We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1940 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Ramada Limited San Francisco/By the Bay)
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #203 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Add Photo

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    4
    11
    17
    18
    26
See reviews for
22
18
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Visalia, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location for filming a horror movie. Noisy, awful wifi , tv didn't work even with staff working on it, phone did not work also, was able to use handicap parking because of my wife otherwise drive around the neighborhood looking for space. I travel a great deal and can find a comfortable bed anywhere which it was but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Our price is fair market value for the hotels in our area and San Francisco can be very expensive. We understand that you were very unhappy with your stay and we understand that everyone has a level of comfort and we have let you down. We wish you the best in your future travels. More 

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Visalia, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Way too expensive for a crappy hotel. Limited parking is first come first serve. No ground floor rooms, the first floor is up a very steep flight of stairs. Not for handicap persons. Refrigerator and microwave was not in room had to request them. TV didn't work, phone didn't work, carpet was frayed and needs replacing, skimpy continental breakfast, noisy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, we will forward this info on. We cannot imagine that these things are not working in our rooms as we rent them out and these are amenities that are used regularly, however we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We have alerted the general manager and will be doing a site check of the hotel... More 

Long Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One would be better off paying a few extra dollars to stay at a better property down the road. Wifi was horrible. Parking extremely limited. Breakfast below standard. Staff lack kindness or even a smile. Rooms need new carpeting and better soundproofing. Completely dissatisfied with this stay.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, we will forward this on and we understand that everyone has a level of comfort and we apologize for missing the mark. Our rates are at the same level of the hotels in our price range and it is fair market value for this area We wish you the best in your travels. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Might as well have stayed at a Motel 6. Crappy carpet. Average coffee. Complicated TV. Spa tub non-functional. Crap breakfast. Small pillows. No parking. Enough said! Do I really need to say more? Oh, wifi is worst I have ever experienced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Thank you for he feedback we will forward it onto the owners. We are a limited service hotel and try to keep a comfortable hotel, however we understand that everyone has a level of comfort and we obviously let you down and for that we apologize. We wish you the best in your travels. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Did not ask the right questions during reservation. Parking is free but the garage is very small. Street parking is also limited. Second day of stay, the front desk was calling each room around 8am looking for driver who park and blocked several cars in the garage. No rooms at street level and no elevators! Breakfast was poorest we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, we will forward this on and we appreciate your patronage. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

[ ...Let me start by saying its hard to find cheap accommodation in San Francisco! We looked online and everywhere we found within our budget was around the Tenderloin area, which I can only describe as awful and best avoided!! ...] It was therefore a great relief to find this motel which seemed to be in a much nicer, safer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Thank you we appreciate the feedback, we do have a good location near many interesting sites in the City and you are correct parking can be tough, as you mentioned the bust stop is right near us and many do use this rather than drive. We thank you for your patronage and I apologize regarding your towel, the amount of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

This hotel seems to have quite a negative reputation. Was quite gross and unhygienic. Felt like we wanted to sleep in our clothes! Bathroom was alright size and had all of the essential amenities. I wouldn't bother with the breakfast, just head out and find some of your own in the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. Good luck in your travels. More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Had to go to San Francisco to acquire a visa for travel, wanted something less expensive than some of the $200/night rooms I was seeing online. Price was right. Reviews were sketchy. Office help were pleasant. Overall appearance of premises was tidy. Room was good sized. Location to restaurants and groceries was great! However, linens on bed were torn. Bedspread... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate it and will forward your info. about furniture and overall appearance. Good luck in your travels and thank you for your patronage! More 

County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in April, booked on Hotwire and got a good deal. $135 for two people for two nights. Free parking was brilliant considering parking is so expensive in San Fran. Bike shop across the road from the motel which was handy. Also has a shop up the street and gas station. Great Location, near the bridge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

We could not have said it better, from our location to free parking and free Wifi and free breakfast etc.. you are spot on. Thank you so much for the kind words, and we hope that you come back and stay with us again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Marina District

Neighborhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighborhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay