We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 270 San Diego hotels

Surfer Beach Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Surfer Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Surfer Beach Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
60%
Ranked #162 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Itiswhatitis73 Connersville, Indiana
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    109
    65
    37
    45
See reviews for
89
93
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Connersville, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel right on the beach. Balconies faced the ocean. The room was O.K. it had flat screen tv, small fridge, and did offer a fan in the closet since it did not have air conditioning. However with the breeze from the ocean at night it wasn't that bad. The bed was comfortable but as I checked under the sheets, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Itswhatitis73, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about the Surfer Beach Hotel. We appreciate that you will be back again. Be sure to call us directly at the hotel so we can personally take care of your reservation. Thank you once more for staying with us. SIncerely, Adam M. Della Rocca More

San Leandro, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They had no amenities, there was no in room coffee, there was no microwave to heat water, no hair dryer, NO AIR CONDITIONING. Even though you probably don't need air conditioning at the beach, very often we suffered all night because of the heat. Worst place I have ever stayed. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joie51, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We strive to ensure our guests enjoy themselves and are disappointed when they don;t. All of our junior suite rooms come equipped with a coffee maker and microwaves. For the rooms that don't have it, we offer complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate, mocha and cappuccino at the Front... More

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is right on the beach. If you were any closer, you would be in the sand. The rooms aren't great but for the money., location, and accessibility to the beach, it was great. The hotel needs to be updated, but the beds are very comfortable, and hot water in the shower makes for a comfortable stay. If you're... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rock000, Thanks for the well-written review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you get the chance to come back soon. Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca General Manager More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic location. Lots of interesting places eat and see. Easy to get to San Diego or travel up the coast to see the sights. A great place to make you vacation base. Nice rooms only issue the elevator is slow

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shvanski, Thank you for the great review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I looked into the elevator speed and found that unfortunately it already operates at the maximum rated speed for a building our size. However, I can understand your comment, as the first thing I would want to do after checking in, is drop off... More

Northridge, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm originally from San Diego and have stayed at multiple hotels in Pacific Beach but this hotel by far has the best customer service and rooms. The stay was very nice and they upgraded my group to the Sunset Suite, free of charge. Absolutely beautiful and this hotel rates an A++ in my opinion. Incredibly close to the beach and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beyond Y, We are happy you were one of the lucky guests chosen to be upgraded! We often try to upgrade guests when we have availability because we love sharing our best rooms and views with our guests. Thanks for the great review. Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca General Manager More

El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Being rather hard on this hotel a year ago, today this hotel has done a 180 turn for the best. It's like from night to day. This hotel is doing its best to provide the best in comfort, cleanliness and attention to its guests. The rooms show a marked improvement in a year from state of the art T Vs,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jesus S, Thank you for the great second review. I am glad you have noticed the positive changes.. We have made departmental upgrades and improvements and the staff is dedicated to providing excellent service to all of our guests. We appreciate the kind compliments and are glad you have noticed the difference. Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca General Manager... More

Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Surfers beach is an old hotel in front of the beach . The location is perfect ! Unfortunately the rooms are old , with humidity, tiny bathroom, old furniture, no air-condition only an old and very dirty fan. Last but not least , it's expensive for the level of quality of rooms and services : + 300 USD by night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ArtCapella, Thank you for staying at the Surfer. You are right, the location is amazing. If the rooms were any closer to the water, our feet would be wet! We are constantly making improvements to the hotel and upgrading our amenities, so be sure to check back with us the next time you are back in San Diego. Thanks... More

Las Vegas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I absolutely love the location of this hotel. Right on the beach; the pool courtyard literally opens to the boardwalk that lines the beach. It's right in the middle of the action of Pacific Beach, so anything you could need or want is walking distance. Plenty of beach shops and restaurants and bars all right there. Mission Beach and Belmont... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathy Z, Thanks for the great review of the hotel. Your family vacation sounded ideal. I am glad you were able to enjoy all that the Surfer has to offer. We hope you book again with us soon. Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca General Manager More

Columbus
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spectacular view of ocean and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. But at over $320 night you would expect a clean room, AC and HOT water for showering. Hotel has attempted to update rooms with new furniture but when drapes and curtains are disgusting and dirty along with ceramic tile falling off in bathroom, it's difficult to find the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Traveltime008, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate the high marks in service and I will be sure to follow-up about the hot water issue and the tile. Please email me at adam.dellarocca@trigildservices.com so I can pinpoint which room you are referring to. As to the other items you mentioned, we are upgrading all... More

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel has great location ever !!! But the rooms are not good at all !!! No AC so is very hot inside the room. The carpet is very old and dirty ! No amenities at all and for the 3 person they offer a terrible sofa bed ! Hallway is very dirty and very noise ! Elevators are not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Felipe, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I have shared your review with my team in order that we can ensure that other guests don't have the same experience.Once again, I apologize for your disappointing stay. Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Surfer Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Address: 711 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in San Diego with
any amenities