We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

3.5 of 5 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza  Resort Asheville
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza  Resort Asheville
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    227
    174
    90
    55
See reviews for
147
238
25
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (656)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (233)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (205)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A booking nightmare (Travelocity!) was turned into a dreamy stay once Laurie, the manager of the property, came to our rescue. She spent a lot of time straightening out a problem that was no fault of the hotel. I imagined that a manager who works that hard before guests even arrive at the hotel must run a pretty amazing property... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelby, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We originally were put into building A. Our room was ok but our HBO wasn't working. The Maintenance man came but it was to no avail. So they moved us to building B. This building is much better. The beds are more plush. The views are of the golf course and not the parking lot. Our room 140 was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at this hotel a little less than a year ago and it was fine, we took advantage of their free shuttle to go out on the town. This time when we arrived, lots of construction was being done. The rooms looked renovated and redecorated. My favorite part was a little packet that had aromatherapy lotion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is going through a major construction which looks like it will take some time so beware if this will worry you, but it looks like they are offering some good rates in the mean time. The renovated sections are not open yet so my room was in the older section and it showed, however apart from a dated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to post your comments. We are under major renovations at this time. I do apologize that you had some issues during your stay. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with a great stay in the future. Shannon Mason Assistant General Manager More 

North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

CON - Extra Fees - We booked our hotel through Priceline, and were happy that it was close to downtown. I was disappointed that I had to pay an extra 15.00/nt fee for a King Bed Room for my wife and I. We've used Priceline before and have never been asked to pay an extra fee. I understand if the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Our renovations should be complete within a few months. I hope that you will plan on staying with us the next time you are in Asheville. Shannon Mason Assistant General Manager More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I attended a conference here last week weds-fri but booked a room through Sunday for a little mini vacation following work duties. The hotel was under major reconstruction (literally, they handed out earplugs at check in!) and the dining room and bar pictured and advertised were almost non existent (I.e. Small tables placed in conference rooms until reconstruction is complete...and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your comments as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a great... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Seriously disappointed ! This seems more so like a motel 6. Walls are paper thin , so at 1 am I'm up writing reviews due to the noise in room next to us . Hotel staff is a joke . Not helpful . The hotels main website does not state that the hotel is under construction and a complete mess... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your comments as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a great... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I should get major discount because of your major construction, I reserved hotel according to pictures on line. when I came I found mess. small area for setting, TV is so small. shuttle bus came late about one hour. alternative bar is very cheap, nothing attractive. you should have car to get hotel ........ Terrible

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to post your comments. We are undergoing major renovations at this time. I do apologize that you had some issues during your stay. We have posted information about our renovation on all booking outlets. However, we do not control their websites and how they are relaying the information. I sincerely hope that you will plan... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all, the photos of the hotel on their website will fool you. The hotel is old and outdated. There is construction going on and it’s difficult to locate the proper entrance. The rooms are old and they use paint to try and hide the many imperfections. As one other reviewer stated, there are stains on the carpets, large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The photos shown on our website were taken approximately a year ago. I do apologize if you felt misled. We are under a major renovation at this time and have posted this information to all booking outlets. We do have blackout curtains for all of our rooms. As for the noise issues, I have checked... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the price you really can't beat quality of this hotel. Has a somewhat rustic feel to it which fits nicely with the overall feel of Asheville. It would be easy to confuse this with being outdated but I think this is what they were going for. They are currently undergoing construction but don't let this hinder you from wanting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will certainly mention to my front desk manager that you had a bad experience at check-in. This is not our standard nor our norm. I do apologize for the rude behavior. Please stay with us again on your next visit to Asheville. Shannon Mason AGM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Address: 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay