We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Boston B&Bs / inns

Friend Street Hostel

234 Friend Street, Boston, MA 02114
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Friend Street Hostel to your Saves list
Friend Street Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
39%
Ranked #36 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Welshie01 Plymouth, United Kingdom
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    15
    3
    11
See reviews for
1
2
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Warm, comfortable and clean. Very well located, Boston is an easy city to walk about. Staff were friendly, but the manager could do with cheering up. Next to TD Garden, the basketball and Ice hockey stadium, brilliant atmosphere. A heads up though, no stove, only a microwave and rice cooker. Breakfast is light but good, what you'd expect from a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FriendStreetHostel, Desk Staff at Friend Street Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kind words! We hope to see you again sometime! More

Puerto Varas, Chile
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I booked a bed over the phone for one night in the middle of low season (February). Changed plans and called back 30 minutes later to cancel. Spoke to the same person. She told me that the owner had an unbendable cancellation policy. This is the email that followed... I wish it was an exchange but I didn't get an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
FriendStreetHostel, Desk Staff at Friend Street Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, While we appreciate guest feedback, we do have to comment on the fact that you never actually stayed with us to truly review the establishment. We understand your desire to be refunded the money, but we do have an unbendable cancellation policy--as do many other hotels and hostels. In the future, we suggest finalizing your plans before booking reservations... More

Takoma Park, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Me and two other buddies took a trip to Boston for 3 nights and decided to stay at this hostel. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and very helpful. Also, while I see some reviews complaining about the beds, I just have to say you get what you pay for. If you're high-maintenance, this place is probably not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FriendStreetHostel, Desk Staff at Friend Street Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words--we appreciate your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! We'll pass along your compliments to Kristin! Thanks! Friend Street Hostel More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

this hostel is quite expensive - however it is in a good area and the staff are helpful and there is lots of information in the hostel. i did not like the bed and cant even begin to describe what the "mattress" was. also every morning around 11am the cleaning lady would snoop around yelling at people to straighten up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FriendStreetHostel, Desk Staff at Friend Street Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We would just like to clarify that rooms get cleaned starting at 11am so that they are ready for when guests check in after 2pm and that we need luggage out of the aisles so there is enough space for both guests and staff to walk. Thanks! Friend Street... More

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I've stayed here on two separate trips to Boston this year and had good experiences both times. The staff are fantastic and knowledgeable when helping with directions. They're genuinely interested in their guests and are quick to strike up conversations about where you're from and how you like the city. Being only a few blocks from the T, the location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I checked in to this hostel and was discusted. I walked in to an empty front desk, waited 10 minutes to be greeted,then when I was finally greeted I was told another price then I was quoted over the phone. I was told the room would be 33.00 a night on the phone and was asked to pay 47.00 when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
FriendStreetHostel, Owner at Friend Street Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jimmy, it is unfortunate to hear that you felt you had such a negative experience at Friend Street Hostel & Cafe. However, reading over your review I feel it is inaccurate in many areas. We do not have roaches or any other pests and we most certainly have sinks in the bathrooms. Each bathroom is equipped with three sinks... More

Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice people in a very friendly space so cousi like home. I adore all the host and the details in everything. Good work guys and continious like that. One the most amazing things was their receve us with chocolates chips cookies make for them and every night they prepare a soup for you if you want. This place I recomend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FriendStreetHostel, Guest Relations Manager at Friend Street Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much! Hope you can come back soon =) More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Wouldn't recommend staying here. Prices are far too high. I've stayed in a few hostels around the world and this is pretty close to the worst. Everything is outdated, beds rattle about at any slight movement. Try stay somewhere else if you can

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FriendStreetHostel, Guest Relations Manager at Friend Street Hostel, responded to this review

Hi abro08, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are responding to comments like yours as we continue to update and improve our facilities, including getting new mattresses. I'm sorry that you felt the prices were too high, but our accommodations are among the lowest priced available within Boston. We hope you'll stay with us again... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Facilities here were clean, staff were friendly and helpful. But I wouldn't return just because of the price, US$50 for a dorm bed?! Really? The aircon in the rooms is really, really loud too. But the location is excellent, right in the middle of restaurants and bars, and not far from the waterfront. Subway station is really close too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
FriendStreetHostel, Manager at Friend Street Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Cee Cee, Thanks for leaving your comments for us! I'm glad our staff made you feel welcome, and I understand how you must feel about our prices. I completely agree that we might be priced a bit higher than hostels in other parts of the country or world, however this is due solely to the fact that Boston is,... More

Kiel, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Well, it's an average American hostel, nothing special. Nice staff, decent and apparently clean rooms. No surprises there I think. I liked the breakfast, which was served in the cafe underneath the hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FriendStreetHostel, Manager at Friend Street Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Leo, Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments for us. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us, and hope you were able to enjoy Boston as well! Best of luck with your travels! -Bria More

Been to Friend Street Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friend Street Hostel

Address: 234 Friend Street, Boston, MA 02114
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friend Street Hostel is Boston's friendliest hostel! We provide clean, safe, inexpensive accommodations for travelers to Boston, Massachusetts. Friend Street is centrally located and close to all Boston hot spots and attractions. Locally owned and operated, Friend Street offers friendly atmosphere and many amenities. Amenities include: free breakfast, free wi-fi, free maps, luggage storage, kitchen, 24-hour reception, free linen and laundry facilities to all guests. Travelers are sure to make new friends at Friend Street Hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Friend Street Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friend Street Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.