We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

2201 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    102
    144
    97
    31
    26
See reviews for
177
77
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (400)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
There are newer reviews for Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle
See the most recent reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

This is the WORST hotel ever. Do not stay here. We never get to go on vacation, so my family and I were really excited to be here. Right from the beginning, I noticed the filth everywhere in the room. I mean, I have a child and I just could not be ok with the grime and mold and dirt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear TotallyAwesomeLife, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to San Diego. I am disappointed to hear that our housekeeping staff failed to live up to our usual high standards. Please accept my apologies regarding the inconvenience we have caused you with your accommodations and lack of great service. We have processes in... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

I stayed over weekend our 1st night our bed had pee stain the changed sheets well the new sheets they put on had a blood drop stain on them not 2 mention the kids pool is disgusting the big pool needs 2 be cleaned better now my kid has a rash on his face. Then 2 top it off i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear Arlene B, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to San Diego. I am disappointed to hear that our housekeeping staff failed to live up to our usual high standards. Please accept my apologies regarding the inconvenience we have caused you with your accommodations and lack of great service. We have processes... More 

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

Lived there three nights with my family on a recent trip. First with the positives: Location is close to several attractions. Room is reasonably clean, so is the complex in general. Breakfast is free, so that is always good. Internet connection is sort of spotty, but they let you connect to multiple devices, not just one, like some other hotels.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear muttley088, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to San Diego. I am disappointed to hear that our housekeeping staff failed to live up to our usual high standards. Please accept my apologies regarding the inconvenience we have caused you with your accommodations and lack of great service. I have already followed... More 

Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

It used to be COMFORT INN and still had that sign as of my stay but I was told they were getting the new one soon. I last stayed at this motel in 2014 as COMFORT INN. Before that in the 90's as, I believe Circle Inn or some such name so it is an older property. However, it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam L, Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear Seeingamericafirst, Thank you so much for the detailed review and for being a regular guest. I was happy to read that you were pleased with your room and amenities. I am especially pleased to hear that my staff were doing their best to make you comfortable and take care of your needs. I’m sorry that you were not too... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

Great location BUT.... 1. Hotel is the former Comfort Inn. The new owner hasn't changed the signs yet so you have a hard time finding it if you don't know. We actually went to the reception and asked the guy if this was the right place. 2. The rooms are tiny and outdated, barely functional. Don't get fooled by pictures... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear Daniela v, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to San Diego. I apologize that we failed to live up to your expectations. We want nothing more than to deliver an exceptional experience and I regret that we did not succeed in this instance. Please accept my apologies regarding the inconvenience we... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015 via mobile

The photos online of The Portofino Inn were a little deceptive, but the rooms were clean, the breakfast was awesome, we were 5-10 minutes away from everything we wanted to see, and we had a great trip! We would stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear LBPmama, We are so glad that you loved our location and that we were perfectly situated near everything that you planned to see and do in the San Diego SeaWorld area. I'm delighted to read that your trip was a total success and that you loved your room and the breakfast we offer. We appreciate you sharing your experience... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

This is a great hotel , we just came from ARIZONA driving over 4 hours and we walk to check availability for one night only ! We got 1 room with 2 double beds very comfortable and clean , pool is nice and heated ! We have great time and after all we did an amazing cookout and enjoy the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear Alaques C, Thanks so much for staying with us – we appreciate the great review! We are glad we were able to provide you with an easy check in and a comfortable room after your long drive. It was especially nice to read how much you enjoyed our heated pool and the great time you had. We look forward... More 

Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights. It was a central point for my vacation/conference. I loved the location. The hotel was very clean. The food was hot and fresh. As I was concerned about cost... this was a perfect location, service was great, pool was clean, front desk was friendly... I would definitely stay here again. If you are looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear Susan A, Thank you for the wonderful review of Portofino Inn & Suites and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers online. I am delighted to read that you stayed with us for multiple nights and that we made sure you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. I am glad that you not only enjoyed the hotel with its... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

Overall, we were very pleased with the Hotel, the service of all staff that was accorded us and would recommend it to anyone. The Front Lobby staff went out of their way to provide us with additional services such as free computer printing, writing paper, drinking water, a daily paper, and the cleaning staff was friendly providing us with many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear judyrube, Wow! Thanks so much for your terrific comments about Portofino Inn & Suites and especially our staff. We delight in providing the best service possible, so I'm happy to hear that our team members made you feel right at home. It's our goal to deliver this type of experience to every guest on every visit so I'll certainly... More 

La Canada Flintridge, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

Enjoyed our stay. Bed comfy and room large and clean. Breakfast was nice with 4 waffle machines but there were so many people there (bus full of teens on tour with their choir group) the area needed more monitoring and clean up. I'd return. San Diego's Balboa Park is a gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#56 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Suites Mission Valley
Comfort Suites Mission Valley
#165 of 273 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#182 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay