We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton

3.0 of 5 1650 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02135
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    115
    70
    30
    18
See reviews for
149
51
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (315)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Strongsville, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent two nights here. Room was outdated but the beds were great, it was clean, and the staff was outstanding. Ambiance was charming, even though its a bit out of the way. Only one block from the Green line station. Since the room was old, things like the A/C and the bathroom were not the greatest. And for those who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwlS Head, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I think everything was great, although the bathroom was a little small. I liked that it was roomy, and the bed was to die for. Slept so good there. Wish it was a little closer to Children's Hospital Boston.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Spent 3 nights here. Had to be moved to another room because the toilet leaked water when flushed. Room we got moved to had blow dryer that dies and had to be fixed. Both were taken care of immediately. One of our guests had to catch a 5 am flight out of Logan. Hotel arranged services to get him there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bwcommave, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at the Best Western University Hotel. I am happy to hear we were able to resolve and inconveniences that arose during your stay. I hope you enjoyed taking our public transit around Boston while taking advantage of our free parking. We hope to hear from you in the... More

Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is purely "fine". It has a very outdated look to it. The rooms are fine and fairly clean. When I went to close the curtains, the entire curtain rack fell - coming inches from my head. We were moved to a different room. We did not eat breakfast there but got coffee and to be honest, I would... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
bwcommave, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at the hotel. We take your feedback very seriously and appreciate your time. if you have any questions please do not hesitate on giving us a call at (617)566-6260. More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very comfortable beds always!! I go there all the time. Always clean and accessible to the city. Train right at the corner. Breakfast good and hot and free. Free WiFi and Free Parking . Check often for pricing. Staff very nice and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
bwcommave, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience here at the Best Western University Hotel. We want to also thank you for being a repeat guest and taking advantage of our free amenities. We hope to see you soon. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Smelly, dirty, depressing, stupendously over priced, disgusting hotel. Literally the wost value hotel I've ever stayed at. Rooms smell really bad although attempt has been made to mask this with an overbearing air freshner that actually makes it worse. Shower was one that you felt you needed flipflops to safely enter. Breakfast room stank. Only one member of staff on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susanna S, Manager at BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Hoooger, Thank you for your feedback of the hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, especially the price. Our rates are much lower than most Boston hotels, and we offer complimentary guest parking and continental breakfast. We truly apologize for any inconveniences and we will share your review withe entire staff. The Best... More

Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am told this hotel routinely ignores reservations and rents your room to someone else, even if you credit card is on file. This happened to me upon arrival at 1 o'clock Sunday morning even though I had a confirmed reservation for late arrival. I was provided, free of charge, a room at another hotel, but it was 30 minutes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susanna S, Manager at BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton, responded to this review

Dear GreggP1943, Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be quiet, clean, reasonably priced and conveniently located. We are sorry that you had to stay at another hotel the first night and sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. We hope that you would consider staying with us again in... More

Shanghai, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very beautiful and convenient place to stay. It's near the subway, easy to get a cab, and in short distance to the river and MIT. The staff is kind and friendly, very helpful. Don't know how to get elsewhere, ask them and they explain it careful using their provided map in details.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Auburn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a very nice and clean hotel.The front desk people were excellent.Short walk to Alumni Stadium.Just outstanding.There are nice bars and restaurants near the hotel we walked to them and the neighborhood is very safe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here due to proximity to BC - conveniently located across from the T as well as near some restaurants and convenience stores. Room was okay - bed comfy, room clean/spacious for the area, nice little area with microwave and mini-fridge and well lit. Unfortunately, A/C was not working, so got very hot/stuffy in the room. Bath window would not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susanna S, Manager at BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton, responded to this review

Dear indy2010, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the guestroom and breakfast. However, we are sad to hear that the A/C did not work in your guestroom. I will share this review with the management staff so that this issue is addressed right away. Thank you for... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton

Address: 1650 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Terrace Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay