We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Campland on the Bay

Hotel website
Affiliate website
2211 Pacific Beach Dr., San Diego, CA 92109-5699
Special Offer
Call us for Availability
Campland on the Bay
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    47
    21
    19
    26
See reviews for
86
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Santa Paula, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Family and friends told us we would love Campland with our RV. Stayed three nights; average cost, with taxes, $83/night. We requested to move from our first site because it was small with limited access; the office staff was accommodating. Second site had a few trees and was larger, about 150 feet from the bay. We didn't realize we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Odense
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Campland on the Bay are among the most expensive places to park his RV. But do not expect an exclusive experience. The spots are small and if your neighbors are going to throw a party, you are automatically entered. When we were visiting for a weekend in the spring break, there was full power on the volume until pm. 23:00.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FriendlyWolf, Public Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

At Campland we strive to provide the best possible urban camping exerience. We realize that in some peak periods (like Spring Break and the height of summer), Campland is bustling with action and activity.,This fast pace and party atmosphere is not for everyone. Campland is less busy during May, the last half of August, September and October weekends, and there's... More 

San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Campland is great! Would definitely recommend. There are so many activities available your kids will be busy no matter what age. We even rented bikes you can ride on the water. So fun! Our only complaint was the restaurant. We didn't feel like cooking one night and ordered hamburgers. They were so disgusting we threw them away and ended up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FriendlyWolf, Public Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Campland on the Bay! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. I am sorry to hear about your dining experience. We are sharing your review with the restaurant staff, and will try to determine went wrong with your meal. Please reach out to me privately at friendlythewolf@campland.com to Make it Right on your next... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

went here for our Honeymoon, got Supersite H8, super awesome, honeymoon suite to the max, cant wait to return, thank you Campland for a wonderful experience, friendly staff, helpful, informative and very clean camp ground.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FriendlyWolf, Public Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Campland on the Bay to spend your honeymoon. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and look forward to seeing you back! More 

California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This a great place the spaces are a little tight and it can be very crowed sometimes. THE WIFI SUCKS FOR THE MOST PART. Beach is nice but could use a good cleaning. Pools are good but lots of people.There is a BBQ and Ice cream shop in the middle of the place, not bad but how bad can Ice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FriendlytheWolf, Public Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

We strive to provide the best urban campground experience possible and we regret that you had issues with the Internet. The WIFI issue is a complex one and we are constantly upgrading it as demand increases; we are currently in the second phase of our fourth major upgrade. There are many unique challenges for our campground that a building or... More 

St. George, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Too many rental trailers.... On our second night a huge group of people showed up to sleep in rental trailers that had been parked around us. There were way more people than trailer space. These people had no clue in camping etiquette. Loud, obnoxious in the middle of the night. They tried to set up tents in our area, their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FriendlytheWolf, Public Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

RS, We strive to deliver the best urban camping experience that we can and are so very sorry that you had this experience. July is by far our busiest month, we are at 100 percent occupancy almost every day at the height of summer -- the campground s indeed full of action and activities. And while we take our rules... More 

San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

It was kid heaven with a skatepark, basketball court, private beach access, and rentals. However, don't go if you don't want crowds because it was PACKED full of people and kids running around every where. I liked the short walk to the beach even though the sand wasn't white or even light brown. They have limited access so the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015 via mobile

Place has gone downhill. While other places around California have improved, Campland has not. Wifi? False advertising as it never worked and guy in front admitted it was terrible. Don't plan on it if wifi is needed. Worst experience? Taking the family to eat at the restaurant at 6:20 PM to be told by the lady working there the kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015 via mobile

Expensive ($80/night), crowded, and sort of run down. They let long term people do what they want in the cheap ($80) areas. We had to get the people across from us to move their car out of the street to get into our space. After they moved their car my wife moved their kids toys out of the road. 50... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FriendlytheWolf, Public Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

Sorry you had some challenges getting into your campsite. Our guest rangers are available to assist you with your needs and they can be particularly helpful in setting up camp and in communicating with neighboring campers. Please call on us when you are at Campland when you have any questions or challenges, we are here to make your stay fun... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We escaped the snow for a New Years trip to San Diego. This is an amazing RV park! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is if you are a regular RVer you will feel like you've been packed in like a sardine! If you can get over that, there is no other RV park I know of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question