We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Western Inn & Suites

#122 of 272 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
2.0 of 5
Hotel website
3889 Arista Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Western Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #122 of 272 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
LGA026 Escondido, California, USA
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    80
    76
    38
    16
    22
See reviews for
65
72
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (232)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Escondido, California, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Couldn't get into my usual hotel this time and this was the only other one in Old Town I could afford. When I first pulled up I thought, "oh-oh, what did I get into?" It looks rather run-down from the outside. But I was greeted pleasantly and found my room to be nicely decorated and very clean and comfortable. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Fairly clean room. Hotel shows its age. Was only around $100 compared to $150+ everywhere else. Location is very good. Safe area. Parking garage is really tight especially if most of the spots are full. The $8 parking charge is ridiculous for the parking facility offered. Took about 5 minutes to get Ford Fusion aligned and parked in the parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

We took a room for 100$ per night. Hotel is old and yes. carpets sometimes are not brand new. But hey! It was quite clean, it has parking (well, some 6-8$ per night), it has free coffee in the morning and this hotel has a GREAT LOCATION! Seriously, it takes less time to go to the Sea World or Zoo.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile

I had a fantastic stay at the Western Inn in Old Town! Sanjay and his staff were so warm and welcoming. Their accommodations are great and the location is simply perfect- easy to take public Trans but right off the 5 freeway for easy car access. They offer discounts to local hotspots and I couldn't imagine a friendlier staff. Thanks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

this hotel is within walking distance of "old town" san diego. it literally 6 mins from the airport and 10 mins form the San Diego Zoo. and beaches. The rooms were spacious, clean and very, very nice. Hotel staff were very helpful. you can buy discounted tickets to the zoo, sea world etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

So I got a room here on hotwire and while I was expecting budget, I was expecting a bit more than this place had to offer... The issues: *The bathroom had mildew in the grout! *The plugs were all operated by the light switch *The parking spaces were barely wide enough to park. *The main entrance was the only egress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Carpet old, patched to repair, also appeared not very clean in corners. Chairs in kitchen area stained. Holes in bathroom door appeared to be patched with some round object. Rust stains around tub spout. Dirty towels left on floor not replaced with clean ones. Front desk person was pleasant. Very convenient to walk to Old Town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AVON
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

My husband and I were really impressed by this value hotel in Old Town, San Diego. I am not sure by some of the other reviews where I am reading about. This is a value hotel, and it is a wonderful value for your money in the city of San Diego! The rooms were extremely spacious, and we saw no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am glad you found the tile you were looking for. We hope to see you again when you come to San Diego. More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We had booked this place 'last-minute' in the UK and stayed for one night before we flew back, having spent the first night at its neighbouring hotel, La Quinta. A little unfair of me maybe, but by comparison, this place could really do with a little investment to update the carpets and décor; the external carpets on the walkways outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are glad you stayed with us. we are replacing the outdoor carpet and also painting our rooms. We are glad you that we gave you great service we hope next time we can get a 5 star from you. More 

Teulon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Hotel was dated and in need of upgrades. carpets in hallways fraying , continental breakfast was poor and almost non existent.Did not sleep well as mattress was old and sagged in middle. When we checked out we were told we had to pay 8.00 a day for parking. We asked them where it was posted as no where in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do our best to please our guest but sorry we failed in your case. As far as the parking we let all our guest know when they make reservation and also when they check in, also the fee is posted in our parking lot. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay