We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Asheville Green Cottage

GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
25 St. Dunstans Circle, Asheville, NC 28803
Special Price
10% off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Asheville Green Cottage
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    3
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Cottage is nice at first glance. But the house smells old and not at all fresh and cool as you would expect from a fragrance-free mountain home. It was closed up, hot, and musty. The first night I turned down the thermostat to cool things down and get rid of the stale air- only to wake to a nasty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The cottage is beautiful, CLEAN and tucked away in a secluded area. We only saw Vicki and Neeraj in the morning but that was just fine for us. We came and went as we pleased and felt comfortable in the cottage. The location is perfection. We will definitely stay again! (:

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

The house is old and was not built on high ground. As a result, it is moldy and made me get a terrible allergic reaction. Could not sleep as a result. Cannot recommend staying here. I was the only person staying there that night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicki S, Owner at Asheville Green Cottage, responded to this review

I am an Indoor Air Quality expert for over 30 years, and our house, crawl space and walls are bone dry. You are just plain wrong. What you did smell was the all natural "American Clay" product - it is earth - that absorbs ambient moisture - we have had high humidity - so that we do not have moisture... More 

Pocatello
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The location, in an historic area of Asheville, is secluded and private. This isn't a luxury bed and breakfast; it's charming and comfortable and "green". I felt so rested there, due partly to the wonderful bed and partly to the peacefulness of the setting and absence of television. There was always hot water for a bath as well as an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We were looking forward to our stay at the Asheville Green Cottage. The house had a musty smell as soon as we walked in the front door. The owners did not seem to be interested in their customers and made limited effort to interact with customers unless they had to. We saw no readily apparent information about local restaurants or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicki S, Owner at Asheville Green Cottage, responded to this review

We're not all good matches. We are experiencing an unfortunate trend that people who book our B&B because of our price point, and who do not understand, or appreciate, what "green and healthy" accommodations are, find our B&B different from other places they have stayed at. We pride ourselves in offering an uncluttered, more "zen" and relaxing place to stay,... More 

USA - NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

My partner and dog and I were on an 18 day trip from NH, driving down the east coast and then over and up the mountains. Asheville and the Green Cottage was our stop on day 14 and 15. We were enjoying B&B and hotel accommodations all along the way. The Green Cottage was well rated overall, and dog friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicki S, Owner at Asheville Green Cottage, responded to this review

We are seeing a trend that people who book our rooms because of our price point only, but with no familiarity with what "green and healthy accommodations," are, find that our B&B is not the typical style of B&B they have been to in the past. We pride ourselves, and get compliments on, how un-cluttered and relaxing our accommodation look... More 

Stans
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay with Vicki and Neeraj so much! They helped me with recommendations for everything, if it was for food, nightlife or other places to see in and around Asheville. Breakfast was absolutely delicious with fresh ingredients and whenever possible locally and/or organically grown, pure pleasure! The cottage is beautifully furnished and all the colors match perfectly, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had planned on staying two nights at the Green Cottage, but had such poor interactions with owner Ms. Schomer that we checked out at 11 PM on the first night. Upon arriving at 3:30 in the afternoon we found the Mediterranean Room we booked extremely musty. The windows were open but the room lacked any type of air circulation.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vicki S, Owner at Asheville Green Cottage, responded to this review

You forgot to tell the part about how you slammed the door in my face! We really don't know where to start with your long description of what basically was your discomfort with the air quality in the room. This particular room is the one that we have hundreds of folks with chemical sensitivities stay in because it has such... More 

Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Go anywhere else. We would have been treated better at a holiday inn. With the puppies keeping the owners busy, they have no time for taking care of guests. Had to go to a gas station for coffee and juice. Coffee served at 830-9am and muffins where store bought. Room was barely adequate and we had the expensive king size.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vicki S, Owner at Asheville Green Cottage, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unhappy staying with us. Our other guests have been thrilled to have been able to enjoy our Golden Retrievers puppies. Our policy to not offer early morning coffee service is quite intentional, to keep the B&B quiet for our guests - the vast majority - who want to relax and sleep in. You actually were... More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our 3 nights here in the India room. It was on the second floor and was plenty spacious. Our room had it's own window air conditioner and a box fan to help keep things cool. It also had a small desk, wicker love seat and luggage rack. Breakfast each morning was very good and the coffee was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
0.3 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#13 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn Asheville / Biltmore
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.7 mi away
Biltmore Village Lodge
Biltmore Village Lodge
#39 of 59 in Asheville
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities