We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Hotel website
Hotel deals
3330 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    243
    164
    49
    34
See reviews for
361
147
55
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (695)
  • Mar-May only
    (185)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (151)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (194)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (165)
All months
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
See the most recent reviews
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is cheap and great inside. They offer free shuttle to and from airport. We rented a car from enterprise which is only a few minutes from the hotel. Breakfast menu needs some work: yogurt was only available 1/7 days, eggs available 4/7 days, fruits are only fresh on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. All they have daily is waffles, toast,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Jewels23Jayden, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear we are a “great hotel”. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary airport shuttle services and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the challenge you faced while... More 

Fallbrook, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to stay the night in San Diego while doing some tourist stuff. The room was just like any other. The thermostat did not work and it was very warm in our room. The T.V. worked for the night, but in the morning, it would not work. The water in the bathroom was barely warm and it did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Laura A, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the challenges you faced at our property. Your concerns have been addressed with our staff in order to make such improvements. For future reference, we always encourage our guests with inform our staff of any issues immediately, so that a proper... More 

Huntington Beach,CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 1 night prior to flight. Friendly staff. Used the stay and fly package and parked car on site while we were gone. Nice free shuttle to. Airport along with comped breakfast. Great amenities room comfy and clean. Highly recommend for all of the above.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Rondo, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear you had a “great stay” at our hotel. We strive in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted... More 

Colorado Spring
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay was adequate. The thermostat in the room did not work correctly therefore our room was usually too warm. We could not phone the room next door as the phone did not ring or light up.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff in hopes of improving our hotel. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

its ok for a nite stay.They have a good continental breakfast.And the kids love their breakfast,you can make ur own waffle,fresh fruits,hard boil egg,fresh coffee,etc.not bad for a nite stay.Closed to everything.only 1.5m away from seaworld.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Joy G, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are delighted to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are... More 

Santee, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location if you need to get to the airport or sea world. it doesn't look great on the outside but funny that fool you. Only stayed one night cause I had tmorning. to the airport at 4 in they morning Near lots of restaurants, if you have kids go to Corvette Diner! The rooms are clean and decent size.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Tracy N, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear you received “great customer service” while at our hotel. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question