We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lucky D's Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
615 8th Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lucky D's Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lucky D's Hostel
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    97
    34
    11
    12
See reviews for
5
41
165
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (444)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (195)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went in September and it was really hot! The rooms didnt have air conditioning and it was extremely loud when the windows were open. It was ok for the price but i wouldn't be back in a hurry! The breakfast was nice and the staff were ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry you felt it was a little hot and noisy at our place, Katherine. It can get hot in San Diego and being downtown doesn't allow us to have the quietest environment. We hope you'll understand this the next time you need a place to stay int he city. All the best, Pete More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a remarkable time at Lucky D's! You'll find there everything you need: clean, safe room, wi-fi, good food, on top of it helpful and friendly stuff! Especially Ben, who is very committed, funny and helpful. He showed us the nightlife and recommended other sightseeing attractions in San Diego. There is much to see because the hostel is in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

So glad you had a wonderful stay with us, Kasia. It's always great to hear that our guests are able to feel right at home when visiting this beautiful city. Hope you'll be back to see us when you're in town again. All the best, Pete More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at the Lucky Ds Hostel was one of the best I have ever experienced. Ben was helpful from the start by advising us on places to visit and where to avoid. Each evening the common room was a great place to hang out and meet new people- Ben and a few other people from the Hostel always ensured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, Jen! This is quite the review. We're so lucky you decided to stay with us. Our place gets all its character from our visitors, and the same can be said about you. Thanks for joining in our shenanigans. Hope you'll be back soon. All the best, Pete More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a room in this decent hostel in which we'd stayed before. Previously it had been a good deal and a great location. One drawback was the water wasn't always warm for the shower but everything else met standards for the good price we paid. This trip was problematic as Michelle sent an email about a month after I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you felt we were dishonest with you. We are not in the business of scamming people, and we you understand we went through all the necessary steps to make sure we handled this properly. If you would like to speak with us further about this, please give us a call: (619) 595-0000. All the best, Pete More 

Hartbeespoort, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great general atmosphere. Our room was clean and sunny, with huge lockers. Substantial breakfast. Located right in Downtown San Diego, and although this is a huge advantage, can be quite noisy at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us when you were visiting San Diego. Happy to hear you were a big fan of our atmosphere and amenities. Hope you'll be back to stay with us when you're visiting the area again. All the best, Pete More 

Beijing, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very good location. downtown San Diego, walking distance to dining, shopping, convention center. receptionist were friendly and helpful. The day I lived there were free hot dogs and icecream served in the evening. Cons: Kitchen was locked after 11pm. you couldn't cook or get things to eat before 7am. Tip: one bar in the 1st floor. You hardly sleep in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Nothing makes us happier than hearing that you loved the location and the staff's services. I'll be sure to give them all a round of high-fives for doing such a great job. Hope that you enjoyed your time in San Diego -- the next time that you're in town, I hope that we get to see you again! All my... More 

Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Sadly, their website didn't work when I tried to book. Also, my friend's room wasn't very clean, it was on the 4th floor and I don't think they cleaned that room at all. My room on the other hand was very clean and nice. Great breakfast! Showers are nice aswell and the kitchen is perfect. The staff is very helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, Sara. We always enjoy having visitors from around the world, and it was great having you. Sorry for the confusion with our website and for your friend's room -- we usually sweep all the rooms and make sure they are clean, so there must've been a miscommunication. Hope you'll be back to... More 

Napa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Had such an amazing time here. Stayed for 4 nights and every night was a party. Everyone that works here is so nice and helpful. Also the people who come to visit were super awesome, lots of international travelers to meet and befriend. If you're looking for a fun place to go, meet new friends, and explore the night life... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

So glad you decided to stay with us when you were visiting San Diego, Sarah. Happy to hear you had fun each night you were here. Nothing like enjoying a great city with other travelers. Hope you'll be back to stay with us when you're in the area again. All the best, Pete More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

I stayed at Lucky Ds again (I visit San D Regularly) for a week mixed business and vacation and it was everything I needed, clean, safe, close to Gaslamp and downtown fast wifi, great staff and cool people

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

So glad you're a regular visitor with us, Matt. Happy to hear we provided you with everything you needed. Hope you'll be back to stay with us soon. Until then, Pete More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We went here on holiday from the UK and had timed it to coincide with spring break. The hostel had something on every night and every night was great fun. There was one exception to this where one member of the hostel staff left us at a rubbish bar on our final night. We did meet a lot of people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

So glad you decided to stay with us, Callum. Happy to hear that we were able to make your trip to San Diego all the more memorable. We always appreciate having such friendly and fun visitors, and we were so happy to have you. Hope you'll be back soon. All the best, Pete More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities