We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

#86 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel deals
Hotel website
4550 La Jolla Village Drive, San Diego, CA 92122
Special Offer
Parking and WiFi Package
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

969 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    402
    354
    143
    52
    18
See reviews for
429
155
29
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (969)
  • Mar-May only
    (250)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (264)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (241)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (214)
All months
Victoria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This property delivers what you expect of Embassy properties, good hot breakfast, manager's reception and a lovely atrium area to sit in. Tips: there is ample free parking on the surrounding streets, no free internet in room unless Hilton Honours member and booked directly, if there are lots of guests for breakfast they open a buffet line in the hall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SANLJ, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Java73, Very much appreciate your being our guest and thank you for sharing your experience, this has been furnished, as every review is, with the entire team so that we may understand where we are falling short in delivering perfect. Thank you and please be assured that we are looking into the evening reception picky bits for all future... More 

Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property has a lot of good things going for it. The breakfast is outstanding. Love the made to order omelette. Also, the front dest has coy food if your children want to feed the coy fish that swim throughout the lower level. I also like that the rooms are bigger than those of a standard hotel. The down side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SANLJ, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer W, Thank you for being our guest and apologise for the challenges you experienced during this stay, firstly that slight opportunities that lye in the parking structure being rather tight for the slightly larger vehicles. Although not the perfect solution or an excuse but this is also one of the reasons we have recently offered valet parking using... More 

westminster, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very nice hotel with great rooms if you want room.. you get two large rooms...location of hotel is great with easy access to two different freeways and close to all San Diego activities. only negative was that you had to pay $25 a day for parking????

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
SANLJ, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Lowell M, Thank you for being our guest and delighted that you found the brilliantly spacious two room suites comfortable. We appreciate your being our guest and look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back. Sorry about the slight challenges with parking in and around the hotel due to rather limited space and being a shared parking... More 

Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best part of our stay was being greeted each morning with the greatest smile from Romeo, who worked in the breakfast area and served us with such joy each day! He makes the trip worthwhile each year and we have been coming to the hotel for the last 3 years and stay for a week each time. Thanks Romeo... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SANLJ, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear JPHADJIANDREOU, Fantastic and could not agree more, I too have the pleasure, but everyday, of seeing and being greeted by Romeo he is one of a kind and the kindest, big hearted, modest person I have worked alongside. Cheers and here's to the next visit. Tim More 

Barstow, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Embassy Suites with my husband and his son for one night while passing through San Diego. We always try to stay on Hilton properties if possible and are rarely disappointed. This was a very nice property. The staff was friendly, the room was comfy and clean and breakfast was the usual Embassy fare. The front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SANLJ, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Lisa H, Delighted to hear that your recent stay was great and that you encountered some of the best people in the business accommodating your requests. Hoping that the bountiful amenities from the Embassy Suites delivered a great value to overcome the challenges we experience with the parking in the La Jolla area. Cheers Tim More 

Frisco, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff is friendly, hotel is clean and up to date, location is perfect - walking distance to a mall and several places to eat. I've stayed at least twice a month for the last 3 months and have not had a bad experience ever.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
SANLJ, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Ed V, Thank you for being our guest and delighted that your recent stays have been great, we appreciate you and look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back. Cheers Tim More 

Whittier, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is average, falls a little short to the decor and warm reception I'm used to at the San Diego downtown Embassy Suites. Rooms are clean and housekeeping staff, very polite and helpful. Location is close to mall and 5 miles to La Jolla shores beach. Though not stated on web site, they do offer valet and there is PF... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SANLJ, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear SandyRowan57, Thank you for being our guest and appreciating the suite keeping team, they are very deserving of being recognized for delivering perfectly clean. I have passed on your experience regarding the evening reception to the food and beverage team to ensure that food is perfect and that all food is monitored for all to enjoy. We appreciate your... More 

Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This property is overpriced, even for LaJolla. The room that I had was a bit tired, and in serious need of updating. The fridge and microwave are hidden behind louvered/slatted doors, which is concealed, when the bathroom door is open. A couple of the elevators were out during our stay... also disappointing. That made for a slow trip to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SANLJ, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear forteiii, Thank you for being our guest and with the exhaustive and extensive travelling you do appreciate all your comments and recent experiences here. I apologise for the challenging elevators due to the magnitude of the complete modernization of the four elevators and requiring one to be off line during this project, delighted to say that September the third... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was a a mix up with our reservation it was resolved however. We were given a smoking rather than a non smoking hypo allergenic room, which we reserved. It took a bit longer than needed to resolve the matter, but the free actual cooked breakfast everyday made up for it. The suite was clean, and met all of my... More 

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
SANLJ, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Aveynave100, Thank you for being our guest and delighted that we will have again the opportunity to welcome you back. Very sorry for the pickle you experience during your check in and room assignment and fortunately for us you were so amicable in the resolution. Cheers and again, thank you. Tim More 

Costa Mesa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very clean, well appointed hotel with friendly and polite staff. No major complaints except that the pool towel supply depletes quickly and isn't replenished rapidly enough. It was a great experience overall.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
SANLJ, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review

Dear Christopher K, Thank you for being our guest and so sorry for the inconvenience caused by the pool towels being out and delayed in replenishing. Delighted however that most everything else was near perfect as this is our goal everyday and we are so fortunate to have so many brilliant people here to get to this. Cheers and hoping... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (114)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (94)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 25 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#15 of 25 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay