We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

#145 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel")
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    235
    107
    70
    44
See reviews for
158
120
32
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (648)
  • Mar-May only
    (154)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (239)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (159)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (96)
All months
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

IHG Platinum member. Hotel is located next to a highway. This is not a hotel should NOT be part of the Crowne Plaza or even the IHG hotel group. From an infrastructure and service perspective this is the worst Crowne Plaza I ever stayed in. The hotel is comparable with a Motel ; those hotels where you can park your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Frank-llseTsmithmorse, Thank you for your feedback and loyalty to IHG. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations as a Crowne Plaza property due to the layout of the property. We would like to invite you back in the near future to give us another opportunity next time you visit San Diego. Sunny Regards, Daniel More 

San Clemente, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just spent two nights at this hotel with my mother and sister. It was the accommodations for a mother daughter weekend that was my mom's mothers' day present. I have mixed feelings about my stay. The location of the hotel is convenient. The front desk was friendly and the room was clean with a nice view of the golf... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Tsmithmorse1, Thank you for staying with us during your special appreciation weekend. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience of not having your room cleaned by the time you arrived back to the hotel on Saturday evening. This is not the type of service we give to our guests, and we are sorry housekeeping overlooked your room and... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing hospitable person Mustafa on front desk welcomes everyone with great positive attitude - front desk team and Mustafa rocks !- my girlfriend and I work for one of the top Ent and Hotel companies and we appricieted their tremendous professionalism.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear IvanSu, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you for acknowledging Mustafa for his great customer service and the front desk team! We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to invite you back on your next visit in San Diego! We hope to see you again soon! Sunny Regards, Daniel More 

San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here April 24-26 for a friends wedding. Of course it was the only overcast/rainy weekend in San Diego in a while, but hey they all cant be great! We walked into the lobby and were greeted by roughly, 60-80 awkward children/young adults wearing ASU garb, I was immediately over the situation and realized that they too would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Pretty_Fabulous13, Thank you for your review. We appreciate the kind words about Mustafa. He was very excited when he read your review! He is a great addition to our front office team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Daniel More 

Honolulu
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Crown Plaza is a remarkable property. Many high points and one small concern. It is veteran property that has undergone a renaissance and is doing very well. As a hotelier ....my judgement of a hotel is two fold & simple: 1. a firm bed 2. ample & hot showers They score A + as well as much more. Super pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear ptb2929, Thank you for awarding us with an A+ review! We appreciate your kind words about our staff and property. We will continue to strive to provide you with excellent service and improve the overall guest experience. We look forward to your return! Sunny Regards, Daniel More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was very accommodating.We didn't rent a car, but shuttle was useful and always on time. The room was satisfactory it was cleaned very well. It had all the amenities that we needed. The one bothersome aspect was that we heard noisy kids running in the halls late at night. I would use it again to visit San Diego... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl P, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our recent refreshed guest rooms and our shuttle services. We apologize for any noise disturbance form other guests, please contact us before your next visit and so that if any groups are in house we can do our best to place your room on a quieter... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am pretty down to earth when it comes to hotel expectations, but the price point does not meet the quality of the hotel. Rusty tubs, broken elevators, hit-and-miss service, and uncomfortable beds. If I was playing under $100 per night, I would be fine with this place, but the $150+ price point just doesn't hit the mark. My trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Ben B, Thank you for your review. All management has read your review and will be passed along to all staff to make necessary corrections. Once again, thank you for bringing it our attention. Best Regards, Daniel More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked the Crowne Plaza Hanalei - Mission Valley, San Diego due to its very central location and based on Crowne Plaza reputation. Was disappointed by condition of hotel as it was quite dated and it need of some serious renovations property wide. Layout of hotel is good with all rooms having private balconies, but the sliding glass door in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Linda p, Thank you for your review! We appreciate your loyalty with International Hotels Group. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered with the television signal and balcony door being off track. These issues should have not been overlooked prior to arrival as they’re a quick fix and would have only taken a few minutes to correct both. Once... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing tropical oasis! The atmosphere of the hotel grounds is like paradise--waterfalls, beautiful flowers, lush green grass and beautiful palm trees. There is a glass elevator overlooking ponds and a tropical garden. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. They are also a "green" hotel. if you chose to decline to have your sheets changed, you received a coupon for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Michelle H, Thank you for your review! We appreciate your kind words. I am glad to read that we made a great impression from your stay with us last year! We hope to see you again this year! Sunny Regards, Daniel More 

Yucca Valley, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I've stayed at many crown plaza properties and this was the worst . Old and outdated but clean . They seemed like they were trying to blend the hanelei hotel days with the crown plaza and it wasnt working for me . We had eight people in our party four were children and they added an 18% gratuity to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Tom H, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the Crowne Plaza Polynesian theme. We have just updated and added many delicious items to restaurant menu this week and groups under 10 will no longer have an automatic gratuity on the bill. With requests that we have received from our guests we made... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

622 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (137)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Other (22)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (458)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (51)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Pool View (62)
Viewed
King Room (53)
Viewed
Lanai Suite (54)
Viewed
Leisure King Room (37)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (88)
Viewed
Tower Parlor Suite (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities