We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2201 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly Comfort Inn Hotel Circle SeaWorld Area)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle
Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle
Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    102
    144
    97
    30
    23
See reviews for
174
76
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (396)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

From the front desk staff, which was very plesant, to the quality of the beds, we really enjoyed our stay. Decent pool and jacuzzi (could have used more fresh towels, but ya can't have everything I suppose) and parking was adequate. By far, the best of our two-night stay in S.D. Wifi was very slow, however.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the terrific review! It was pleasure to read that you loved your stay with us we met your expectations as well. We are glad that our front desk associates were welcoming and you loved our comfortable beds, as well as, the facilities we had to offer. We appreciate your business and hope that you will... More 

Meerbusch, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Be careful!!! They take 12$ + Tax p. day extra for Parking. They are very creativ to get extra money from the customer. They take 12$ + Tax p. day extra for Parking. So the relativ cheap hotel at the end is not so cheap!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for feedback on your stay at the Portofino Inn & Suites -San Diego with your family. Our goal is to ensure all guests have a positive experience, and I am sorry that you were disappointed for being charged for parking. I would like to inform you that our website mentions that we do have... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Such a nice place in hotel circle.. Clean and spacious rooms..Would recommend the second floor kitchenette rooms.. Breakfast was awesome.. Nice pool.. You can either park your car inside for $12 a night or outside in front of the Inn.. No elevators since its 2 floors. EOD we enjoyed the whole experience and will definitely recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful words for Portofino Inn & Suites and for terming us as the "Hidden Gem" in your review. I'm so glad that our immaculate and spacious accommodations were great for your family, and that you thoroughly relished the breakfast we served. We appreciate you for highlighting our facilities and also for recommending us to the other... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

San Diego was our first real vacation with our kiddos. (We traveled from Tucson) My husband works in Pest Control so naturally he automatically checks these things out. Thank God he did. We found BED BUGS. We went to the office politely and ask for the manager to step outside and discuss the matter. There were 4 or 5 more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay with us was not 100% perfect. We take all of these reviews to heart and work to make improvements so that we can deliver a better experience for our guests. I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings. Our main focus has always been on delivering exceptional guest service and we are extremely sorry for all... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was mediocre . I'm a little irritated that the front desk didn't let me know there would be a extra deposit before I came down . In the bathroom there was MOLD on the ceiling which I mentioned more than once to the staff no one ever offered to change my room or anything. Just "we will let... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit and for your feedback. I was disappointed to read that we were unable to provide you with a favorable impression of our hotel. Our goal is to provide the best experience for our guests and from your comments it appears that we dropped the ball more than once. Please accept my apologies regarding the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here at this hotel and it was very quite and piece full. The staff was extremely professional I want to give a shout out to Bill at the front desk he checked me in late last night and was very patient with all my requests. He was able to assist me in every way he possibly can and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear Hope9990, It was truly a delight to read about your excellent experience with us. You, truly, painted a wonderful picture of the peaceful stay you had with your family. It's awesome that Bill added more value to your stay and that he assisted you with a smooth check in and was patiently responsive with all your needs. He truly... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the WORST hotel ever. Do not stay here. We never get to go on vacation, so my family and I were really excited to be here. Right from the beginning, I noticed the filth everywhere in the room. I mean, I have a child and I just could not be ok with the grime and mold and dirt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear TotallyAwesomeLife, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to San Diego. I am disappointed to hear that our housekeeping staff failed to live up to our usual high standards. Please accept my apologies regarding the inconvenience we have caused you with your accommodations and lack of great service. We have processes in... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed over weekend our 1st night our bed had pee stain the changed sheets well the new sheets they put on had a blood drop stain on them not 2 mention the kids pool is disgusting the big pool needs 2 be cleaned better now my kid has a rash on his face. Then 2 top it off i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear Arlene B, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to San Diego. I am disappointed to hear that our housekeeping staff failed to live up to our usual high standards. Please accept my apologies regarding the inconvenience we have caused you with your accommodations and lack of great service. We have processes... More 

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lived there three nights with my family on a recent trip. First with the positives: Location is close to several attractions. Room is reasonably clean, so is the complex in general. Breakfast is free, so that is always good. Internet connection is sort of spotty, but they let you connect to multiple devices, not just one, like some other hotels.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy B, General Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear muttley088, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to San Diego. I am disappointed to hear that our housekeeping staff failed to live up to our usual high standards. Please accept my apologies regarding the inconvenience we have caused you with your accommodations and lack of great service. I have already followed... More 

Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

It used to be COMFORT INN and still had that sign as of my stay but I was told they were getting the new one soon. I last stayed at this motel in 2014 as COMFORT INN. Before that in the 90's as, I believe Circle Inn or some such name so it is an older property. However, it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam L, Manager at Portofino Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, responded to this review

Dear Seeingamericafirst, Thank you so much for the detailed review and for being a regular guest. I was happy to read that you were pleased with your room and amenities. I am especially pleased to hear that my staff were doing their best to make you comfortable and take care of your needs. I’m sorry that you were not too... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay