We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Hotel website
Hotel deals
3330 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Add Photo

733 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    216
    258
    173
    52
    34
See reviews for
384
153
56
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (733)
  • Mar-May only
    (201)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (173)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (194)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (165)
All months
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
See the most recent reviews
Hemet, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We used this site for a park and fly in San Diego. When we got to the hotel we were informed that there was a $5 per night charge to park our car. When we returned home at 9:30 at night and called the hotel for a shuttle back to the hotel we were told that the shuttle stopped at... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Ginny P, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We appreciate guests like you, because your feedback allows us to continually improve. We do offer complimentary shuttle services between the hours of 5:00 am and 8:00 pm and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please know your other concerns are being brought to the... More 

Ensenada Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Everything was just fine at this Howard Johnson, but the outstanding first impression made by the young man checking us in was the clincher. He was the most complete, detailed and helpful front desk I think I've ever dealt with!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Robert B, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear we are a “great hojo”. We work hard in providing outstanding quality service and are delighted you took notice. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback... More 

San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I would certainly recommend this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful when checking in. The rooms were clean, and pretty cheap. The only thing I didn't like was that there weren't many restaurants within walking distance, but it's not a big deal.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear that you “certainly recommend this hotel” and that “the rooms were clean”. We strive in providing a well-maintained property, as well as excellent quality service and are glad you took notice. We look... More 

Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The room was good sized but the tv volume didn't work correctly as the tv was rather old. Dave an Rachana were extremely friendly and helpful. We also took the shuttle to the base and airport and the drivers were very friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are pleased to hear our staff was “extremely friendly and helpful”. We work hard in providing outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned we do offer shuttle services and are pleased you were able to benefit from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay