We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Hotel deals
Hotel website
1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

2,156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    790
    641
    401
    208
    116
See reviews for
796
506
61
451
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2156)
  • Mar-May only
    (533)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (683)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (528)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (412)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Check in slow, parking is a rip off, and the rooms are old and worn! Our room was in one of the low profile buildings, second floor. The hallways are dark and dirty so first impressions are bad, the room decor is newish but the walls were dirty, the smell was musty and the bathrooms are old. Choose another property!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I made the reservation through Expedia without checking Trip Advisor (big mistake). There is a $32 self-parking charge. I would cancel this reservation if it wasn't too late. When I called the hotel to complain, the lady told me that $32 is competitive with the other hotels. That is not true. Expedia should note the parking fee and, of course,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and eventually found our room. The room was at ground floor level. the bed felt damp and not aired. As Hilton Gold members we had been upgraded and was a very nice room if it were not for this dampness. We contacted reception and they sent house keeping out with 2 pillows and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Spent 5 days here at the end of a touring holiday on arrival we were given complimentary upgrade to beachside room which was great rooms comfy beds comfortable mostly the service was good there were grumpy waiters in resturant. At breakfast pool service was really good and the girls doing that did a great job bars were fine need a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback! I'm happy to hear that we had an upgrade available and that you were able to take advantage of it. We continuously train our staff to ensure that we are always providing the best service and I apologize if this was not the impression you got from some of our servers. I'll make sure... More 

texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A few people actually did behave as if they worked in a 4 star resort. The staff at the Acqua restaurant and PATRICIA from the marketplace. Patricia went out of her way to be helpful. The staff at the front desk should be replaced - There are so many lovely hotels in san diego - I would not stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiltonmissionbay, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay and level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with our amenities staff and cleanliness of common areas have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to these issues and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return... More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

If you are visiting Sea World, you may want to consider this hotel as one of your top 3 options. It seems we received a room that was nicely renovated and a few steps from the beach. We were shocked about the daily parking fee, but the hotel did give my family some vouchers that kinda offset the parking cost.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you an overall enjoyable stay at our resort and hope that you consider staying with us on your next visit to San Diego or Sea World! Thank you, Vera More 

miami
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend after winning a bid on Priceline for $100 a night. Hotel is nice, big & clean. The room I stayed in had a nautical theme and was very nice. Staff was very professional. My boyfriend went to park the car and I had luggage that I was taking to the room and a worker at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're so thrilled you were able to take advantage of such a great deal on Priceline and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you consider coming back on your next couple's getaway. Thanks, Vera More 

Moro
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I spent four days here on a business trip. The location is not by any other shops or places to eat so you are pretty much stranded and forced to eat at their dining on site. The service was horrible and the food overrated. Very pricey. To take a cab in town was $50.00 per trip. I was forced to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Your feedback is sincerely appreciated and assists us on improving the services we provide. I regret that you were not happy with our location. Just short of a mile from Sea World and six miles from downtown San Diego, we feel we are centrally located to some of the best... More 

Julian, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I chose this hotel because I could swim in the bay, bike the path and it's easy to get to, along with great accomodations. My niece needed a break from her 2 year old and the Phoenix heat. We landed in paradise. It's in Mission Bay park which means dining will be a short drive. That was fine by me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so honored that you chose to stay at our resort for a mini getaway with your niece. Hopefully she was able to escape the Phoenix heat without experiencing the odd San Diego heat wave we've been having. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to your return visit. Thank you, Vera More 

Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I HAVE USED PRICELINE FOR THE PAST 5 YEARS UP UNTIL I GOT WHAT I THOUGHT WAS A FAIR PRICE FOR A ONE NIGHT STAY AT THIS HOTEL IN JANUARY 2012. I checked in not knowing the parking was 32 per night. Walked a log way to my room on to be disapointed. the lamp was broken, sliding glass door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hiltonmissionbay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please accept my sincerest apologies for what must have looked like a lack of attention here at our resort. Please note that I am looking to every housekeeping issue that you've referenced and have escalated it to our housekeeping and maintenance managers. We hold ourselves to the highest level of... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Pool area(21)
  • Sea World(19)
  • Very nice(19)
  • Mission bay(16)
  • Fire pits(7)
  • Parking fee(4)
  • Happy Hour(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

644 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (460)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (79)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (184)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#73 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,191 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,524 reviews
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#160 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,856 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#123 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 2,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay