We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
660 G St, San Diego, CA 92101
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
2 people have started booking this hotel
Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #147 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
hardydesk San Clemente, California
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    93
    137
    80
    40
    18
See reviews for
21
125
55
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (368)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Best part of this hotel is the location. Although it's a 15-20 min. walk to the conference center area, it is only a 2 block walk to get to the north part of the Gaslamp area. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful. There is a full breakfast every morning with lots of choices (both hot and cold). There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here over the weekend and we really enjoyed the location. The room was clean and the breakfast was outstanding. It had good wifi and a nice staff too. I would recommend staying here. We were close to petco park and a block from the Gaslamp quarter as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It sounds like you had a really good time in the city. We hope to see you again. More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

As all Comfort inn is an average hotel But the pros is that is in the middle of the action in the Gaslamp quarter so this give a surplus to the Hotel. The room are tidy but tiny I could barely walking and the bathroom was as well tiny. Anyway clean hotel, cheap price and breakfast compensate the cons of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us. We know you have many choices. Our goal is to offer clean,well maintained rooms and an awesome breakfast. I am glad that we meet your needs. More 

San Jose, California
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked my stay here for 3 nights based on 8.5 rating on Booking.com. It is rated 3-star, but should be 1-star. The evening I checked in, the hotel had put notice on its walls that there will be a power cut from 2:30AM to 6:30PM due to utility work. This is not acceptable- they should either have back up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience. The electric company only gave us a few hours notice that they would be shutting down power on the block for a necessary repair. We figured most people would be asleep at 2:30 in the morning and we provided flash lights and emergency lighting throughout the hotel. Again, I am sorry for the inconvenience. More 

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed one night here on business and it was, in the words of "Goldie Locks,' just right." The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows and the room was clean. The room has a single bed in it, and the size of the room was on the small side. Even for one person it felt a little snug. The "bathroom"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review

Wow! We needed this good review. We usually review very well but recently and most likely due to high rates over Comicon we had a string of poor reviews. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you! More 

Orange County, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is small. The rooms are small. Moderately clean. Old building with AC units in the windows. Street noise was heard all night. Cars, sirens, etc... the ugg came when we left our room to go to breakfast the following morning. In front of the elevator was poop. Yes poop. 3 logs. I told myself someone let their dog... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience. As we told you at the time. We had two teenage boys in house with the parents who had been pulling pranks for two days. We had other guests report that they were writing on the walls in the hallways with crayons as well. We worked fast to resolve the issue and reported it to... More 

Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's hard to imagine rooms this small, but they would be tolerable if they had working ac and didn't smell like a sewer line had broken under the bed. The location is very good, so the choice of hotel was not totally bad. The staff were sometimes friendly but more often indifferent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review

Our goal is to make everyone's stay a good one. I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations. More 

Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would not recommend booking at this hotel. There are plenty of other hotels to stay at in the area or surrounding areas of San Diego. The 'double' beds are not standard sized beds. I'd say they are about three quarters the size of a regular double. Upon arrival, I found a half drank bottle of water as my complimentary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review

Mary, We try very hard to make everyone's stay a good one. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is really old, but seems clean. Staff was pleasantly nice. Rooms are extremely small so I'm glad it was a short trip. The sink area to wash your hands after using the restroom is located next to the bed. Odd. There is a small a/c unit attached to the window that is loud which I didn't mind since... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel would be fine for $69 a night. During ComicCon they were charging $500 a night. The property itself needs a complete overall. The furniture and carpeting appear to be from 1980s. The noisy AC window units rattle the glass frames when running, which helps drown out the noise from the parking lot. The rooms are reminiscent of scenes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this review

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Comicon is the largest event in our city and rates and restrictions for that event is city wide. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#96 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
#102 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Horton Grand Hotel
#83 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#63 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay