We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lazy Lizard International Hostel

Hotel website
1213 S. Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532
Lazy Lizard International Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #23 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Moab
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
LoveMrEd2 Collinsville, Oklahoma
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    35
    31
    17
    22
See reviews for
15
42
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had read all the reviews of this property before determining that it would be an ok place for my Girl Scout troop to stay for one night before their river rafting trip in Moab. I had read that sometimes the sheets have hair balls on them and that everything is very old and worn out, but that it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

Stephanie, I am sincerely sorry that your girl got hurt on our property. I hope that it wasn't serious, that she was able to enjoy the rest of the trip and that you didn't have to alter or cancel any of your activities. I hope she's OK now. Although this may not be of any consolation to you, the porch... More 

Matthews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We advise you not to go to the this hotel even though the price is cheap-it is nasty and a firetrap. We do not mind the humble hostel nature, but are incensed by the filth. Our bed was ok, but the air conditioner did not work well so we were warm most of the evening- and this in record high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

You are right. The air conditioning was not working properly. We did not notice this because it had been a very cool spring and we almost didn't need air conditioning. When summer hit the temperature shot up 20 or 30 degrees almost overnight. We noticed that the air conditioning wasn't working and replaced it with a brand new unit. It... More 

Travelers are raving about these Moab hotels

Collinsville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a cabin, very Spartan, but acceptably comfortable. Double bunk beds, concrete floors, lamp, table, chair and bench. Bathroom and showers wear fairly primitive, we didn't check out the kitchen/food facilities. Location is behind a storage facility and Enterprise rent a car, a person needs their own wheels to get to this location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kailua, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Lazy Lizard is a very intriguing place, it's not for everyone, but if you have an open mind and are in Moab to have fun adventures, it could be a perfect place to stay. This is my second year of staying at Lazy Lizard, this time I stayed my entire trip there. Overall I knew what I was dealing with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you had a good stay and hope that you keep coming back. The only thing that I have to say about this review is that we highly highly discourage anyone from bringing in their own sleeping bags or bedding. This is the most common way for unwanted pests to be... More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Boyfriend and I were doing a National-Parks tour around these states, and happened upon this hostel online. It was the first time I stayed at a hostel and it was exactly what I expected: a cool community of people sharing food/ideas/etc, and at a really great price. Moab is beautiful (the whole region is great) and the hostel is pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

I have booked a cabin room insted of it I got a dark room without window in very old and under all standards. Not only I was promised in email we can calmly arrive but also I was asurred they will give us what we ordered. Of course we had to pay in advance. So if you want to feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

First of all, let me say that we are very sorry for not having the accommodations that you booked. We take this very seriously and make every effort to give every guest exactly what they reserved, but occasionally we do make mistakes. Even the Lizard screws up sometimes. It is true that we do now charge a one-night deposit ahead... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Me and my husband stayed at the Hostel a couple of times, in between our climbing activities in Indian Creek. Lizard is all about the friendly and informal atmosphere, which I appreciated very much. Plus great quality for more than reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
McCall, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

I stayed at the lizard for a solid week in february on a climbing trip; it has a great community vibe and it's in Moab. Also the lazy lizard is super low price with a lot of great amenities like a hot shower, comfy bed and friendly staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

I commend the staff (gentleman at the front desk was very kind) for being helpful and sociable. We crashed here recently during our Moab visit. Pros: safe parking, room to grill outside, laundry machines for $1 each, inexpensive cons: laundry didn't get dry in the dryer, bathrooms were not very clean (mostly guys there that night), hairs all over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

This Lazy Lizard gives you a lot of options for a great price: camp on the property, dorm bunks, private rooms, and self-catering kitchen. You will meet a lot of interesting people- international adventurers, and mountain wanderers who use the backpackers as a base camp. We searched for the place because it is part of the setting (under a different... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

Becky, I am familiar with Lena Roy's book "Edges". She was kind enough to send me a copy. Sorry I didn't get the chance to discuss it with you. I guess I need to pass the book around to the staff. Glad you liked your stay. Scott More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay