We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

#93 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    372
    132
    78
    49
See reviews for
285
419
41
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1133)
  • Mar-May only
    (315)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (315)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (284)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (219)
All months
Riverside, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Humphreys is a nice hotel with quality towels and linens. Very nice pool and jacuzzi. My room had a small fridge and microwave which is always a nice feature. My only complaint is there was a 14 parking fee and a 10 resort fee. Both seem unnecessary and an excuse to tack on fees to an otherwise very reasonable daily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aliso Viejo, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow. Youre over paying for being able to walk home 20 feet after the concert is over. This is literally an $80 per night type motel and we paid $300 for the room. If you're willing to walk a little further, you can save quite a bit of money at another motel. The bed is junk. They try to slap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dawn S, Guest Relations Manager at Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear thorwp88, Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your experience at Humphreys and were displeased with the bed. It's one of the biggest compliments we usually get from guests, that our beds are very comfy. We try to choose a... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are fairly updated, but the hotel is in need of a real face lift . the prices do not reflect the accommodations, as they are pricey. The location is mainly what you're paying for but I would stay here only as my last choice on Shelter Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGDEN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in late April. Check in was simple and staff was very pleasant. Our room, 260 was basic but clean and nicely decorated. Really appreciated the mini kitchen with fridge and microwave. After spending our days sightseeing in the hustle and bustle of San Diego it was so nice to relax in the "tropical" grounds. Just across Shelter Island... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We used a Groupon to stay there, so the price wasn't bad. The grounds are quite pretty, but the rooms are quite dark, and, most important to me, not real clean. It's in need of some TLC. If I had to pay full price, I would have been disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room I had was generous and had recently been updated. It was large, well appointed and had a good work area. The room was much better than I expected. The pool was crowded, noisy and unpleasant. The garden/ surrounds are very lush and you are right on the harbor which is great for going for a walk, butif you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time there. Listened to 2 concerts one poolside and the other by the room. I would recommend requesting 2nd floor however. The rooms are not very soundproof and we could here every single action above us. Beds were comfy however and the front desk staff were awesome when we mentioned the sound issues we had with our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites and the end of April and had a great time! The check in process was nice and easy, I arrived extremely late and everything was ready upon my arrival. The room was a junior suite with a balcony that had good views to the marina. The property itself makes you feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palm Desert, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here for her birthday the first weekend in May and had a horrendous time. It took over 4 hours to check in, we believe because we had our two children with us. My wife reviewed this hotel so others would be warned of our horrible experience. The hotel manager posted a lackluster, canned response saying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dawn S, Guest Relations Manager at Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Darrel D, We are truly sorry that we were unable to accomodate an early check in at 11am when your family arrived at the hotel. Our staff takes pride in their work and tries very hard to not only make every guest happy, but exceed their expectations. It's disheartening that you think we are anti-kids, when in fact Humphreys... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've come to Humphrey's several times each year for their concert series. This time, we were seeing the Moody Blues. Their concert package includes a room, dinner at their restaurant and excellent seats for the concert. The only problem I have is that they have discontinues their free shuttle from/to the airport. That was a real convenience for us, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

617 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (522)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (130)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (71)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (133)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (95)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities