We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Harpers Ferry B&Bs / inns

Teahorse B&B / Hostel

1312 W. Washington St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Hotel amenities
Teahorse B&B / Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here and spent a great night and got a shuttle to our start point and hiked our way back and greatly enjoyed the showers after 5 days in the woods... the breakfasts are great and the owner is a super nice lady... I will definitely keep this place in mind next time I come through...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

As some have mentioned, this is a place where the line is blurred between B&B and hostel. But what it's categorized as doesn't really matter to me. Laurel was an awesome hostess. The remarks about the coldness are unwarranted. I tend to think that says something more about the reviewer than about Laurel. A lot of interesting people in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed at the Teahorse for a week in March. Since this is off-season for the Appalachian Trail, there were several nights I had the multi-bunk room to myself. The couple of other guests who stayed were pleasant and fun to talk to. I went to Shepherdstown each day to do research in Robert C. Byrd's papers. Laurel was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Locust Grove, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Ultra clean and ultra surprised at my first hostel experience. Laurel was a wonderful hostess , breakfast chef, and new friend. Best value I could ever imagine.I will return and send my friends. The breakfast was waffles and fruit and ready as soon as I got up.The computer available for guests was great for keeping up with friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nebo, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Can’t say enough good things about Laurel’s place. She is a marvelous hostess and runs a great establishment. A welcome oasis along the Appalachian Trail, just off the trail in town, close to amenities, and just plain outstanding. Bunk rooms are clean, well outfitted lounge, Wi-Fi access, and plenty of hot water in the shower! You got to love this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I'm shocked to read about people finding Laurel to be cold and unwelcoming, it makes me think that they were unwilling to start a real conversation with her. Not only was Laurel (the owner of the Teahorse) accommodating and polite with us, 2 muddy bikers who showed up without reservations late in the evening, but she spent her morning chatting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at Teahorse Hostel. The proprietor, Laurel, was prompt with answering the phone and responding to email when I booked beforehand. The hostel is easy to miss because the sign isn't very big. That said, once you do find it, life is good: the hostel is clean, they accept credit cards, there are laundry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have read the couple of comments about a 'cold' welcome. Not the Tea Horse Hostel, I know. Two of us stayed here, Easter 2012, when the Town Mill Hotel was full. We turned up at the door and were made very welcome. The owner made us tea and the next morning came up to our room to cook us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

You're just a number here at the Teahorse Hostel. The guests that stay here are super sweet and devoted hikers but don't expect a warm welcome from the owner. I arrived at the hostel hot and tired and was disappointed with the welcome I received. I paid for my two night stay was given the combination number for the bunk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review

When the hostel is full, it is difficult to offer personal attention to each guest. I am sorry you were disappointed. More

FL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I look at reviews like the one I'm about to type and say, "There's always an outlier." We came off the AT after 11 days and staying at two other hostels along the way. We chose to stay here because of other reviews and because it had a vacancy. "Welcoming" is not a word that comes to my mind, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review

Yes, our guests wash out their own plate, silverware and cup following breakfast - this is in sync with usual hostel rules. No one has ever complained about it or made a sarcastic comment about it. At $32 plus tax per person for bed, shower and waffle breakfast, we feel we offer an exceptional bargain in Harpers Ferry. Hikers frequently... More

Been to Teahorse B&B / Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teahorse B&B / Hostel

Address: 1312 W. Washington St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teahorse Hostel - we are a B&B and hostel for hikers on the AT, bicyclists on the C&O towpath, and other visitors to Harpers Ferry. Rent by the room or rent by the bed. Rest in our spotless hostel, take a shower, meet other hikers and bicyclists, cook your own food in the kitchen or dine in nearby restaurants. * Located one half mile west from the Appalachian Trail Conservancy in Harpers Ferry * Waffle breakfast included! * Fully equipped kitchen * Laundry ($5 per load - we supply detergent) * Common area * Wi-Fi and computer with internet free to guests * Outside patio * Two blocks from 7-11 * Locked storage for bikes * Parking behind the hostel * mail drops- free to guests; $2 per package otherwise * ask about shuttles in DC/MD/VA/PA/WV area * sorry, no pets or smoking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teahorse B&B / Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Teahorse B&B / Hostel to your Saves list