We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountaineer Inn

155 Tunnel Rd., Asheville, NC 28805
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountaineer Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    24
    9
    20
    52
See reviews for
19
39
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sleep in your car instead of this hotel!!! The desk clerk was great but said her boss was 92 years old, which explains the smell of moth balls. It is obvious that the owner has already passed to another time or does not care at all. Our first room had feces all over the toilet. They gave us another room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here July 27th & 28th. Was in town for the Slayer concert. I paid $144 total for two nights. You do the math. Should've been $80 total. Total white trash dump. I'm white. So nothing discriminative. The hotel clerk was an older lady, but extremely nice. But that's the only thing nice about the hotel. I arrived around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , Surprising that a hard core Slayer fan would have such a problem with our establishment. I have old folks and families and every type person in between stay here and be completely comfortable. Your assessment is very harsh as well as exaggerated. However, we do have work to do, and are constantly making improvements so that even the... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Nasty! I didn't read trip advisor before I booked. It had 5 stars and good reviews. The place was broken down, dirty, old. Huge carpet stains, smoky, unsanitary, lights didn't work . I couldn't let my kids sleep there. We were lucky we got a room at Days inn a block up. A biker gang and their babes should feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , I am sorry you were unhappy with our establishment. However, since you did not actually even stay here, I am not sure why you chose to be so critical of us. We have a few issues, and we are working hard everyday to improve our facilities. We are a motel that offers weekly stays and smoking rooms, and... More 

Williamson, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

During our return to Atlanta, we decided to travel through the mountains and find lodgings wherever we ended up. Bad idea. It was race weekend in Bristol and Friday night in the mountains. We ended up driving all the way to Asheville and this was the only place we could find vacancy. It looked pretty cool with all the neon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello, We appreciate your business but don't appreciate the negative advertising. We are making lots of positive changes at our property this year, but it takes a lot of work to bring up a place that has suffered some serious financial blows. We are doing all that we can to make this place better and feel safer. We just need... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Rooms seem clean. The hotel is outdated but it adds to the charm. Feels like walking back in time. Staff is friendly and the breakfast was adequate. Pool was closed and there wasn't a chain lock to help keep the kids from escaping those were our only complaints

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Bless you! We are so thankful that someone is kind enough to give us a fair review. We are clean and we are safe and we are making big improvements every day. We are one of the state's oldest motels and we want to maintain as long as we can against the big corporate chains. It is NOT always easy!... More 

Trois-Rivières
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

I was really disapointed by this motel that I rented through Booking. I can't believe that I paid $99 for my room (weekend rates). The room was in shoudy condition (see photos). There was even a 1 inch space under the door. My room was non smoking while the room besides was smoking! Mine simply had a post-it on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello traveler, We are sorry you were disappointed in your accomodations here. We are a roof, a bed and a meal, and for Asheville, $99.00 on the weekends is still half of most other motels/hotels. We are not perfect by any means. We are a family owned business struggling to keep pace with the competition. We are constantly doing our... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile

Wouldn't ya know late check-in means higher rates. Only hotel left without reservations. On-line ad listed price at xx$ . Those rooms are full. Now the rate is xxxx$. The bed sheets had stains. (I pulled the cover back over so my Dad wouldn't see.) The carpet had pet urine and poop stains. The breakfast was OJ, coffee and doughnuts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry you were unhappy with your experience here. We are engaged in an intensive rehab to our facility, with regular carpet cleanings and new beds and linens. We are a family owned motel and we have had some set backs recently but we are continuing to make all efforts in improving our rooms in every regard. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

What a shame that this iconic (the neon sign) old motel, in my opinion, is filthy and poorly maintained. There is not much excuse to have dirty carpet, an HVAC that is visibly clogged with dust and a commode that hardly functions. The people in the office are personable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello recent guest, I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with your stay. It is a bit unfair of you to classify our establishment as filthy . We have a great team of housekeepers who do their best . Yes, it is true, that we have a few stains on some of our carpets. We do have some old AC... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

I don't even know where to begin. I literally gagged at the state of our room. I am surprised a Loch Ness sized roach did not devour us during our sleep. We wanted to stay cheap. I have spent much less on much nicer hotels. Let's start with the basics. Disgustingly unclean room. Dirt and dust in every corner. Remote... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , I am sorry for your experience with us, and am sorry you felt you needed to elaborate to such an extent. Truly, it sounds like a simple case of you being checked into a dirty room. Believe it or not, even some of the fanciest hotels' rooms are disgusting before the housekeepers can take care of them. We... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

First off, my friend got a rash on his face from sleeping on the floor. Second, there were cigarette burns on the towels and sheets. Also, one of my friends thought the bathroom smelled like his grandma(not a good thing). Let's put it this way, one of my friends didn't even shower because he didn't know if he would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , I am sorry that you felt our rooms were not up to sanitation standards. We actually have a satisfactory rating from the Health department . I , however, would never recommend sleeping on a floor, especially a motel room floor. We have a small but dedicated team of housekeepers, and I can assure you, they do a good... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#32 of 59 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay