We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copley House

3.0 of 5 239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copley House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Copley House
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    126
    53
    29
    40
See reviews for
77
104
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (344)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (119)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (131)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent three nights In Boston. The apartment was really wonderful, everything you may need was available. In addition, there was this very, very cute and nice backyard, where you can enjoy the beginning of a sunny day. My apartment was located in a beautiful neighborhood, close to the center, a supermarket and everything you need in walking distance. Absolutely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Lovely to hear from you, Lisa! It's great to know our apartments had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. We really appreciate your feedback, and we hope you'll visit us again the next time you're in Boston -- there's still plenty more to explore in the Back Bay. Sincerely, Christian - General Manager More

Munroe Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Work brought me to Boston for a short time and I was shocked when trying to find a reasonable hotel. Boston had the highest prices I've encountered and I travel a lot! One of my reps who lives in MA suggested the Copley House and I was lucky enough to get the last room. Set in a beautiful, safe neighborhood,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

We're so glad you had the chance to stay with us, Lori! Sorry to hear about the parking challenges and the clanks -- there's not much more we can do about either, but it's good to know they didn't get in the way of your comfort. You've just barely scratched the surface of all the great places to see in... More

Norridgewock, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and two girlfriends wanted to spend the weekend in Boston, shopping and exploring. We wanted to be close enough to walk back to our hotel to drop off packages and relax with a cocktail during the day. Copley House was so much less "pricey" than every other place I checked. Booked a one bedroom apartment, was concerned what we'd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

You've really blown us away here, Sheila! It's great to hear that our facilities could help turn a spontaneous weekend into a yearly tradition. We're thrilled that your room exceeded your expectation, and we look forward to seeing you and your friends again next year! All the best, Christian - General Manager More

Southern California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We tried to find a VRBO property in downtown Boston but had no luck, and found Copley House instead. It's like renting a flat or apartment, with a kitchenette, living, and dining area, but it's run like a hotel, so you don't have to deal with owners or strange check-in and check-out procedures. Our unit (#408 at 215 W. Newton)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Sorry about the Wi-Fi, Lainey -- it works well for most of our guests but we can look into strengthening our signal. As for the heat, it is centralized in our buildings so sometimes it takes some adjusting to get it right for everyone. Please let us know next time your room is too warm and we'll help you find... More

Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were for 3 days in Boston in October with my husband and my son. Copley House is a great location to get around and visit the city. Our apartment was located near the Symphony Station and in walking distance to Historical center (10-15 minutes). Our apartment was quiet and clean but smell very bad (seems like a dead squirrel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Sorry your apartment wasn't as updated as you would have liked -- we are continually upgrading our apartments and public spaces so we will keep it mind as we make the rounds. As far as the smell goes, we'd be very surprised if there was a problem with a squirrel but we will... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Apartment 507 on 240 W.Newton street for 4 nights. The location was excellent - it is very close to the T so was very easy and quick to get around town. The room had a small dining area with a kitchenette so was great for having breakfast stuff in. It was also very close to Bolyston Street... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

We're glad you had a great time with us! As you know, there's no shortage of hotels in the Boston area, so it's great to know that our homier experience gives our guests the most bang for their buck. We appreciate your support, and we hope you'll join us again soon -- there's still plenty to explore in the Back... More

STONE MOUNTAIN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was the best thing about this hotel. My boyfriend liked it and found it but it wasn't for me. The room smelled stale, the bathroom was small and the furniture was outdated. This place is in walking distance to all the shopping, restaurants and Fenway park. I also didn't like checking in and having to walk to our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

We're sorry you were disappointed by your stay, Sherese. You're quite right about our rooms being converted from apartments, but that's one of our greatest strengths -- we want our rooms to be homier than what you'd find at a traditional hotel. That said, our guests shouldn't be encountering a stale apartment or outdated furniture -- we will take steps... More

Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is actually a set of apartments within 10 blocks radius from the office on a verrrry busy street. We came by car and had terrible time parking, then waiting on a group of 20 students checking in and getting instructions how to get about the city, just to have to drive away to bring the luggage and to drive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Sorry your visit left something to be desired, Belolka. Rest assured that roaches are not a common problem for us -- it's likely this one snuck its way in from outside. Still, we're disappointed that you had to see a bug, and we'll continue to keep our rooms as clean as possible. It's a shame to hear that parking was... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well located in historic Back Bay and close to a major Amtrak train station, we were upgraded to a larger room at no extra cost without asking for it. The room was large and clean and even had a (somewhat dated) kitchenette. Did not use it as there were lots of places to eat nearby and it's a nice stroll... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your room, Bruno! Availability can change on a dime in the hotel business, so we're always happy to upgrade our guests whenever a bigger room opens up unexpectedly. Sounds like you had a lot of fun trying all of the restaurants in our neighborhood -- still, we'll do our best to make the kitchen an even... More

San Martin de los Andes, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Copley this October and were very pleased with it. The location is excellent and the apartment was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We could park our car in the same hotel for a reasonable price. The only disadvantage was that our apartment was on the basement and didn't have much light,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Happy to hear that you found the apartment comfortable and convenient, Mercedes! Sorry about the lighting -- we'll be sure to look into making our lower-level apartments brighter. We hope to see you again the next time you're in Massachusetts! Thanks a million, Christian - General Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Copley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley House

Address: 239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston

331 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Other (49)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (231)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Economy Studio (29)
Viewed
Large Studio (31)
Viewed
Medium Studio (28)
Viewed
Medium Studio (West Newton Street) (30)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (40)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (Saint Stephen Street) (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay