We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island View Inn and Cottages

86720 Island View Lane, Bayfield, WI 54814
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Island View Inn and Cottages
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the first time I have ever given a 5 star rating. I am very picky and have high standards. I have never stayed at a bb and have to say I was a little worried about staying at a bb- would the food be worth it, is the view really as nice as it is in the picture,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Island view B&B combines simplicity, elegance and taste, in the most fantastic and peaceful setting. Our suite was so charming with special attention to details, fresh cut flowers in every room & impeccable bedding. We sat on our private deck watching the sailboats go by the islands. What a view! So peaceful & so relaxing. Our breakfast tray was brought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

The Island View is now known as a B & B and Cottages and is nestled in the woods, yet only 4-5 minutes from Bayfield. Also very near fruit orchards. Outstanding, creative breakfasts. Felt welcome as soon as we arrived. Nicely appointed, spacious cottage and beautiful view of the lake. We won't stay anywhere else when we return to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked the Fedora Suite for Memorial Day weekend. The view was gorgeous with a private view of Madeline Island. There were multiple fire pits and a path to a small beach, which was really nice. Valerie is super nice and is very knowledgeable with recommendations for things to do while visiting. She recently took ownership of the place and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Innkeeper-Mark, General Manager at Island View Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guest and happy to read you enjoyed your stay. Island View has undergone changes in management since your visit. I hope to see you this year! Happy Travels, M. Andrew More 

Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here Memorial Day weekend and was blown away by how much Valerie went above and beyond to make our stay a great one. Everything from the room, to view, to breakfast was put together amazingly to make the trip a special one. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innkeeper-Mark, General Manager at Island View Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guest and happy to read you enjoyed your stay. Island View has undergone changes in management since your visit. I hope to see you this year! Happy Travels, M. Andrew More 

madison, wi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Reading the some of the previous reviews, i am shocked. On the contrary, my experience at this beautiful lodge was a good one. We had a comfortable room, that was quite homey. It definetly did not feel like a generic hotel room. Wonderful views of the lake, and the islands near by. I loved that it was tucked away in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper-Mark, General Manager at Island View Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guest and happy to read you enjoyed your stay. Island View has undergone changes in management since your visit. I hope to see you this year! Happy Travels, M. Andrew More 

Poplar Grove, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

They sure are letting this place go. It's sad that such a nice property is falling apart like it is. Also it's nothing some yard work, trimming, paint, stain, cleaning products and laundry detergent wouldn't fix. They simply don't appreciate the property or the people that come to spend their one week off per year. Don't boast about being more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeeper-Mark, General Manager at Island View Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guest, and in your case we failed. I like to apologize for the experience you had. Island View has undergone changes in management since your visit. I invite you to give us another chance. If... More 

Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked a room at Island View in Bayfield WI for four nights. One of the things Island View boasts about is the "full breakfast delivered to your suite in a covered basket at 8:30 AM". On another page of their website they state a "Gourmet breakfast utilizing local foods", which implies the breakfast is skillfully prepared using high-quality or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeeper-Mark, General Manager at Island View Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guest, and in your case we failed. I like to apologize for the experience you had. Island View has undergone changes in management since your visit. I invite you to give us another chance. If... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I just spent a great weekend here, the breakfast was perfect and they found me an awesome boat captain to tour the islands with. Highly recommend this as a place to stay in bayfield!!! Their commitment to making your vacation as enjoyable as possible is top notch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper-Mark, General Manager at Island View Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guest and happy to read you enjoyed your stay. Island View has undergone changes in management since your visit. I hope to see you this year! Happy Travels, M. Andrew More 

Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We just returned from a stay at one of the detached cottages........the Madeline. Clean and well furnished. Breakfast was great, but could be delivered earlier. On our arrival no one was there to greet us.......we called the "emergency" number and were told that the keys were hanging on the board to let ourselves in. They offer chairs to sit and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeeper-Mark, General Manager at Island View Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guest, and in your case we failed. I like to apologize for the experience you had. Island View has undergone changes in management since your visit. I invite you to give us another chance. If... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
17.9 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
16.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
15.2 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#2 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#6 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
1.5 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pinehurst Inn
Pinehurst Inn
#3 of 15 in Bayfield
5.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities