We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

#141 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel")
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    231
    107
    68
    43
See reviews for
158
118
32
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (641)
  • Mar-May only
    (147)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (239)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (159)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (96)
All months
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked the Crowne Plaza Hanalei - Mission Valley, San Diego due to its very central location and based on Crowne Plaza reputation. Was disappointed by condition of hotel as it was quite dated and it need of some serious renovations property wide. Layout of hotel is good with all rooms having private balconies, but the sliding glass door in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Amazing tropical oasis! The atmosphere of the hotel grounds is like paradise--waterfalls, beautiful flowers, lush green grass and beautiful palm trees. There is a glass elevator overlooking ponds and a tropical garden. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. They are also a "green" hotel. if you chose to decline to have your sheets changed, you received a coupon for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yucca Valley, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've stayed at many crown plaza properties and this was the worst . Old and outdated but clean . They seemed like they were trying to blend the hanelei hotel days with the crown plaza and it wasnt working for me . We had eight people in our party four were children and they added an 18% gratuity to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Tom H, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the Crowne Plaza Polynesian theme. We have just updated and added many delicious items to restaurant menu this week and groups under 10 will no longer have an automatic gratuity on the bill. With requests that we have received from our guests we made... More 

San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Crown Plaza in Mission Valley is one of the best locations for all types of visitors to San Diego. For those traveling with or without family this property provides easy access to downtown and the airport (3 miles away), Old Town (less than a mile), the SD Zoo (4 miles), Sea World (3 miles), and everything else is also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Derek O, Thank you for your 5 star review! We appreciate you mentioning the great location and well descriptive layout of our hotel for all future guests reading your review. Sunny Regards, Daniel More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one week from the end of March to the beginning of April. The place is a little dated, but they are doing some updating improvements. It's also right near a major highway #8 so you hear the hum of the cars and trucks when sitting on the balcony or when the door is open. Was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Eric D, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words and acknowledging our friendly staff. We look forward having you stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego! Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance or with special requests. Sunny Regards, Daniel More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was there for a wedding at the end of March. Booked the "romance package" which included champagne and breakfast for two. The room was literally in the parking lot facing the freeway. Noisy does not begin to cover it. Air conditioner would not cool the room beyond 80 degrees - so we sweated our butts off. Paint peeling in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear AlyPalm, Thank you for your review. We would like to first apologize for the A/C not working properly. We were aware of this situation during your stay and made other arrangements for you to stay in another room but you were getting ready and had left to the wedding. I am sure by the time you got back it... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes it's an old property, but well enough maintained. Our only complaint was peeling paint in the shower and our last morning I caught my foot in a piece of carpet that must have been forgotten about during the installation. I'm sure I won't forget about this while I walk at Disneyland the next three days!! Also, if your looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Auntmeessa, Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize for the issues you encountered in your guest room. There are no excuses as to why the paint in the bathroom and carpet were in the condition you found them. We appreciate you letting us know of these issues and the front desk has been informed of your... More 

Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I rented 4 rooms for a family event March 25-30. i feel a bit mixed about this property. It's a 1970's property. It shows it on the outside, but is well maintained . The rooms are totally updated and comfortable. Bedding is good. Pool and pool area was nice. Location was good for us. Close to Mission Beach, Mission Bay,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear NW_Passage1, Thank you for your review. I hope you enjoyed your family event with us. We appreciate your feedback on the current pricing in our food and beverage outlets. The Food and Beverage Manager is currently reviewing the pricing to ensure the prices are reasonable and competitive to others in the area. We are glad you enjoyed our newly... More 

Sylmar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff at Crowne Plaza San Diego has made an excellent first impression. From the moment we checked in everyone has been warm and hospitable. Looking forward to the rest of our stay. This is a great family friendly hotel. The midweek rates made this a great buy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear 54jh2013, Thank you for awarding us with a 5 star review! We are delighted to from the moment you arrived you had a great first impression of the hotel with a welcoming staff! We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay, and the great San Diego weather. Sunny Regards, Daniel More 

Logan, Utah
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable, although somewhat dated. I enjoyed the balcony. The maid service was great. The bed was comfortable and the heating/AC worked well (cool nights and unseasonably hot days). The hotel is next to a busy road but we were in the rear and were not bothered by any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Montona_Rustler, Thank you for your 4 star review! We are delighted that you had a great experience with us in our clean and comfortable rooms. Having a large balcony is definitely a must when visiting San Diego. We hope to see you again soon! Sunny Regards, Daniel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

622 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (137)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Other (22)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (458)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (51)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Pool View (62)
Viewed
King Room (53)
Viewed
Lanai Suite (54)
Viewed
Leisure King Room (37)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (88)
Viewed
Tower Parlor Suite (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question