We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Campland on the Bay

Hotel website
Affiliate website
2211 Pacific Beach Dr., San Diego, CA 92109-5699
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Campland on the Bay
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

San Diego is one of those cities that you can visit in the Winter or Summer and have a great experience in great weather and Campland on the Bay is awesome year round. We've been a number of times. It's our "go to" when we visit our son. I recommend that you book well in advance if going in Peak,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Russ L
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Campland is one of our favorite summer memories. We love to travel and camp and this is somewhere we return to every year. We bring our bikes and have a great time exploring all over the campsite, letting the kids play and have fun! They have great concerts, 3 swimming pools, a hot tub, great clean, heated showers and clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie F
Corona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loooooove this place!... There are soooooo many activities for the kids. (There is even a program with times). I find the staff very friendly. It has an excellent location for other San Diego destinations (in addition to shuttles on site). The only WISH I would have... would be to have a dedicated Bike path. You kind of are stuck Riding... More 

Helpful?
Thank L M
GraceRiggs, Guest Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We look forward to seeing you back again and are happy to tell you that there is a bike path right outside of Campland that goes all the way around the Bay. It starts at the Campland Welcome Sign and goes over the Mike Gotch Memorial Bridge all the way around Mission Bay.We also... More 

Arden, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

Our campsite was nothing but dirt and fig berries. The fig berries were so prolific that your shoes would be totally coated with the goo. Had to take shoes off. We have a dog that cannot take shoes off and car mats were a mess. Never will stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
GraceRiggs, Guest Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

We are sincerely sorry to hear about your camping experience. We take pride in keeping our campgrounds well-maintained. We will make sure that our groundskeepers are made aware of any seasonal landscaping problems with berries that they may not be aware of. Hopefully, you passed this along to our management at the time. We appreciate your feedback, and again, apologize... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Fair enough, if you are planning a large noisy family reunion with loads of kids, this place us for you. The sites are tiny and crammed in with zero privacy. People cut through our site to go to the restrooms constantly which seemed to be always closed for cleaning between 8-10 every morning when we were trying to get ready... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WanderNdiscover
GraceRiggs, Guest Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback, and we are sorry that your visit to Campland was not what you expected. We are very family friendly, and it can get very busy, right after school gets out for summer in June (when you visited). We do hope that you will give Campland another try during the quieter season like late Summer, Early Fall,... More 

Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015 via mobile

We had five days in the supersite, it was amazing! Private with a jacuzzi, BBQ, washer and dryer. Like a second honeymoon! Nice clean off leash dog park overlooking the bay. Love Campland and the Supersite

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon E
GraceRiggs, Guest Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback! See you back soon~ More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

I have been to this place twice and both times I didn't have a great time. My more present visit they put us in this very tiny spot that barely fit our tent trailer. We had very noisy and rude campers next to us that still had their music playing and talking above a whisper after quiet time. I sent... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor B
GraceRiggs, Guest Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is important to us, and we share it with our entire staff. It is unfortunate that noisy neighbors ruined your holiday, and we hope that you contacted management directly for support. Please accept our apologies for a less than perfect stay. More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015

First time 'camping' at Campland. I tagged onto a friends yearly trip that includes 10+ sites and upwards of 40 or so people. I joined late so got my own site. Turns out unless you pay an extra $25 you have know idea what site you have until you get there - just the loop number. <<MISS>> I was told... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie E
GraceRiggs, Guest Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are glad you had such a good time with your friends! We hope that it was explained to you that the $25 you paid is a standard fee to "guarantee" you get the exact site number assigned (unless already booked). This f lags the site as DO NOT MOVE. We have the right... More 

Level Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 via mobile

Went to "Campland on the Bay" with friends and kids. Spend the day jet skiing and playing in the water. Everyone had so much fun. At night the had a Bon Jovi tribute band. They where good. Everyone had a wonderful time. Lots to do. Store, restaurant, arcade, pool, beach, etc. will be Back...

Helpful?
2 Thank A. Vinnie V
GraceRiggs, Guest Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay wit us! We will pass on your good words about the band to our Recreation Director. Check-in for next year's full Summer Concert Series line-up! We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Riverside
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

Overall this Park was one of the best we have stayed in that is a "beach" RV Park. First let me state the obvious which is a common situation at California "beach" RV Parks. TON'S OF PEOPLE!!! Yes, this is a VERY large RV Park. You will never be alone until you are inside your RV. But this is probably... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ken K
GraceRiggs, Guest Relations Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review

We appreciate your thoughtful and thorough review. You did a terrific job of describing the wide array of activities at Campland as well as nearby San Diego attractions. With so many activities to choose from and perfect weather, it's easy to understand why we get so many summer visitors! Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#87 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,760 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#4 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#158 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#135 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities