We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Milner Hotel

78 South Charles Street, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Milner Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Milner Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    132
    121
    48
    67
See reviews for
52
117
80
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (400)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (131)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (139)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed from 5th June to 9th june while attending ADA .It is really worth to stay free wifi tea coffee ready any time,very good continental breakfast, front desk are extremely helpful and very clean room room service every day.I was little excited when i went through reviews but worth to stay for that price close by China town walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stimpe, General Manager at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we certainly hope to have you staying with us when you come back to Boston again! More 

Mulberry, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This wasn't our first choice for a hotel in Boston, and my reasoning held up. The room was very tiny. We could barely get around the bed, and were in each other's way while trying to get ready. The window air conditioner was not cool! No matter what we did, it wouldn't cool the room adequately. Breakfast was poor. Cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

Madison Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very close to the Garden and Commons. The Milner is very affordable and within walking distance of so many things. The staff was great and very helpful. I would stay there every time I go to Boston. Go

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stimpe, General Manager at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we hope to have you stay with us again! More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It’s a very nice, small Hotel in Downtown Boston. Boston Common Park is about 2 min. walk away. So the location was very good. Rooms are very small but functional and clean. Breakfast was very good and the selection was pretty amazing. They had lots of cereals and bakeware and even fruits, you can make waffles so there is something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stimpe, General Manager at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we're certainly glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful location in Boston! During your next visit with us, please inquire about some of our other room types so that we can make certain that you are in a room that best meets your needs. Thanks and we certainly hope to have you stay... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first visit to Boston. We wanted a hotel that was affordable and could accommodate our family of 5. The Milner met this criteria. We arrived before check-in. The staff was happy to store our luggage so we could head to the Red Sox game. The hotel is located a few blocks from Boston Commons. We were able... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stimpe, General Manager at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks and we hope to have you stay with us again soon! More 

Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and loved the location. However, between the very noisy air conditioner and outside street noise when the clubs closed, we found it very difficult to get a good night sleep. The linens were clean but worn but the maid was helpful and friendly. Our room had only one bed and one chair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stimpe, General Manager at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! During your next visit with us, please call us in advance to see about blocking you into a room on the opposing side of the building. Its our focus to make sure that each of our guests has an enjoyable stay and come back to stay with us on future trips to Boston! More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
304 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've just returned from a few sweet days in Boston with my brother, his wife and their nine-year-old. They stayed at a big roomy hotel and paid nearly $1,000 for three nights (plus more than $20 per person to eat breakfast there each morning, which they did not). I stayed at the Milner, two blocks away and paid $400 (breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stimpe, General Manager at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy our beautiful location. We certainly hope to have you stay with us again when coming back to Boston! More 

Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was a bit skeptical when making the reservation, but was pleasantly surprised. It's like a small, charming hotel you would find in Europe. The hotel has no bells and whistles, but is in a great location(theater district) and clean. It's in walking distance to many restaurants, bars and shopping. Walk to Amtrak. Priced below others, I would stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stimpe, Manager at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope you come back and stay with us again! More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This old and historic hotel was very charming with its little elevator that dings with each floor. It was clean, courteous nice staff, quiet, good beds with clean cotton sheets. They paid for half of my parking diagonal across the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stimpe, Manager at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Look forward to have you stay with us again during your next visit to Boston! More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

If like me you are expecting a quaint old 'brownstone' you will be disappointed. It's expensive (is all of Boston?), but really down at heel: the bathroom fan made extraordinary noises, the breakfasts were poor and in a dark cramped room, our valuables were locked in the hotel safe - so safe that we weren't able to get them for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stimpe, Manager at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I certainly wish you had a better stay that your review reflected; however, we are constantly making changes and improvements to better meet the needs of our guests. Should you come back and stay with us again, I can assure you that your stay will be better than you last! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

290 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Other (22)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (208)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Queen Bed Room (34)
Viewed
Queen Suite (34)
Viewed
Standard One Double Bed Room (31)
Viewed
Standard Twin Bed Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Two Double Bed Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay