We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Rittenhouse Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
301 Rittenhouse Ave., Bayfield, WI 54814
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Rittenhouse Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Over priced, breakfast was good, dinner was terrible. If you have money to burn stay, otherwise try something else. Perhaps I just don't get into old places. If you think antiques in the room, a fireplace that you can't use, a small library with nothing of interest is just the THING, then here it is. Not so much for me.

Helpful?
Thank Dan B
MN or UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I planned a weekend away without kids and Old Rittenhouse Inn was spectacular. It is a beautiful old building with a well kept and clean historic decor. Our room had an amazing view of the lake. I wasn't totally clear when I booked it if breakfast was included, and it was. The breakfast was table service that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Guesswho8thecake
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I got married at the Rittenhouse this winter. The ceremony was at Le Chateau, which was beautiful! And dinner at the Inn was fabulous! We wanted a small, intimate wedding with our family and Rittenhouse made this happen! We would highly recommend the Rittenhouse for dining, vacationing or for having a wedding!

Helpful?
Thank pinstro10
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to have been part of your special day. Weddings are such an important moment in peoples' lives. We feel a genuine responsibility to take extra care in the preparation and details to make sure everything goes well on that special day. Thank you for holding your event at Old Rittenhouse Inn... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful we stayed at the Chateau The place was perfect our room was beautiful The staff and service was very accommodating The breakfasts was very good. We were there for New Years Eve gourmet dinner and it was beyond expectations.

Helpful?
Thank Michele H
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your comments and are happy you enjoyed your stay. One of our core goals at Old Rittenhouse Inn is to exceed customer expectations. It is always very rewarding to hear we succeeded in that goal. Thanks again for taking time to share your Five-Star experience on Trip Advisor. More 

Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

We've been staying at Rittenhouse properties for the Wassail Dinner for nearly 30 years. We like staying in the Chateau Boutin, and found it the welcoming Victorian manse that it always has been. We were disappointed by the lack of real wood for the fires in the downstairs area. In place of the real wood that was provided a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank gtroutman
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review

The review is spot on regarding the main reasons we switched from "real wood" fires to environmentally friendly "firelogs" about ten years ago. Real wood fires are both messy and risky (as our insurance carrier told us many times). We are doing everything we can to ensure the safety of our guests and the environment. At the same time, we... More 

Fond du Lac, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Not only was the Old Rittenhouse Inn a beautiful Victorian B&B but we were served a full breakfast in a beautiful dining room. The food was above and beyond our expectations including a special event luncheon we attended; a Wassail Concert. The concert was definitely a big hit with a wonderful group of singers. Being the Christmas season, the Inn... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rose S
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review

We are very thankful for your review and pleased that you enjoyed your time at Old Rittenhouse Inn. The holidays are a special time to visit, and we especially love creating food, music, and the perfect atmosphere with which to celebrate time with loved ones. We'd love to see you back at the Inn next summer so you can experience... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

A stay at Old Rittenhouse has been on my bucket list for several years. This past weekend I was able to check it off my list. The accommodations were impeccable. Very spacious room, exceptionally clean and well appointed. A last minute reservation for the Wassail luncheon on Saturday only added to the experience. What a way to celebrate the Christmas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane S
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Old Rittenhouse Inn's accommodations and our Wassail Concerts. Each year we look forward to the Christmas season. We love it all: the decorating, the food and music, the camaraderie of friends and family, and of course, the 20' Concolor Fir Christmas tree. We are so happy you were here to enjoy it all with... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

We have visited the Inn several times enjoying a variety of rooms and seasons. Each room is decorated in Victorian style. Renovations create quirky spaces for bathroom and closets. It all works. Several room have wonderful views of Lake Superior. Staff is always helpful finding car dealerships, spa, apple orchards and more. There is plenty to do in the area.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review

Let us express gratitude for this thoughtful and thorough review. One of our goals at Old Rittenhouse Inn is to share these historic buildings (with all their quirks and inconsistencies) with the traveling public. In this way, we maintain and preserve the buildings for future generations while providing a service to our customers. Another of our goals is to provide... More 

Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

For a Christmas present I took my sister in laws and mother in law to the Rittenhouse's Wassail Luncheon concert. I had enjoyed their Wassail dinner concerts in the past, but this was my family's first time to this festive treat. The atmosphere is beautifully Victorian. The voices of the singers were fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed Jerry's leadership of... More 

Helpful?
Thank karril2013
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us for Wassail and sharing your review! We are so pleased you could be with us at this special time of year, and look forward to your return. Warm regards, Mark and Wendy More 

Cudahy, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

We drove from Milwaukee to Bayfield on the Friday after Thanksgiving for some R&R. Spent a lovely couple of days at the Rittenhouse Inn, and stayed in the cozy Moroccan room. From the minute we walked through the door, we received a warm welcome and found the entire staff to be friendly and accommodating. The town is quiet this time... More 

Helpful?
Thank schultziegirl
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review

We love guests who appreciate that the "shoulder seasons" are still a great time to visit Old Rittenhouse Inn and Bayfield, WI. The pace slows down, but there are so many things to see and do during these times of year. Thank you for review, we are grateful that you enjoyed our food, accommodations and staff. We look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (101)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
14.0 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#2 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
16.5 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
10.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pinehurst Inn
Pinehurst Inn
#4 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay