We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Western Inn & Suites

#121 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
2.0 of 5
Hotel website
3889 Arista Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Special Rate
$89 (USD)
Western Inn & Suites
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #121 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
KatyaMudivarthi Riga, Latvia
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    75
    37
    16
    22
See reviews for
65
71
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (230)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took a room for 100$ per night. Hotel is old and yes. carpets sometimes are not brand new. But hey! It was quite clean, it has parking (well, some 6-8$ per night), it has free coffee in the morning and this hotel has a GREAT LOCATION! Seriously, it takes less time to go to the Sea World or Zoo.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had a fantastic stay at the Western Inn in Old Town! Sanjay and his staff were so warm and welcoming. Their accommodations are great and the location is simply perfect- easy to take public Trans but right off the 5 freeway for easy car access. They offer discounts to local hotspots and I couldn't imagine a friendlier staff. Thanks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

this hotel is within walking distance of "old town" san diego. it literally 6 mins from the airport and 10 mins form the San Diego Zoo. and beaches. The rooms were spacious, clean and very, very nice. Hotel staff were very helpful. you can buy discounted tickets to the zoo, sea world etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Temple City, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

So I got a room here on hotwire and while I was expecting budget, I was expecting a bit more than this place had to offer... The issues: *The bathroom had mildew in the grout! *The plugs were all operated by the light switch *The parking spaces were barely wide enough to park. *The main entrance was the only egress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Carpet old, patched to repair, also appeared not very clean in corners. Chairs in kitchen area stained. Holes in bathroom door appeared to be patched with some round object. Rust stains around tub spout. Dirty towels left on floor not replaced with clean ones. Front desk person was pleasant. Very convenient to walk to Old Town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AVON
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

My husband and I were really impressed by this value hotel in Old Town, San Diego. I am not sure by some of the other reviews where I am reading about. This is a value hotel, and it is a wonderful value for your money in the city of San Diego! The rooms were extremely spacious, and we saw no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am glad you found the tile you were looking for. We hope to see you again when you come to San Diego. More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We had booked this place 'last-minute' in the UK and stayed for one night before we flew back, having spent the first night at its neighbouring hotel, La Quinta. A little unfair of me maybe, but by comparison, this place could really do with a little investment to update the carpets and décor; the external carpets on the walkways outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are glad you stayed with us. we are replacing the outdoor carpet and also painting our rooms. We are glad you that we gave you great service we hope next time we can get a 5 star from you. More 

Teulon, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Hotel was dated and in need of upgrades. carpets in hallways fraying , continental breakfast was poor and almost non existent.Did not sleep well as mattress was old and sagged in middle. When we checked out we were told we had to pay 8.00 a day for parking. We asked them where it was posted as no where in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do our best to please our guest but sorry we failed in your case. As far as the parking we let all our guest know when they make reservation and also when they check in, also the fee is posted in our parking lot. We... More 

India-US-Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

I had an excellent stay at this place many times in the past few years. To put things into perspective, this is not a luxury hotel; not even close, but it is a place where you can sleep in comfort and yet be close to the old town transit centre. If you are frugal minded, yet want to be close... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Okay I stayed here two nights. I would have left but there wasn't any place open at the time. The rooms were horrible & run down. the carpets were old & stained. The breakfast was two cereals & old danish's. This is a one star at best. My opinion they must have friends posting for them. They also fail to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are sorry that you did not like your stay with us. We take great pride in our service and cleaniness of our rooms. I am surprise to hear you could hear noise from the highway because we don't sit on the highway side at all and should not able to hear any noise from the highway. once... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay