We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

3.5 of 5 601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Special Offer
AAA Members Save More!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    221
    65
    47
    28
See reviews for
230
129
16
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (648)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (223)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (172)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (110)
All months
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hello folks, as many of you know that have read my reviews know, I do start off by saying that I am a Hilton Diamond Customer. This alone should let you know that I am a very good gauge of what a "Good" property should be like and what is completely unacceptable. I practically live in some sort of Hilton... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Johnson City, TN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I tend to like (or did) Hilton hotels. Maybe not now. This hotel is NOT up to Hilton standard. It is not worth the premium. It's central lobby is under construction (noise, smell). So breakfast is crammed into small suites upstairs. But that means long lines, long waits. If you plan to make appointments on time, forget it. Internet is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mac G, Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your experience. We appreciate your loyalty to Hilton and regret that you experienced inconveniences throughout your stay. I can assure you that we are up to Hilton standards as we go through our renovations. Our complimentary cooked to order breakfast and complimentary evening reception are popular among our... More

Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Before reserving in this hotel I red the note from the hotel that there is some construction which I though it will be small and contained but I was surprised when I checked in around midnight that almost all the grand floor is under construction and renovation. Giving my late check out, I did attempt to change the hotel specially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

Almazroua, thank you for mentioning and acknowledging that we do advise all guests at the time of reservation that we are undergoing a renovation. Despite the renovation we still have spacious two room suites, complimentary breakfast, and our evening reception. All of that is still in place. Please also know that we also disclose for our guests to review prior... More

Fresno, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The level of construction in this hotel is not acceptable to guests. My wife and I were given no notice of this major project. I have noticed the manager's responses to complaints and it is not good enough. When one has booked in advance for a hotel there is no good reason to revisit the website, so a banner on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

FranklinsFresno, I appreciate your feedback and regret that that our upgrades disrupted your stay. To reiterate the hotel’s stance on notifying our guests we do so in advance on the website, our confirmation, and our pre-arrival email. If you did not receive these I will certainly review our processes again. We do value your business as a HH guest and... More

Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My review of this hotel would, I'm sure, be much better for a future stay. I would not recommend staying here however due to substantial remodeling/construction going on at this time. First off, the staff was very courteous and helpful. I would give the staff an excellent rating, even while we had to shout at each other while checking in,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

LandSMom thank you for mentioning our team members who are going the extra step for our guests during our renovation. The worst part of the lobby construction is behind us now. We look forward to having you back to enjoy our new look and our great location. R. Kravitz General Manager More

Carson, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the 2nd time staying here and we loved it. The staff are all very professional and the hotel is beautiful. And what can I say about the view it is absolutely breathtaking. Can't wait to come back again.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roswell, GA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We love Embassy suites and our room was nice, as usual. The location is great, right across from the harbor and the newly updated Seaport Village. However, that is where good news ends. The lobby is under major renovations and looks like a creepy scene in a scary movie. It was noisy and the evening reception and breakfast were in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

DaisyRoswell GA thank you for your review and mentioning our views and great location. They truly remain great no matter what is going on in the lobby. Although we are under renovation all of our amenities such as our complementary cooked to order breakfast, spacious room, and evening reception are still available to all of our guests to enjoy. Also,... More

Chula Vista, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Seriously---the hotel looks like a bomb went off in it. DO NOT stay here until renovation is complete. No common area for families to relax, the noise is so loud that it was 105 decibels...the air was thick with dust and debris. It shows in your hair when you walk through the halls. If anyone has asthma or issues with... More

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

Robert K. T. as we finish the first phase of our renovation all that you mentioned will be behind us. We have taken many precautions to keep the benefits of staying at an Embassy Suites in tact no matter what is happening. Although some have mentioned what is going on with the first phase of our construction in a negative... More

chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I will start with a positive. The staff was helpful and se doing their best during this MAJOR remodel. I would like to thank Eric G, the valet attendant. He was so kind, helpful, and went above and beyond to help me navigate my way around an unfamiliar city. Now for the problem. I was attending a conference. The conference... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

Ucanto, thank you for mentioning one of our team members who made a difference during your stay. I regret the disconnect regarding what was communicated to you prior to your arrival. You are correct. The hotel will be beautiful once the renovation is complete. I also assure you that the worst part of the project is behind us. Please come... More

Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not stay here for all the reasons that others have described. Sewer smell up the sink, no water , no hot water, no water pressure when there was water, particles falling onto the breakfast Buffett from the plastic canopy, noise in the middle of the night so that you cannot sleep, and know one admitting to the fact that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManager-ESD, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown, responded to this review

Stler 104, I appreciate your comments about the team and their ability to work through some unexpected occurrences during the initial phase of our renovation. I can tell you that the worst of the demolition is behind us. We look forward to welcoming you back when the construction is over as I am sure you will find the finished product... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown

Address: 601 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Diego Bay - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Embassy Suites

358 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (130)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Double Suite (30)
Viewed
King Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay