We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gaslamp Plaza Suites

520 E St., San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    185
    51
    26
    15
See reviews for
59
187
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (421)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (108)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (119)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just finished 5 days in the worst hotel to use as a fair price one in SAN DIEGO. I reserved and paid my stance 6 months before my arrival. Besides that, they gave me the nastiest room of their hotel. Can you imagine a room with a closet without space to hang a jacket or a suit (please review... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am sorry you felt this way about your recent stay with us. We do have several sizes of rooms that can be booked on our web site. In your case, when you made your reservation back in November, we had all the different sizes available. You selected the smallest room, which indeed is a small room but... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was small but as we only needed it to sleep in we found it comfortable. Breakfast was basic but nice. Our only problem was with the hot water which was intermittent at best. A call to reception each time and it magically appeared! This hotel is in the middle of a very busy area but we were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Street MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location and a very nice historic decor, lots of marble. Walking distance to a lot of places, my wife and I love to walk and averaged about 8 miles a day. We went to Petco Park for the Padres opening day and had a great time. We went on the booze and bites walking tour ( over 100 bars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am very happy you and your wife enjoyed your stay and our beautiful city. Welcome Back! More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for a week. The rooftop continental breakfast was the highlight of the entire stay. The lobby is quite small and cramped, which isn't a big deal, unless you are waiting in the for your car from Valet with 10 -15 other people. While I liked the idea of staying in a historic building,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your stay in July of last year. I am sorry to see that we didn't meet your standards in customer service. This is something we usually are rated very highly on so I am not really sure as to what we missed in regards to your stay. I would welcome you to... More 

New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

The hotel: I had read favorable reviews of this hotel and decided to give it a try. I stayed here recently as a solo traveler. Finding the hotel initially was a bit hard as the hotel itself doesn't stand out too much. The lobby looks outdated but the front desk staff were very nice and accommodating. I received good recommendations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Odenton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Nothing special. Our front desk associate did help us greatly, but the room, amenities, and restaurants leave a lot to be desired. Shower took a long time to heat up. It was affordable and in a great location, though, so I'd stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Stayed on business in a 1 bedroom suite. Room very immaculately clean and a very good size. Large windows had a good view of the street on 2 sides. Due to the area being one of san diego's main party districts there was a lot of noise from the street which does come into the room in the early hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stayed 3 nights during 13-16 March. During our stay, reception staff, Asistant General Manager M. Kershaw were helpful. Room cleanliness, location to downtown and 5th street were very nice. But, during friday and saturday it was noisy because of near location of downtown and was St Patricks day. But we didnt care because we were entering the hotel very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I love to stay in small intimate hotels and do so in Europe and in the US. I know not to expect modern amenities but this was even disappointing for me. I booked a "small Suite" that in actuality was a very small room and a decent size bathroom. I think it was a suite because it had a fridge,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry to hear that you weren't quite happy with your recent stay here. The unit type that you are describing matches up with our "small studio" which is our smallest and most economical room. We have several different room types from small studio, regular sized studio, mini suites and one bedroom suites. This small studio... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

367 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (205)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Other (132)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities