We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Aqua Mar

1510 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92106 (Formerly Sun Harbor Motel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Aqua Mar
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Aqua Mar
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    16
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
El Dorado, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was beautiful and the staff very friendly. My only complaints were noise from the above room and not getting enough towels. The hotel staff upgraded my room for free and put my luggage into the room while we were out. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auburn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Very nice and clean hotel. Only thing is if you want.a refrigerator Microwave or hot.water you have to ask front desk. But other then that is was ! The.front desk was helpful.I would come back.to.this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am extremely pleased to read that not only did you enjoy your stay at the hotel but the staff was helpful. We have a big emphasis on customer service when training our employees. I am also glad you mentioned the fact that you have to request a room with a microwave and refrigerator. This is a... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Stayed at this property for 3 nights recently. The hotel is open just over a year. Its a boutique style hotel, very clean and everything is still very new. The staff is freindly and helpful. Its within easy reach from the airport by a short drive and all attractions are within easy reach as well. You do need a car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

We were so pleasantly surprised with this motel. It was simple, cute, spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and the friendliest staff. You MUST try Better Buzz coffee that is right next door, it was the BEST coffee we have ever had. Great central location, free parking, free wifi. We will stay here again and would recommend it to anyone travelling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

First things first: This is a "boutique" motel, which means that while it's cute and modern...it's not luxurious. So don't expect much in the way of amenities (there is shampoo/conditioner, shower gel, soap, and a makeup remover wipe in the bathroom). It's also a motel, not a hotel, so there's no internal hallway and the windows face the walkway. Otherwise,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Was pleasantly surprised by this little boutique hotel. Very clean rooms, yes they are small but what do you need if you are just going to sleep there? Nice front desk staff, got us our room quickly upon check in. Please do note:: They charge a refundable $50 deposit in case you smoke in the room!! There are really nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Friendly and accommodating staff. Very clean. We enjoyed the location being convenient to airport and central to all we wanted to do in San Diego. On-site parking was easy. Good access to coffee shops, groceries and restaurants. Enjoyed the area around the bay in walking distance. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
La Paz, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Hotel Aqua Mar is well-located near a marina. The room was very fresh looking, nicely decorated, the bathroom spacious and beautifully designed. I was pleasantly surprised to find it had a small fridge and microwave. Awesome cafe across the road and excellent seafood at the marina. The only drawback is we were on the first floor and didn't feel comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel, and we were very pleased with our experience! I do agree that the rooms aren't very large but it was perfect for us, plus we only stayed one night. The room was nice and clean, the fixtures were modern, the bed was really comfortable, so much that my husband and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. We are thrilled to hear that you and your husband had a pleasant stay, and are glad to hear you enjoyed the look and decor of both the room and bathroom. We are sorry to hear you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay