We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Boston Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
275 Tremont Street, Boston, MA 02116
Special Offer
Enjoy Great Summer Rates!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Boston Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard Boston Downtown
Add Photo

845 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    238
    281
    155
    87
See reviews for
121
243
74
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (845)
  • Mar-May only
    (195)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (263)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (256)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (131)
All months
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

In town for four days with family and the hotel was very well located to everything. We were close to Boston Common, the Theatre District, picking up the Freedom Tour and Trolley Tours. Great restaurants in the area too! Staff we very attentive to our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The positives: the hotel is well located and walking distance form everything you would want to see. The lobby area is attractive enough and the reception staff were friendly and efficient. The negatives: our room was very small with little space for our two suitcases and my golf clubs. We British have a saying "not enough room to swing a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear IanMac1960, Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Boston Downtown. We appreciate you pointing out our best features: the great location in the heart of Boston within walking distance from all the attractions, our newly designed comfortable lobby space and the friendly and efficient staff. That being said, our 1920’s era hotel has guest rooms that are much smaller... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel because it was the headquarters for a music festival. It was very well-located, with a subway stop nearby and a nice selection of restaurants within a few blocks. The front desk staff was friendly and answered all of our questions, and when we needed a few extra items in the room they were brought to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Discdogmom, Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Boston Downtown recently and sharing your great feedback on our friendly and accommodating staff. We appreciate that! Our historic rooms are small. The designer worked meticulously on maximizing every square inch of space for guest comfort. We appreciate the feedback on how we can improve. Thanks! Sincerely, Cathleen W. More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here to be close to theaters. I advise being willing to walk. Staff was inattentive. The rooms are the size of prison cells although fairly updated and clean. Elevators were limited in operation and way too slow. Space mountain at Disney has shorter wait times. So in the end proximity is the only positive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear KWLV, Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Boston Downtown to attend the theaters in the neighborhood. Although you found the guest room to be updated and clean and within easy walking distance to the theatres, we were disappointed to learn that the elevator modernization caused you hardship. I am sincerely sorry. We are renovating the elevator cabs one... More 

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's my first time to Boston, so I chose this hotel in downtown because of its convenient location. The service is terrible here! It was raining really bad, however the hotel didn't have any umbrellas that we could borrow. They only have umbrellas for sale! How ridiculous it is! I have never seen a hotel without umbrella! And the umbrellas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin H, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Tracyminxulu Thank you fro taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. Despite the rain I how you enjoyed your trip to Boston. I am sorry we did have any umbrellas left to loan out when you needed one, the was particularly high demand for them that day. I do hope you will try our hotel again... More 

philadelphia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

room small, clean enough and not much noise. However, i left my phone charging cord but went back to retrieve a few hours later. Front desk was useless and didn't even try to look in lost and found. Called housekeeping but didn't get a response. Said they would call me one way or the other when house keeping got back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin H, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

statestreet96, Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed the room. Let me say I am sorry for your experience on retrieving your phone charger though. If you would like to contact me directly I can try to assist you further. Martin Horkan 617 728 2101 martin.horkan@marriott.com More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is housed in 100 year old building. It has very poor infrastructure. On the day of my arrival, all the guest elevators had broken down and guests were made to use a shabby service elevator which opened in shabbier lobby full of godown stuff and junk stuff. A senior looking staff member posted in the junkyard where service elevator... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear 198pradeep, Thank you for your candid review. Thank you for highlighting the free internet and the great service you received from Ezequiel and your housekeeper. They are marvelous and I will share your comments with them. I understand your opinion after the difficulty you experienced during this stay. Our elevator vendor identified the issue and resolved it first thing... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We weren't advised beforehand of construction remodeling that included jack hammer work on elevator or that water would be shut off for one day intermittently. I didn't come to Boston for this. After complaining a $75 per night (4 nights) discount was provided. Not worth it. Room small. Bathroom for ground level dining room on 5th floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martin H, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

JAMacphee, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. I am sorry your stay was not as pleasant as it could have been. As you saw we are in the final stages of an entire hotel renovation and hope to complete that later this year. I do hope you can stay with again... More 

Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What I liked: 1) This hotel is in a fantastic location. There are three subway stations within a few blocks. It's also right by Boston Common. 2) The staff was friendly. 3) My room, although small, was clean and comfortable. What I didn't like: 1) The walls are paper thin. I could hear the people in the next room, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martin H, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Jazz singer, Thank you for the review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate the feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the location and thank you so much for the kind words about the clean room and most importantly our friendly staff, I look forward to having you as our guest again in the future and I would... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its great location is the reason of booking Courtyard, besides its bargain room rate(<$200) (comparing $50 more with the next door “W”) : it’s just a few blocks away from Chinatown, at the center of Theater District, an easy walk to Boston Public Garden and Boston Common(the Visitor Center is the start of walking tour to Old Boston), several Dunkin'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin H, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Chuang004 Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled with our renovation and your are so right about our great location. I look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit. Just let us know when and we will arrange that microwave you needed. Martin More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

257 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (101)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (8)
Viewed
Standard Room (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay