We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 59 Asheville hotels

Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza  Resort Asheville
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
52%
Ranked #44 of 59 hotels in Asheville
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
amy e charlotte
  • Reviews (569)
  • Photos (175)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (105)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    190
    157
    79
    50
See reviews for
129
209
22
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We really enjoyed our stay- service was very friendly and loved all of the amenities for kids and families. So much to do, it's a great destination out of town. I think it just needs a little updating the carpet and some fixtures, but overall we were pleased. Golf course was in decent shape and worth the money for nine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I booked a room here on their reservation line. I confirmed the room with a credit card, but I never received my confirmation email. When I called today to make sure I had the reservation they of course didn't. They were not willing to honor my original rate and had no sympathy for the fact that I now have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity... More

Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is very outdated. I am not sure how it even became a Crown Plaza. Everything is old and even comes with this horrible air condition units that kicks on every five minutes to keep you awake all night long. The rooms are big and this one had a patio but it even smells old. There are much better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I coach a baseball team that booked this hotel through group services for a baseball tournament last weekend at a pricey $159 per night. We booked 12 rooms for two nights. Beginning on Friday morning, we learned that the tournament was canceled due to weather. I called the hotel at around 8:00 that morning. The front desk immediately transferred me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity... More

Lake Clarke Shores
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is an outdated, monstrous place in need of some help. The rooms are clean and comfortable and at $99 per night on Hotels.com a decent value, but in the end this is nothing more than average. I really like the location...the food from the restaurant was a joke...but if you need a clean, comfortable, cheap place...this is it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity... More

Bsg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

It is fresh and redone. The spa was top notch. We were going to play the 9 hole golf course but it rained. The food for breakfast was average as are all hotel breakfast. The rooms were roomy and the temple spa products are a real plus. The staff was good and the bartender in the new bar was so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and... More

Arvada, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a pretty nice hotel. The rooms were spacious, if not quiet (just a bit of noise coming through the walls which were pretty thin). I had a nice deck looking onto the 'ziplines'. In-room coffee/tea, tv, all the usual. Beds were comfortable. Attached is a pool, tennis center, and 9 hole golf course. I primarily stayed there because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and... More

Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights and were "upgraded" to a villa after the suite we were to be in was suddenly unavailable. The good: the location can't be beat. It's literally three minutes from downtown Asheville and is super easy to get in and out of, plus free parking. Check in and check out were fairly simple and quick. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No lobby. Poorly laid out hotel design. In need of multi million dollar renovation. The room itself was clean but to bill itself as a Resort is a misrepresentation in the extreme. I don't normally write reviews but this place was a major disappointment. Left early.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. At the end of this year we will be undergoing a major renovation. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as... More

Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I guess I should have worried when I bid for and got this hotel for a reasonable price on Priceline. Still, for $125 a night, I would have expected more. This hotel/resort may recently have been upgraded or renovated, but the work was shoddy. The old, tiny elevators looked like they hired the cheapest people they could find to put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Address: 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
274

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer