We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lazy Lizard International Hostel

Hotel website
1213 S. Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532
Lazy Lizard International Hostel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #25 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Moab
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Mary N Sydney, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    36
    35
    34
    17
    24
See reviews for
16
44
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The place was a bit hard to find in the dark... but I was very happy with my private room. Had a great night's sleep, even though there was a bit of an 'old' smell. Room was clean. Bathrooms were clean. However, no soap in the bathrooms (empty dispensers for the 3 days I was there). Also, no space in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

Darn, we have boxes of that soap to fill the dispensers with. I need to make little stickers that say, "Please advise the desk it this dispenser is out of soap." ( I'll probably ask the cleaners to check on it too. ) Yes, t is hard to keep up with all the food people leave in the refrigerators. We... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

They stole are food semelled horrible me and my mom have been to better hostels worst 3 days of my life dirty roten looked like the building was going to colapese right away before we got there we went to a museum and when we got to the hostel my mom said that we just came from the museum and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

Well I am just a little bit confused. Did somebody force you to stay here for three days? I don't believe that we have people guarding the doors to make sure that people don't leave. There was no reason you could not cancel your 2nd and 3rd nights. We would have been happy to give you a refund. I don't... More 

Travelers are raving about these Moab hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been coming to the Lazy Lizard Hostel for years, and never anything but wonderful! Sure its a hostel, but look at it my way...the place has personality. You go to some hotel, and everyone is suspicious of everyone else, locks their doors and doesn't make eye contact. Totally nuts. At the Lazy Lizard, everyone is engaging with everyone on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a private cabin in June. Room was basic but fine: a clean room, AC and comfy bed! Friendly and helpful staff and a relaxed vibe in the hostel. There is an outside bathroom with showers, obviously you'll find an insect or 2 but they're harmless! The only minus was the kitchen area and living room. It's a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got a private room for my family of 4. The record keeping is outdated and the guy checking us in was nice but a little too laid back. There was an enough room and the 2 shared bathrooms were clean. The AC was not performing well so we were warm much of the night. It is what it is.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry the air conditioning wasn't cool enough. This is usually something we can take care of if we know about it. Usually does fine. And yes, some of our record keeping is still on paper. But, how you be too laid back? More 

Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have never written a really negative review, but this place was so strange- it was comical. I have stayed at hostels all over Central/South America, Thailand and Australia and I am by no means a picky individual. We had been backpacking and camping for weeks and thought getting a cabin at a hostel along the way would be a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry about the delay in your refund. I looked into this and we did find the note with the phone number to call to get the credit card info for the refund. (we do not write these numbers down for security reasons.) As it turns out this was David's first day on the job. Another employee was with him the... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had read all the reviews of this property before determining that it would be an ok place for my Girl Scout troop to stay for one night before their river rafting trip in Moab. I had read that sometimes the sheets have hair balls on them and that everything is very old and worn out, but that it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

Stephanie, I am sincerely sorry that your girl got hurt on our property. I hope that it wasn't serious, that she was able to enjoy the rest of the trip and that you didn't have to alter or cancel any of your activities. I hope she's OK now. Although this may not be of any consolation to you, the porch... More 

Matthews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015 via mobile

We advise you not to go to the this hotel even though the price is cheap-it is nasty and a firetrap. We do not mind the humble hostel nature, but are incensed by the filth. Our bed was ok, but the air conditioner did not work well so we were warm most of the evening- and this in record high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

You are right. The air conditioning was not working properly. We did not notice this because it had been a very cool spring and we almost didn't need air conditioning. When summer hit the temperature shot up 20 or 30 degrees almost overnight. We noticed that the air conditioning wasn't working and replaced it with a brand new unit. It... More 

Collinsville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Booked a cabin, very Spartan, but acceptably comfortable. Double bunk beds, concrete floors, lamp, table, chair and bench. Bathroom and showers wear fairly primitive, we didn't check out the kitchen/food facilities. Location is behind a storage facility and Enterprise rent a car, a person needs their own wheels to get to this location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kailua, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Lazy Lizard is a very intriguing place, it's not for everyone, but if you have an open mind and are in Moab to have fun adventures, it could be a perfect place to stay. This is my second year of staying at Lazy Lizard, this time I stayed my entire trip there. Overall I knew what I was dealing with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you had a good stay and hope that you keep coming back. The only thing that I have to say about this review is that we highly highly discourage anyone from bringing in their own sleeping bags or bedding. This is the most common way for unwanted pests to be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
1.1 mi away
Apache Motel
Apache Motel
#31 of 35 in Moab
3.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Moab
Sleep Inn Moab
#21 of 35 in Moab
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
3.8 mi away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Archview RV Resort & Campground
0.9 mi away
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
13.0 mi away
Moab Under Canvas
Moab Under Canvas
#14 of 32 in Moab
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay