We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wyndham Harbour Lights

#50 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
911 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Fairfield)
Hotel amenities
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #50 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Torte_Sue Vonore, Tennessee
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    39
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
55
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Vonore, Tennessee
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
71 hotel reviews
575 helpful votes 575 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are Wyndham vacation gold members and have stayed at many of the W resorts. This was one of our favorites. It was the first time we had a studio size, but it was plenty spacious for the two of us. The kitchen is small, but we were just making breakfasts, and it did have a full size refrigerator. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Regina L, Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review

Thank you for being a Wyndham Gold Member and taking the time to write this review. I’m so pleased that Harbour Lights is one of your favorites. Our studio kitchens have a full size refrigerator, microwave, two stove top burners, blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, pans, dishes silverware and a dishwasher. It is perfect for small meals such as breakfast.... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my second stay here and I love the resort. The service is awesome and you can't beat the location. The only complaint is parking and valet pricing keeps going up at $32 a park. You can park on the street over night for free if you can find a spot. Would definitely come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Regina L, Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review

Thank you for the time that you took to let us know that you love our resort! I’m happy to hear that you had such a great time that you decided to come back. I understand that you feel that $32.00 a day for valet is high; however we had a recent survey done and we found out that we... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Location, friendly, very helpful staff and concierge. These are more self serviced suites rather than full service hotel, fine with us. Nice mini kitchen facilities. Right at the start of the Gaslamp District. You can walk to quite a few places from here. Free laundry downstairs, great new machines, and a pretty solid gym. Only "complaint" is the high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raymond S, General Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the great comments. I will be happy to share with our team that you enjoyed your stay. Our property does treat the unit more as your private condo, so we do not provide daily housekeeping service. We continue to enhance our offering which do include the laundry facility,... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights, would have stayed 6 if they had a room available. The room was clean, comfortable and had every thing you could possible need. Hats off to the general manager and staff. The general manager should thank his staff for always being so helpful and happy. They are really a great part of this properties success. You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regina L, Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review

Thank you for the time that you took to write this review. I’m so pleased to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable. I will read your review to our staff during out next morning staff meeting. I’m so proud of our team and their excellent guest service. You are absolutely right our recent Crystal Pineapple Award can... More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had 4 Days in SD great stay overall. The front desk staff and wyndham resort staff were excellent Room really clean, spacious and well maintained Good gym facilities and Moreno the basement It is timeshare so expect an offer of a presentation - we booked this accom through booking.com and had a good time The locationis excellent and right next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Regina L, Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this review on Wyndham Harbour Lights in downtown San Diego. I’m glad to hear that you had a great stay. I’m also happy to hear that you found our resort clean, spacious, and well maintained and our staff met your expectations. You are right that our resort is located in a convenient location to many restaurants... More 

Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

This is a very nice Wyndham timeshare property in a great location. The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from the harbor or the San Diego convention center. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The main drawback is that there is only a single 1-BR unit in the hotel. All of the others are studio units. Another drawback... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Raymond S, General Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. It is always GREAT to hear about our staff and I will make sure to share your comments. I am excited to share that we are in the final planning stages to replace all of the windows at our resort during the 4th... More 

connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights in March, 2015. The room was great - very clean. The people were amazing and fell over themselves to let us know that they could help with anything we needed. A couple of things to know before you book, however... 1. Downtown location means very loud at times. We were on the 4th floor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Regina L, Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this review. I’m happy to hear that you found your room spacious and clean. We are in the heart of the Gaslamp and you are right it can get noisy. We are a time share which does mean that we don’t have daily housekeeping but are happy to provide clean sheets, towels and other amenities upon... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stayed for 5 nights at Harbour Lights. Our unit was on the 5th floor facing the back. Very comfortable and quiet. We had a fair size room with a king bed and kitchenette. It was very nice to make our own breakfast, and snacks when needed. The grocery store Ralph's was a 10min walk through Gaslamp District. There's a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raymond S, General Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about our property and our great city. I will be happy to share your comments with our staff who truly strive to show each and every guest a wonderful experience. It sounds like you were able to get a lot done in 5 days; Coronado Island is my favorite adventure and so... More 

Greenville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Our five night stay at the Wyndham Harbour Lights, San Diego, was delightful! The accommodations were clean, updated, and quite comfortable. Our studio room was spacious with adequate space for a five night stay for two. The small kitchenette was perfect for morning coffee and mid-afternoon or evening snacks. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful with restaurants, attractions,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Regina L, Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review

Thank you for the time that you took to write this on-target review. I couldn’t have said it better myself! You are right that our studios are the perfect size for light meals. Our studios offer a full refrigerator, two-stove top burners, blender, microwave, toaster, dishes, utensils and pots and pans. Our convenient location is in walking distance to numerous... More 

Garfield, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We stayed here 4 nights on a Suncountry vacation. I am so glad we did. The staff here was awesome, like a small family. Very helpful. We never wanted for anything or any information. They were so helpful. Also, it was a short 2 blocks from the SD Trolley. At night time, we were close to all the Gaslamp restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Regina L, Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review

Thank you for the time that you took to write this wonderful recommendation. I’m happy to hear that our staff was like a small family. We want all of our guests to feel like they are at home away from home. The public transportation is readily available as you mentioned and you are right; you don’t need a car. Our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question