We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountaineer Inn

155 Tunnel Rd., Asheville, NC 28805
Hotel amenities
Mountaineer Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    8
    19
    47
See reviews for
15
39
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
New Albany, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We checked in, and out about 20 minutes later. NO REFUNDS is posted everywhere, because the rooms are un-sanitary, and no decent person can sleep there. You would receive a rash or disease certainly. This place is a scam. The owner/manager makes money by cheap bookings and people immediately leave. We had to find/book another hotel and ended up spending... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

I don't even know where to begin. I literally gagged at the state of our room. I am surprised a Loch Ness sized roach did not devour us during our sleep. We wanted to stay cheap. I have spent much less on much nicer hotels. Let's start with the basics. Disgustingly unclean room. Dirt and dust in every corner. Remote... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , I am sorry for your experience with us, and am sorry you felt you needed to elaborate to such an extent. Truly, it sounds like a simple case of you being checked into a dirty room. Believe it or not, even some of the fanciest hotels' rooms are disgusting before the housekeepers can take care of them. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Asheville hotels

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

First off, my friend got a rash on his face from sleeping on the floor. Second, there were cigarette burns on the towels and sheets. Also, one of my friends thought the bathroom smelled like his grandma(not a good thing). Let's put it this way, one of my friends didn't even shower because he didn't know if he would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , I am sorry that you felt our rooms were not up to sanitation standards. We actually have a satisfactory rating from the Health department . I , however, would never recommend sleeping on a floor, especially a motel room floor. We have a small but dedicated team of housekeepers, and I can assure you, they do a good... More 

Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Close to downtown and cheap. On a busy road but it's in the city so.... Clean enough. Freindly enough. I would recommend it. We had a great time in Asheville and the price left us with a little extra spending money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, We appreciate your kind and concise review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and enjoyed the financial savings by staying with a vintage, local establishment rather than a chain! Please return! More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

The Mountaineer Inn was just an overnight stay for us on the way home from Knoxville. It was quiet and clean. The television only had one channel but since we were tired it didn't matter. The office staff was friendly and helpful. It is close to several eating establishments and the mall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, We thank you for you nice words about our property. I am so glad you found us to be satisfactory, and the staff pleasant. I apologize for the tv issue, we actually have multiple channels. We are very convenient to shopping and dining. Please return! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

Don't ever stay in this hotel unless you want to ruin your trip. It is extremely bad hotel.it is the worst hotel we have stayed in our lives...horrible hotel with everything outdated and the service is also hoorible.broken mirrors.lamps and it looks like a dump. .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello unhappy guest, I just want to apologize for your dissatisfaction with our facility. We are a "vintage" property, and do have our share of issues, but we always are willing to try to accommodate our guests anyway we can. Next time you are in an situation that makes you unhappy, please speak with the front office, and see if... More 

Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Room very outdated and old; I didn't want to touch the furniture because it looked so dirty and old. TV was ancient and looked like it was from my parents' childhood. Wifi had a low signal and was slow. There was a lot of noise outside and I didn't feel very safe at night. Bright light comes in the window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, I am reaching out to apologize and address your concerns. It is a fact that we are a very old property, but we do maintain a high degree of cleanliness in our rooms. I am sorry about the tub dripping. I am also sorry about the noise and light from outside. We are generally a very quiet... More 

Norfolk, Virginie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Well i was extremely surprised and disappointed. First, there was holes in the sheets. Then the cover are so old, you can see through them (literally). Third, the towels were so used that it did not wipe any water off me and my wife. In addition, there were only a poor little soap and a dinosaur TV. The curtains did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, I am sorry for your less than happy stay with us back in the fall. Yes, we are a very old property, but YES, we do maintain excellent standards of cleanliness. Sometimes, the old décor, and linens detract from that fact. I am sorry about the drapes, and will use this info to work on installing black... More 

Brasileia, AC
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
53 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

I could write a novel about what a dump this place is! If I were management / owner of this property I would be embarrassed. Every single aspect of this property is run-down, ancient, filthy dirty, and broken. As my Colombian wife said so eloquently, "poor is one thing, but there is no excuse for dirty!" There are two, fairly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , Many apologies for your unpleasant experience with us last fall. I understand that the age of this motel is rather offputting to some folks, but I have to assert, that cleanliness is not one of our issues. We may be a little dilapidated here and there, but we keep our rooms up to all sanitation codes, just like... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We checked in for one nite and morning 4th Oct 2014...could not take a morning shower...the tub would not drain..standing in water...asked for a discount,,the owner laughed and said what do you expect for cheap rates...would not accommodate us in any way...had the check out by eleven without showers or baths.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, I am sorry you did not have a good stay back in the fall. I am surprised by the manager's attitude. Generally speaking, if our room has a maintenance issue, that we cannot fix immediately for you, we will be happy to let you have a different room. Take care More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities