We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

3.0 of 5 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    133
    47
    19
    10
See reviews for
72
124
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (314)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a girls weekend to celebrate my mother in law's cancer free report. My husband and I have stayed a few times in the past, and we enjoy the proximity to down town. I was really pleased to learn they now provide a shuttle to downtown. This is a great addition. We had a great celebration downtown and retired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our location. We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with a guest at our location. We take all issues regarding security very seriously. In this case, we operated within the strict guidelines given to our employees regarding these situations. We certainly understand that this is not... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Holiday Inn on Tunnel Road is a good hotel for a Holiday Inn but hard to find as it is located on a property actually behind Tunnel Road, near the Outback. I passed it several times at night. It is not really a downtown hotel though it is not far if you want to walk through the sketchy tunnel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We always appreciate feedback from our guests so we know what we can improve. We are actually the closest Holiday Inn to the downtown area of Asheville. Although we are 1.5 miles away from the center of downtown, we do offer a complimentary shuttle service available daily from... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A good hotel with good proximity to downtown area and I-240. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly throughout our stay. Also, decent proximity to restaurants, gas, and groceries. I would stay there again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to express how much you enjoyed staying with us. We are glad that you found our location convenient and welcoming and we certainly hope that you choose us again during your next visit to Asheville. More 

Goldsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While our two-day stay here was pleasant enough (hotel clean, staff helpful, fast and easy access to downtown Asheville, adjacent to several restaurants) we were surprised upon checking in to learn the hotel was charging us $50 a night for incidentals. A first for us at a Holiday Inn brand hotel. I could not locate anything on our reservation about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our location. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were able to assist you during your stay. Just to clarify our credit card hold policy, we do authorize our guest cards for an additional $50 per night hold. This is... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family of 4 stayed here for 1 night in November. The entire staff (front desk, cleaning, restaurant, bar) were friendly & helpful. Our room was clean & beds QUITE comfortable which are truly of utmost importance to us when we book a hotel. I also liked the layout of the room in terms of the mini frig, luggage rack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such an excellent review. We certainly appreciate detailed feedback so that we can continue to improve our services. We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience for breakfast. We certainly take all guest feedback regarding our services very seriously so that we can improve. We are... More 

Hammock near a river
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found this hotel to be clean and friendly. There is a lounge with tasty craft beers. The walk downtown through the tunnel is not bad provided you are in decent shape. Even with snow and ice the sidewalks remained passable. Nicer hotel than the Downtown Inn but much longer walk to downtown attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We checked in and was suppose to have two queen beds, but was given a room with a king bed. We went back down and requested a room with two queen beds, however there were none. We were upgraded to a suite, which worked out better because using the sofa bed gave us each our own room. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the GREAT review. We truly appreciate your staying with us. Our Holiday Inn & Suites Associates take great pride in not only meeting but exceeding the high expectations that our guests, IHG corporate and themselves expect to provide travelers staying at our hotel. Our friendly Front Desk Associates enjoy meeting each and every guest with a welcoming... More 

Statesville, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

With so many options in Asheville, I sadly regret that I stayed here! I booked a room in hopes that I would be close to downtown Asheville (as stated online) in a clean and safe hotel. Upon arrival, I found this to be quite the opposite. This hotel is no where near downtown Asheville, not to mention that it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

I normally respond to every TripAdvisor comment in a timely manner, but due to the interesting comments that you have published I took some time to research these questionable claims before posting a response. First, it seems that you had booked the room Thru a third party website and was a non refundable reservation, weather you stay at the hotel... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights to for "leaf peeking" in October 2014. Not too far from highway exit, BUT poor signage. Be sure to stay on South Tunnel - do not turn onto Tunnel. Has an Ouback, Cornerstone Grill (great!) and Crackle Barrel (I don't recommend C.B. for once). Great grocery store accros the street - Ingles! Makes a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of hotel. I am delighted that you found the accommodations clean and comfortable. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the traffic and the pool. While we cannot control the traffic, we can definitely keep a check on Chlorine levels in our pool. Unfortunately, there is not much we... More 

Anderson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I booked this hotel through Hotwire and thought we would be walking distance to downtown. This hotel is not walking distance to downtown. The breakfast is not included either. With all this, the staff was nice and the hotel is nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our Holiday Inn & Suites Associates take great pride in exceeding the high standards that IHG and our guests expect. We get many compliments on our complimentary shuttle service. When checking into the hotel our Front Desk Associates will assist with special rooming request if possible. Thanks again for choosing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Asheville

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay