We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

3.5 of 5 601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Special Offer
AAA Members Save More!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    226
    67
    51
    39
See reviews for
240
133
16
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (673)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (223)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (177)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (130)
All months
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the moment we checked-in it was a mess. Rude guest service people. Furniture in the room was damaged. Had to pay insane amount to use wi-fi. I will never stay at another Embassy Suites again in my life!

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was transferred to this hotel due to a hotels.com double booking mix up. Sadly they refused to transfer us anywhere else or we would have left immediately. Completely ruined the vacation. The hotel is a complete construction zone. I am appalled that they are even allowed to stay open with such extensive work being done. The cement dust was everywhere,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

very bad experience, jackhammers at 8:00 am could not sleep due to hotel construction smells. No manager on site to complain about the noise and to request a transfer to another hotel. Overall terrible experience for myself and my wife

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

443simoni, I regret that you did not enjoy your stay. I assure you that there is always someone who is acting in a leadership capacity on all shifts. To those reading, we do have constructions noise however it does not start at 8am. All our construction work begins after the morning breakfast when most of our guests are out enjoying... More 

Hartford, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The customer service at this hotel was not up to part. Embassy is such a great brand, they need to make sure their employees are trained accordingly, especially in the area of third party billing. Communication is important with a business and they lacked internal communication which prevented me and a colleague from enjoying the check-in experience.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

Aura A thanks you for bringing this issue to my attention. I value your feedback and will share your comments with the front desk team. I do hope that once you got through the check-in process that were able to enjoy our location and all of the amenities that make Embassy Suites a great brand. We hope to welcome you... More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Come on Hilton. Close you're hotel down with this type offshore construction going on. $170/night for noise and an old, worn out, dirty room! Refund please. Construction is one thing but hair on the bathroom floor, outlets pulled away from the wall, paneling and trim hanging lose...you should be ashamed. I'm checking out early and wants money back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

Joko8, you are absolutely correct the guest room cleanliness and making sure that all is in working order should not be impacted by the renovation. I do hope that you will return after the renovation so that you can not only enjoy the finished product of our renovation but also see that the condition of your room during your visit... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had the best time in San Diego the hotel was located close to the conference center. Every amazing place to eat is extremely close. Sea village is beautiful shopping center on the water. Hotel has on going construction in the middle of it which is annoying but they balance its loud sounds with free hot breakfast and evening drinks

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

Francisco R. thank you for your post. It is so great to hear that despite the renovation you still had a great time enjoying San Diego thanks to our great location. We are very mindful to be sure that work noise is not done during your complimentary breakfast and our evening reception. Did you get a change to enjoy our... More 

Bethel, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me begin by - Groups are never easy! In June, I signed a contract at the Embassy Suites for a group of 47 heading out to the Patriots/Chargers game. In August I received notice that the hotel lobby was going to be undergoing a major renovation and was offered an option to cancel my contract. I sent an e-mail... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

Troy M, thank you for bringing your group, beating the Chargers, and sharing with the world that you can still have a great stay at our hotel despite the renovation. Yep, David and Phillip are great at taking care of their customers. I will also share your kind feedback with the rest of the team as I am sure they... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Embassy Suites in San Diego was one of my favorite hotels but my latest experience was terrible and is making me reconsider my loyalty to Hilton brand despite my HHonors status. Let's start with the positives: the location is great, beautiful views and breakfast is included with the room, which is great for family with kids. Now for not-so-great: the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

M D I appreciate the detailed review, especially from a HH guest. The opportunities with our service will certainly be addressed. They should never have happened and I appreciate you bringing them to my attention. Note to the rest of the world, we do notify our guests of the construction prior to arrival and there is nothing toxic going on... More 

San Diego, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Getting better. At least the internal plastic tarps went down however two spots in the roof are leaking enough you can see about 2 drops every 5 seconds in two separate locations. If you plan on being in the room between 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM then GO ELSEWHERE unless you want to hear jack hammering and hammer drills. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

William W thank you for bringing the valet incident and air conditioning issue to my attention. Even though we are under renovation these items still should not happen. As you stated we do have construction related noise during the day when most people are out and about. The work on our roof is part of the exciting upgrades that will... More 

Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

NOISY! This property is under construction! Remodeling! No Lobby. Breakfast relocated to the halls of the banquest rooms. Same for the Manager's Party. No direct access to the restaurant. Ask what status of construction is before booking. Stayed there during Thanksgiving week 2014. Don't know how long construction is to last.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

Larry S yes we are undergoing some very exciting changes. I do regret that this has impact to your visit. As you mentioned we still maintain an entire cooked to order breakfast experience as well as an evening reception on our meeting level no matter what. Our Pacific Fish Company restaurant as well as Dunkin Donuts are fully operation as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Address: 601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Embassy Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#66 Business Hotel in San Diego

369 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:48
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Double Suite (30)
Viewed
King Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay