We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

1518 SW Wanamaker Rd., Topeka, KS 66604 (Formerly Hotel Topeka)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge
Add Photo

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    16
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
9
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel recently changed a name to Econo Lodge & so is a new ownership & management. The rooms are big & clean. They have huge breakfast area & they serve hot breakfast which is pretty rare for a econo lodge. We enjoyed their indoor pool/spa. This is probably a best econo lodge property within miles & miles.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Independence, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is probably the most cleanest hotel i ever checked into.They offer delicious Hot breakfast. I think this hotel has new management & its making a big impact. We like the location which is close to many restaurants & shopping nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

My husband, 18 month old daughter, and I stayed in a king room for a week and the price was $364.00. This was very cheap compared to many other hotels we checked. To my surprise the room was very large, the bed was very comfortable, and the hot tub was the best we have ever used. The hotel is locked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kearney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

The breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly. However, I had stained sheets and the room I was in had a mold smell. It was too the point that it caused headaches. It was no where near what I was expecting. It was not worth the stay for the price I paid. I could of stayed at the... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TMIHospitality, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Stormy C, Thank you for your review of the AmericInn of Topeka. I'm glad that our friendly staff and complimentary breakfast was enjoyable. However, I'm very sorry to hear that the rest of your stay was not to your liking. I have spoken to my housekeeping staff to ensure that any odors are properly neutralized. I hope that you... More 

El Paso
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

This place stunk and was filthy, had ashes and beer caps left in our clean room. Sink was falling out of the bathroom counter. This hotel should charge no more the 49.00 dollars a night for the kind of room we received. Do yourself a favor and book elsewhere.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
TMIHospitality, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Justin O, Thank you for your review of the AmericInn of Topeka. Please accept my sincere apologies for the negative experience you had. What you described is not normal of our hotel. I would really like to get more information about your stay so that your concerns can be properly addressed with my staff. I look forward to hearing... More 

Wichita
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Clean, comfortable, friendly, quick checkin.. Would love to have DVD player for length stay..haven't had the breakfast before, always seem to miss it.. And maybe a later check out time.. Got there at 4 am and had to be out by noon.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We booked a block of rooms for Labor day weekend for an anniversary party .The rooms were clean and front desk people were very nice .My only complaint would be the breakfast was not the best. They seemed to have a hard time keeping food and drinks full and trash empty. But there is a dennys right on the corner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Housekeeping was lacking, they failed to properly stock room, vacuum, clean bathroom. Staff was less then friendly. Not are recommended stay. We had issues with some staff with our service dog. Won't be using this AmericIn or any other in. Not impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TMIHospitality, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mary R, Thank you for your review of the AmericInn of Topeka. Please accept my apologies for the level of service you received while you were with us. It is always our goal to impress our guests, and I am saddened to hear that we came up short. I have shared your concerns with my staff to ensure that... More 

Larkspur, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We usually seek out AmericInn hotels as we're driving across the country because they are typically very clean, modern, comfortable, and very reasonably priced. This one in Topeka was obviously formerly another kind of hotel that had been acquired by AmericInn. While our room was clean and the beds were super comfy, it was older and needed some updates and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TMIHospitality, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cabbersham, Thank you for your review of the AmericInn of Topeka. I'm glad that you enjoyed our clean rooms, comfy beds, complimentary breakfast and friendly staff. However, it is always our goal to provide our guests with a five star experience. I'm sorry that we came up short. Please allow us a chance to make up for this on... More 

Greenville
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The room wasn't as clean as it should have been, it wasn't vacuumed before we arrived nor was it vacuumed during our stay. We slept on bed linens 3 nights, when I took linens off on 4th day, found to 2 large stains on mattress pad. The sink in the bathroom did not drain well and the air conditioner made... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
TMIHospitality, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Donald N, Thank you for your review of the AmericInn Topeka. Please accept my apologies that the cleanliness of your room was less than satisfactory. What you described is unacceptable for our hotel and will be addressed with our housekeeping staff right away. I also apologize for the maintenance problems you experienced. I will have my maintenance team look... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay