We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Boston Downtown

3.0 of 5 275 Tremont Street, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Boston Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard Boston Downtown
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    224
    258
    152
    81
See reviews for
110
228
72
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (783)
  • Mar-May only
    (166)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (245)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (256)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (116)
All months
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The people on check out were lovely, however that was it. There were building works that we were not informed of that lasted 4 days. We complained about the noise and were moved to a room opposite the lift. Why would you move a customer who complains about noise to opposite the lift. The new room was lovely however there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sullivan19, Thank you for commenting on your stay at the Courtyard Boston Downtown. I understand why you were disappointed by the noise disturbance and the water interruption in your room. I am sincerely sorry. We are undergoing renovation in our guest rooms. Our staff works hard to block rooms in the best location to avoid disturbances. We sincerely apologize... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in for just one night and we had no complaints. The bedroom was clean. The bathroom spotless and the check in and out was super easy. They were very helpful. They don't have parking which is a bit expensive. Very close to prudential mall. we had a great time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Taniaceli M Glad you had a great visit to Boston an enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard Boston Downtown. Thanks and happy travels! More 

Portland, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed at many, many hotels in multiple locations, from one to five stars in my almost 46 years. However, during my recent one night stay at this Courtyard by Marriott, I experienced the best service I ever had. There wasn’t one particular individual who went out of their way to make my brief stay special. Instead, every employee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear MyReviewME Thank you for staying and highlighting the Courtyard Boson Downtown’s very best feature; our friendly and caring associates. We are happy that your family enjoyed your stay in Boston and welcome your return. More 

new hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I just stayed at the Courtyard on Tremont St. This was the perfect location for watching a show and finding a good restaurant all within walking distance of the hotel. Let me say the staff was wonderful and free wifi. The Valet and Doorman remembered us each time we walked back into the hotel. We are both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear 2travelalot, Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Boston Downtown to attend the Celtic Christmas Sojourn and sharing your comments about the friendly front desk and doormen. We are delighted that “your experience was awesome and you will return”. As avid theatre goers you may be interested in an upcoming show Motown - The Musical opening in January. We... More 

Rockville, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is cheaper than the other chains in the area. This is why: - Old and tiny rooms - Cold showers in the morning... yes, no hot water - Paper thin walls - Stay as far away as possible from the banquet rooms. We were on the 9th floor and we could hear the music from a wedding going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Keenan M., Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at the Courtyard Boston Downtown. I am sorry that your shower water was not hot, hot, hot. We recently had some renovation work done that necessitated partial water shut offs. I am sincerely sorry that we caused an interruption in your comfort. Sincerely, Cathleen Wardley General Manager... More 

Conway, South Carolina
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As the title says and you might expect; this is no frills. Small rooms, few amenities, in need of a remodel.... I could go on. The positive is that is conveniently located and clean. Don't expect anything more. The staff are polite and helpful. I have stayed at many Marriott hotels and this one sits on the bottom of my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ggcaiazzo, Thank you for your candid review. We appreciate your positive mention of our helpful and polite staff. While the guest rooms are small, when the renovation is completed they will feel more comfortable. Thank you for your business. Sincerely, Cathleen Wardley General Manager More 

New Hyde Park, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stay at Marriott hotels frequently. In fact, I stayed here about six years ago and it wasn't bad. They've had some renovations since then but, from what I could see, none for the better. The room I was in was barely bigger than a closet. No place to put luggage except on top of the desk. Had to use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear John S. Thank you for frequenting Marriott Hotels when you travel. We sincerely appreciate your business. I am sorry that your recent stay in Boston was not a positive experience. I am sorry that the noise from the nightclubs was audible to you. Thanks for mentioning the responsive engineering staff member who immediately responded to your request. Our unique... More 

Bangor, Maine
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had concerns about other Tripadvisor reviews on this place in Chinatown. It appeared that the hotel was somewhat dated but there were updated rooms. Therefore I made a reservation and confirmed that it was in the updated section. What a super room. Absolutely beautiful. These rooms do not have a kitchen or free breakfast or even a fridge but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Alan B, Thanks for the review on our great front desk staff and beautiful renovated rooms. We welcome your return! More 

Houston
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While attending a meeting at the Hynes Convention Center, I wanted to find a hotel that was not too expensive yet conveniently located. The hotel was 5-7 minutes walking distance from the Green Line which had multiple possibilities for going to the Convention Center which was another 5-6 minutes walk from the Metro station. Thus, I found the hotel location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear KUFBH, We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Boston and that you found the Courtyard Boston Downtown to be affordable and conveniently located to the Hynes Convention Center and the subway system. The MBTA “Charlie Card” subway pass is a terrific value. I am happy to share that we will be renovating and modernizing the elevators in... More 

Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
84 hotel reviews
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice lobby and decent service. Location is nice. It is a courtyard, so I didn't expect full service. Staff was nice, though. The neighborhood around the hotel is OK. You need to walk to the best part of Boston. At night, not so hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathleen W, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Veffekt, Thanks for your candid review on your recent stay at the Courtyard Boston Downtown. You highlighted a few of our most important features; the friendly service, comfortable new lobby and the great location within walking distance of the attractions. Thank you and please come again. Sincerely, Cathleen Wardley General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Courtyard Boston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Downtown

Address: 275 Tremont Street, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Boston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston Downtown/Tremont Hotel Boston
Courtyard Boston Tremont Hotel
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

219 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (101)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (8)
Viewed
Standard Room (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay