We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Gunnison hotels

Water Wheel Inn

37478 US Highway 50Po Box 882, Gunnison, CO 81230
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Water Wheel Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Water Wheel Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Gunnison
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014
50bdaycelebrant Denver, Colorado
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at this Inn because it was on the third green/fourth tee of the Dos Rios golf course, where we were playing in a tournament. The Inn has your typical motel-type accommodations (two double beds, desk, chairs, fridge, microwave, bathroom and shower). Easy to walk to the course, pick up a cart, come back to your room and grab all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Dear 50bdaycelebrant, We're glad that you enjoyed the location of our inn and that it was convenient for you as you golfed. We really enjoyed having all the tournament golfers in our hotel, as you were all so kind. The staff at the Water Wheel Inn looks forward to seeing you all next year! Sincerely, Water Wheel Inn Staff More

Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have been regularly staying at the Water Wheel Inn in the beautiful mountain country of Gunnison, Colorado since 2010, and have come to love the shaded and watered beauty of the motel and its location. The majestic cottonwoods and the next-door golf course only add to the charm of the well-appointed, quiet setting. The rooms are always clean, spacious,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Youngpeck, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Water Wheel Inn! Our staff works extremely hard to make everyone's stay relaxing and fulfilling. We are very happy that you enjoyed yourself and we hope to see you again any time you are passing through the mountains! Sincerely, Water Wheel Inn Staff More

Bella Vista, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had the pleasure of spending 5 weeks at the Waterwheel Inn. Never have we been treated better. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They actually went out of their way to accommodate our wishes. We have already made our temporary reservation for next year. Highly recommend this motel to anyone. I guarantee you will be pleased with this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Degreene1, Thank you so much for reviewing us! We loved having you guys here and it was always pleasant to see you around the lobby. We look forward to seeing you next year! Sincerely, Water Wheel Inn Staff More

Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Decent room, clean sheets, and friendly staff. The front desk folks helped literally find a decent restaurant where we had the best steaks. Only complaint was smell of nicotine in nonsmoking room. Otherwise very nice stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Low_Daniel09, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Water Wheel Inn! We do our best to employ staff who are knowledgeable about the area, including where to eat. We apologize for the smell of nicotine in the rooms, as you were in a non-smoking room; we try to eliminate any odors that come from... More

Amarillo, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Water Wheel Inn was a surprising find. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room was surprisingly spacious and comfortable. We had passed by this place on a couple of occasions and thought it might be a good place to try, and we were correct. Will definitely stay again next trip to Gunnison.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dalebert54, Thank you so much for taking time to review us! We're so happy you enjoyed your visit here and we look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Water Wheel Inn Staff More

Pueblo, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We always stay at the Water Wheel for our annual fishing trips...at least two or three times a year. The rooms are clean and the location is great. The only reason I didn't give it a five is that the lobby isn't open when we leave to go fishing...so no breakfast. Other than that it is fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Heavyrescue97, We are so happy that you have made the Water Wheel Inn your place to stay while you fish. We're sorry that you haven't been able to get breakfast in the morning. Next time you stay, mention what time you'll be leaving to go fishing. We try our best to accommodate all our guests and our morning staff... More

West Point, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stay at the Water Wheel when we come to Gunnison to visit our son who wrestles for Western State Colorado University. It's an older hotel, but the rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and accomodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Saseesal, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Water Wheel Inn More

Sierra Vista, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The reason I gave this place a 2 is because it is so absolutely quiet, and that's the only reason. The AC did not work and by the middle of the night, the room was a bit swampy. After showering the next morning, I noticed bites all over my stomach, neck, forehead and ears. BEDBUGS!! Try wearing a motorcycle helmet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you so much for bringing this problem to our attention. We are very sorry that you had such an unfortunate experience during your stay here. We assure you that we are taking this problem very seriously. As you know, bed bugs have been known to hitchhike into many different kinds of places: luxury hotels, theaters, restaurants, homes,... More

Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I came to run a race in Gunnison. I brought my dog. The accommodations were clean and pleasant. The staff went out of their way, including opening up the breakfast earlier in the morning to accommodate the runners. They even gave one runner a ride to the start of the race! Overall, a very good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WheelColorado, Marketing Coordinator at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Dear RunnerDee, We are so happy to hear that you were pleased with our hotel. We really enjoyed all the runners that stayed with us and we are always willing to support you guys no matter what. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Hannah Marketing Coordinator More

Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent last weekend at the Water Wheel Inn at Gunnison when we came up for my daughter's college graduation from Western State Colorado University and really enjoyed our stay here! We chose the Water Wheel Inn because they advertise that they are pet friendly and we have 2 dogs we were bringing with us for the weekend. Everyone was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WheelColorado, Marketing Coordinator at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Wyldecamp, Thank you for taking your time to review us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Water Wheel Inn! We look forward to seeing you and your two puppies again next time you are in Gunnison. Hannah Gibbs More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Water Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Wheel Inn

Address: 37478 US Highway 50Po Box 882, Gunnison, CO 81230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Water Wheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Wheel Hotel Gunnison
Water Wheel Gunnison

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay