We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hotel Redland

5 S. Flagler Avenue, Homestead, FL 33030
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hotel Redland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Hotel Redland
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    23
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
53
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Redland
See the most recent reviews
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Place was only moderately clean, nothing horrible but lots of room for attention to detail. The most unbelievable thing was that the sheets on the bed were thread-bare -- not completely through with holes but darned close. REALLY? -- you can't afford decent sheets for the price of the room?? We decided to eat in the restaurant, "waitress" completely forgot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review

The is the first time in our two years in operation that I have had to respond to such a review! I waited to speak with staff and get the facts before responding! From the moment you walked in to the Hotel you were rude and demeaning. Absolutely nothing satisfied you.. Our bartender gave you the red wine you ordered... More 

Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We booked a night here because other reviews sounded interesting. We like a change from the big-name chain hotels now and then. When we arrived we got off to a rough start. It was about 4PM Sunday and we couldn't find an open entrance door anywhere. When we called the hotel we got a recorded message from its restaurant which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great stay. Food reminds me of going to Grandmothers for an awesome Sunday lunch. Located in the middle of two National Parks. Great B&B that has been updated bit has kept its 109 history intact. The owner is very helpful and available. Great find.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights over New Years and appreciated finding this reasonably priced hotel so close to the Everglades. The decor is definitely Great Aunt Gladys fabulous, clean and homey. Mark kindly allowed us to borrow 2 collapsible chairs we found for our day trip to Key West. Breakfast was a basic and satisfactory continental breakfast. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our room was comfortable but was not cleaned at all the first night. Even when it was cleaned it did not appear to have been vacuumed. We did not receive a bath mat the second night. The owner explained to us that the good mats were in the laundry so rather than give us a ratty mat the cleaner decided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This historic hotel has the funky charm you would expect from a "designated historical site" in Homestead FL. Family owned, our host was gracious in getting us to our room and settled in. We selected this hotel because is was close to the Everglades and, as it turned out, "Robert is Here", which has the best milk-shakes in the world,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Hotel Redlands in between a visit to Key Largo and Everglades National Park. The rooms are clean, moderately sized and comfortable. The hotel has lots of historic charm. Breakfast was simple (coffee, orange juice, toast, fruit and some cereal). For the price of the room and what they're trying to be this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pelham, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This charming family hotel is on a quiet street in Homestead. Rooms were pleasant and clean. The hotel is an excellent value and has a nice welcoming atmosphere. Highly recommended. Breakfast is included in the room price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark B, Manager at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Redland. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We delight in customer satisfaction. Please stay with us again if you get back this way. Thank you for taking the time to post a review!! More 

Cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Redland and it is a great base for visiting Everglades. We had a warm welcome on arrival and staff were friendly throughout. Evening meal in Whistle Stop was fine and they had some decent beer (quite a rarity in the USA!) Just a couple of points that could be improved on..... -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with and for posting your review. I will definitely take your suggestions into consideration. We use all glass plates and bowls and only use styrofoam cups for the convenience of our patrons. I will definitely rethink this after reading your suggestion. Thanks again and if you get back to the US please stay with us again. More 

Liverpool, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked the hotel because of its proximity to the Everglades park entrance, on the strength of its many favourable reviews and interesting website and out of a desire to avoid chain hotels where possible. We had a warm welcome and were shown to our room - but the only thing said after that was as we left: "hope you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review. We are sorry you were only somewhat satisfied. Someone is always on sight to meet all your needs and requests. The continental breakfast is done as a courtesy and is complimentary and not meant to be a full breakfast. We have a generous supply of fresh fruit, bagels and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay