We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN University Hotel Boston-Brighton

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1650 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02135 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Hotel Boston-Brighton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN University Hotel Boston-Brighton
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    141
    82
    33
    23
See reviews for
170
62
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (380)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
Bangor, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Very nice room and great continental breakfast. The staff was super nice and very helpful with places to go. You can jump on the T right down the street. Would definitely stay there again when in Boston.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

It is a nice quiet place. The hotel is good. Breakfast started at 7am which was late for me because I had to leave at 6:50. For transport it was convenient as well, either for bus or train. People are nice too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The "Pros" had to be the friendly desk clerk that was very helpful with many questions about the area and directions, etc. The proximity to the T was great, as our kids in their 20s were able to be dropped off at Fanueil Hall when mom & dad had their own plans - and they found their way back very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was my first time in Boston and I was very pleased with the quality of this best western. Its maybe like 20 mins away from downtown boston but I liked the communting around the city. The room was very clean and was equipped with a microwave, coffee maker and a fridge which I was grateful for. Would definitely stay... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wanted to stay near Fenway Park. This wasn't walking distance, but it was quiet and right on the Greenline so it was handy. We used points as Boston is a very expensive destination. Unfortunately did little more than sleep due to a series of unfortunate circumstances.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
bwcommave, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Hotel Boston-Brighton, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. At Best Western University Hotel, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. We deeply value your relationship with Best Western University Hotel and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve... More 

Chattanooga, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

You will love to stay here - friendly employees, excellent service, good breakfast consist of a variety of foods and beverages, very comfort mattresses, good air conditioning, comfort rooms, quiet location, very close to subway

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
bwcommave, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Hotel Boston-Brighton, responded to this review

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Best Western University Hotel for your recent stay. We are proud to welcome satisfied clientele and look forward to your return in Boston. If you have any questions about our property Best Western University Hotel Brighton, we invite you to call us immediately at 617-566-6260, and we will be happy... More 

Nesconset, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service was terrible, parking is terrible, HVAC unit was broken, went to sleep at 12AM room was 72 degrees, I turned on AC and woke up at 3AM room was 85 degrees, turned off unit and opened up a window, woke up at 7AM room was still 85 degrees and heat was still coming out of the unit. Told the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bwcommave, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Hotel Boston-Brighton, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to the HVAC Unit in your room. At Best Western University Hotel, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never... More 

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

Syosset, NY, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is very clean and updated, but not fancy. It is between BC and BU. It is on the green line of the T, about a half hour from down town. They also have free parking. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. I have stayed here several times and recommend it to people who are looking for good... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
bwcommave, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Hotel Boston-Brighton, responded to this review

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Best Western University Hotel for your recent stay. We are proud to welcome satisfied clientele and look forward to your return in Boston. We are glad that you enjoy are free parking, and the easy access to the Green Line right outside our front door. If you have any questions... More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not only was our repeated request not fulfulled, but the room wasn't even cleaned while away all day. Only one employee seemed to be interested in fixing things. The rest just passed the buck... Also, the breakfast was marginal at best.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bwcommave, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Hotel Boston-Brighton, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. At Best Western University Hotel, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again. We deeply value your relationship with Best... More 

United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overal an okay place to stay. I am averse as to weather I would recommend this hotel in particular to anyone in the future. The staff at check in wasn't very personable or welcoming. The room was a good size, however a bit dirty.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bwcommave, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Hotel Boston-Brighton, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to the service and cleanliness of the room. At Best Western University Hotel, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay