We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area

Hotel website
Hotel deals
6440 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92115
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Review This Hotel

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    31
    17
    30
See reviews for
47
23
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked my whole weeklong business trip at this HOJO. I spent 6 hours a night n my room to shower and sleep but sleep was elusive - the family next door had kids screaming all throughout the night.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
NITIN M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Dear Elke, Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We also Thank you for choosing to stay here at the Howard Johnson University Inn at SDSU. Before thanking you please accept my sincere aplology for the inconvenience and at times we have no control on it. Hopefully you will give us another chance to accommodate... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 2nd American Adventure, and our stay at Howard Johnson Inn was for 5 days while we attended a Church Conference at Light House Baptist Church in Lemon Grove. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. The staff at the front counter were polite and friendly. The room we had was very comfortable with all the facilities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NITIN M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Hi Brisbane, Thank you for choosing to stay here at the Howard Johnson University Inn at SDSU. We appreciate that you mentioned our location. being only a mile away from SDSU, made a great place to stay at our hotel, along with attended a Church Conference at Light House Baptist Church in Lemon Grove. which is not far from our... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have never stayed at a hotel where you are penalized by charging you for checking out earlier than your reservations say.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bath and sink area were updated, but the room had an odor. There were signs around the manager's office about what one is not allowed to do there which was offputting. It took 30 minuted for the manager to check me in and there was only one couple ahead of me. That couple returned because the manager had assigned... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
NITIN M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Dear Elke, Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We also Thank you for choosing to stay here at the Howard Johnson University Inn at SDSU. Before thanking you please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience, and at times we have no control on it. Hopefully you will give us another chance to accommodate... More 

Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was pleasantly surprised by how cozy and comfy this HoJo. I typically stay at low cost motels, but the rate I got through my AARP made this motel the better choice. In addition to above average decor, the room sported a mini fridge and a microwave as well as a hair dryer and the ubiquitous mini coffee maker. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NITIN M, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Hello Maria, Thanks for the review and appreciate your concern. We have taken your note into consideration and are in the process of installing a cots wool between the wall behind the TV. I once again thank you for the compliment. More 

West Hikls, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was very run down with peeling paint and water damage in the bathroom. There was no art on the walls. For $160 a night I expected much better. The staff was very helpful accommodating early check in for us.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NITIN M, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Hello Lisa, Thanks for the review and appreciate your concern. We had recently remodeled the hotel completely. We replaced the rooms with New Carpet, Dry walls, Paints, Air Conditioner, Drapes, Bathroom, Vanity, Furniture & Fixtures, Beds and all other amenities like Refrigerator, Microwave, 42" LED TV, Hairdryer etc.. Due to heavy rain this season, an unexpected leak was found on... More 

Curitiba - Parana - Brasil
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn is a typical inn motel that you find all over USA. The front desk is very unfriendly and they dont feel like in the mood to help. They ask for a U$100,00 of deposit and their system was not working to approve the deposit so the front desk treated us like someone who would rob the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NITIN M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Hello Gustavo, Please accept my sincere apology. Since we have remodeled the hotel Interior & exterior we have a Refundable Deposit policy of collecting $ 100.00. I once again apologize for the inconvenience and promise of not experiencing the same on your next visit. Please contact me directly via email on howardjohnsonsdsu@gmail.com Sincerely, NITIN MODY (GM). Howard Johnson University Inn... More 

SeaTac, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I would stay there again ,,, probably not around the time of a playoff game in fear of noise The unit had received some upgrades & seemed solid On the Sunday when it rained all day, I came to worry about MOULD; this aspect of the upgrade seem deferred since the wet wet bathroom is a water closet. Management here... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
NITIN M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Hello Sea tac, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and your concern.. Though we had recently remodeled our hotel from Exterior & interior unexpectedly due to heavy rain few leaks where found on the second floor rooms. We have taken action and have called for the contractor to replace the damage roof. We promise you and shall resolve the leak... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 via mobile

I tried both room keys I was given, and neither worked. Went back to the lobby and was given a room key and was told they don't have a spare, so if I lose the key, I'm locked out. I got in with the key, then couldn't figure out how to re-lock the door. The rooms are remodeled and look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NITIN M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Hello Brittany, Please accept my apology and have taken action of the same. We have a contractual Pest control company who takes care and treat the rooms of our hotel on regular basis... At times due to intense Heat or cold roaches crawl from the drain of which we do pest control but according to the California state law we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question