize that you didn't receive the exceptional service that we our known for providing. It sounds as if in this case we had a lot of opportunities for improvement and we just dropped the ball. While we never want to have a guest leave feeling their expectations weren't exceeded or at... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

I stayed here for a conference. I had booked late so all the conference hotels were sold out. The location of this hotel is ok, depending on where you need to be or whether you have a car and don't mind driving. It's off the highway, fairly close to the airport and not far from little Italy. It's about an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

282 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Bay View with King Bed (36)
Viewed
Bay View with Two Double Beds (27)
Viewed
City View with Two Double Beds (22)
Viewed
King Executive (36)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay