We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 269 San Diego hotels

PB Surf Beachside Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added PB Surf Beachside Inn to your Saves list
PB Surf Beachside Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
83%
Ranked #76 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Andrea T Gilbert, Arizona
  • Overview
  • Reviews (197)
  • Photos (43)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    63
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
39
73
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was there the week of July 4th, 2014 and so was everyone else, so you can only imagine how crowded the beaches were! This hotel was in a great location, so we could walk to the beach (less than a block), so no worries about parking. Although the hotel parking was limited, I knew this going in, so planned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are sorry for your dead battery, and I noticed when I came in that there was a tow truck in the parking area. I inquired about this and was told the situation was under control. I'm so sorry it cost you so much for something so simple. I'm glad you were able to... More

Gurnee, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located in a great area and pretty close to everything including a block from the beach. The hotel was clean but our room did not look like the pictures online as our comforter looked as if it was bought in the 80's. That being said the bed was the worst bed I'd ever slept on. HARD AS... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

I remember talking with you in the lobby. We did make some adjustments to your bedding for your second night to help make the bed softer. But, again, I am very surprised, because the mattresses we have are all new and are usually receive many compliments. I know that everyone has different preferences, and by changing the bedding, I was... More

Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Used TripAdvisor reviews to book a one night stay here through HotelTonight. Not sure how this place gets the reviews I saw here. We were in Rm 105 on the ground floor so maybe there is a dramatic difference from room to room. Anyway, here is my rundown: yes, it has free parking for about 10 cars. Everyone else gets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our place! We are only a half block from the beach, and we redid the entire property from the ground up about two years ago. There are some smaller rooms on the property on the street side, and those were enlarged as much as we could when we renovated, especially the bathrooms.... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had booked 3 nights and the pictures do not give you an accurate description of your room. Our room was so small with no table or chairs or place to store anything or even a luggage rack. Thankfully Expedia finally booked us somewhere else where we could relax in spacious accommodations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a try. We are very sorry you did not like the size of your room, but the pictures we have online are actual rooms here! More

Sherwood
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My family stayed here while in town for a memorial service. The location was fantastic. Note that it is located on the beach side of Mission so crossing that busy street is not necessary to get to the beach that is a block away. The rooms were pleasant enough. Nice beds, thick pillows, very light blankets, big tv. A/c unit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry for your loss, of course. And, I do apologize for the comment from my guest service agent. We have made some adjustments in the ADA showers, and I believe we have the water flow issue resolved. I hope, if you are ever in town again, that you will try us again. Again, we are very sorry... More

Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I loved this hotel! Spent a few nights here with my wife on holiday. We wanted to escape the winter and go to the beach. This was the perfect destination. Our room was very comfortable, and had a beach-house feel to it. It was just a short walk to Pacific beach which was beautiful! The service was nice as well.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We hope you will come and stay with us again the next time you visit the beach! The parking is very limited, however, we do have another parking area located one block away which equates to less than a one minute walk. I am looking at ideas to help make the breakfast a better... More

Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for a few days on a Groupon deal. I was very happy with how clean the room was and how close it was to the beach. Parking was cramped but the location and rooms made up for it. Definitely planning to stay there next trip to San Diego.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Please let us know about your previous visit with us! We do offer a return rate for that, and hope you will continue to choose us in the future!! More

Aurora, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Let me preface this review by saying that I really do not like being negative, but I hope my review will help others plan their travel. I work hard for my money, so when I go to spend it on a vacation, I hope that it will be well worth it. Unfortunately this place was not worth the ridiculous money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Yes, we are very happy and excited that you decided to stay with us, and I apologize if that wasn't apparent to you. I seriously stress the customer service throughout the property, in all areas of the staff. I will definitely read this review to each and every one of my staff during our monthly training meeting. Thank you for... More

Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stay there four days for a relaxing weekend in PB. The area is nice, and the location of the hotel could be better. I like this concept in a hotel in which you stay in a room in separate cabins. But at the end the stay wasn't as pleasant as I expected. First, parking is a problem there. What... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

I just had security doors installed in the courtyard area to allow tables and chairs to be placed inside for that purpose. I have been working towards that goal since we renovated. I'm sorry it has taken so long. But, we do have three tables with four chairs located on the sun deck! I realize most people do not know... More

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Just stayed here after purchasing a 3 night stay on Groupon. This place is GREAT! It is a very nice little inn and I am very glad that I found it on Groupon. I will definitely stay here again. We had a queen room on the ground floor in the courtyard area. The rooms are newly updated with great bathrooms.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Wow!! Thank you for the really nice review!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and noticed that we do take our guests with wheel chairs very seriously. As for the beds, they are so high, but we will always remove one if the request is made. Thank you, again! I hope we will see you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage PB Surf Beachside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to PB Surf Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PB Surf Beachside Inn

Address: 4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PB Surf Beachside Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TravelClick, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your PB Surf Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacoast Palms Hotel San Diego
Seacoast Palms Inn
Seacoast Palms San Diego

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
50

See which rooms travelers prefer