We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Boston hotels

Copley House

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Copley House to your Saves list
Copley House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #61 of 77 hotels in Boston
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
robfjonesuk Hong Kong, China
  • Overview
  • Reviews (279)
  • Photos (77)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (2)
  • Room tips (48)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    100
    45
    23
    40
See reviews for
60
81
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I would love to give this establishment four stars. It was a nice, spacious room in a great location. The staff were really helpful, especially the young guy who checked me in and was able to reccomend some really cool local bars to me. The reason I cannot give it another star is due to the state of the toilet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear that this happened, not to mention disappointed. Did you happen to mention this to anyone working here at the time? We would have absolutely done everything in our power to fix your bathroom as fast as possible. You should never have had to put your hand in the toilet tank, and again, I truly apologize.... More

USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small, comfortable and quiet apartment a couple of blocks from Back Bay, the Prudential Center mall, side walk snacking and nice restaurants. A few blocks further and we were in the Boston Commons and close to the original Cheers bar for a cool drink. Yes, it was small but it was exactly as shown in the posted photos. No surprises.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share! I'm very glad to hear you were happy and comfortable with our location and accommodations. I hope you had a wonderful time during your trip in Boston! We'd love to host you again the next time you're in town. Best wishes, Christian - General Manager More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Boston is a hard place to find reasonably priced accommodation. Copley House fit our needs: it was located in a great neighbourhood & wasn't too expensive. The rooms need a little love and so do the hallways but all in all a nice stay. A real highlight was walking around the South Ends historic residential streets in the evening. So... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

I'm glad you found us, Tressa! Thanks for taking the time to share some feedback about your stay with us. It sounds like you were comfortable and happy with the value overall, and I'm happy to hear it. I hope you'd consider staying with us again on your next trip to Boston! Best wishes, Christian - General Manager More

Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect location central to everything, Very helpful staff. Apartment was cozy, easy to access, clean, all in working order. Walk to Prudential Center, Fenway Park, Boston Public Library, and everything downtown. Safe area. It is not super fancy, but it is everything it said it would be. We liked not being in a formal hotel. We liked the apartment set-up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this, Bob! I truly appreciate your compliments about our staff and facilities. It sounds like you took great advantage of our location, and I'm really glad to hear it! We're all looking forward to the next time you stay with us! Best wishes, Christian - General Manager More

Midwest
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are a family of 4 that stayed in one of the one bedroom suites (with a kitchenette and pull out bed/couch, plus a separate bed in a small bedroom). Everything was great - we were on the 3rd floor of one the St. Botolph St. buildings. The air conditioning worked well, which was good because it got quite warm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm very happy to hear you and your family were comfortable staying with us during your time in Boston. It sounds like you took great advantage of our location and amenities! Your feedback is hugely appreciated, and I hope you'll keep us in mind for your next trip to Boston. All the... More

Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Copley House for four nights and loved pretty much everything. The apartment was light and airy, in a great neighbourhood and had everything you needed. A special treat was the daily servicing, which came as a surprise. Staff were very helpful and responded quickly to any queries. I would recommend this accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review! Your recommendation is much appreciated. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Boston, and want you to know that we'd gladly host you again the next time you're in town. Thanks again for your compliments, and keep us in mind for your next visit! Best wishes, Christian - General Manager More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect location, clean rooms, great service. The buildings are older, so expect dated hallways, wall unit air conditioning and smaller bathrooms. The kitchenette was a very nice feature. Overall, for the price, a wonderful budget alternative to the very expensive hotels nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Thanks for your compliments, Andrea! I'm happy to know you found our hotel to be an excellent value. It's great hearing from you, and we all appreciate your taking the time to write up this review. Keep us in mind for the next time you're travelling to Boston! All the best, Christian - General Manager More

Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This "hotel" is actually a group of small apartments located in various townhouses in a charming Back Bay neighborhood. Location is 3 blocks from a MTA stop and an Olde Town Trolley stop. We bought the trolley passes on line and had perfect on/off trolley tours. Also near a upscale mall and many restaurants. The price was half that of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing, Sadie! I'm happy to hear we were able to provide the value you were looking for. As for the inconveniences you mentioned, we really appreciate your feedback about these matters. We want to do everything we can to ensure our guests are comfortable, and are grateful for the feedback that helps us get there. Should you find... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Four of us have just spent 2 nights in a studio apartment run by Copley House. It was in St Stephens Ave, a short drive from the main establishment. The apartment was on the 3rd floor so for some, carrying luggage up the stairs might be a problem as there is no lift. It consists of a queen size bed,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing, Geoff-Dale! I'm happy to know you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us during your trip to Boston. It's great to hear that you took advantage of what our location has to offer! Thank you for taking the time to share some thoughts about your experience -- we'd happily host you again on your next trip.... More

New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Yes, the neighborhood is lovely and the location is great. But the hallway looked to be partway through some redecorating and wasn't very welcoming. The living room area of my studio was so dark I had to either sit at the dining table or in bed to read. The worst part was the "free local and long distance calls"--totally non-existent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

I hope you'll accept my apologies for the broken phone. I understand your frustration at this inconvenience, and I regret that we didn't take more care to resolve this issue before you left. I am happy, however, to hear that our location was to your liking and that you felt staying with us was a good value. Your feedback is... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Copley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Copley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley House

Address: 239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Copley House is your home away from home in Boston, MA. We offer affordable lodging in fully furnished apartments at daily and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
39

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Copley House and other travelers.
2 questions

See all questions (2)

See which rooms travelers prefer

;