We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Good Hotel

GreenLeadersSilver level
112 Seventh Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Hotel Britton)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Good Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Good Hotel
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    110
    139
    65
    35
See reviews for
40
143
35
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (384)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (133)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (119)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just two nights, but very nice localisation. Not so modern, but nice. Good value for money. Bit noisy, room from the street side, but no bother. Just two minutes to the iconic cable car. I like it, but just for one, two night, to see SF.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fi D, Thank you for posting your thoughts on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with The Good Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your experience with our hotel and truly appreciate that you provided an honest and warm opinion. We hope to accommodate you again in the future. Sincerely, Christina Cosby More 

Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The concept of this place is really cool – almost everything is recycled and they're very environmentally conscious. I love it. However – it just doesn't quite work. This place needs some serious renovation/modernization. We were placed in the 'motel' area of the hotel – an entirely separate building. The walls were thin, making it very cold at night, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucy S, Thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations regarding thin walls and the shower. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I needed a hotel in SF and all the usual suspects were either full or gouging, this hotel was no different. Read the reviews, saw the website, so I decided to take a chance. Well, all I can say it that the pictures on the website were probably what it looked like when it was new. The carpets were dirty,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear George H, Thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations. We understand the frustration you must of felt and have contacted each department to address the areas of concern that you have highlighted. We thank you for your feedback... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

I want to send a BIG thanks to the Good hotel (staff working the morning of 4/21) for going out of their way and letting my group check in a little early. You made my life so much easier. The front desk staff is knowledgeable and kind and the hotel is very environmentally friendly. I loved the courtyard room :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Crystal, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review with the TripAdvisor community. We are thrilled you enjoyed our eco friendly approach. We enjoyed meeting you and your group and are happy we could accommodate you all. Our associates pride themselves on their customer service skills and will be glad to hear that you appreciated their attentiveness. Thank... More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

The affordability and it's location are its main points. It's within walking distance to Union Square and pretty accessible to elsewhere as well. If you have a car rental, they have parking which is a plus within San Francisco. The rooms were clean and functional, nothing to shout about; though I suspect that they try to put in lively colours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Toshikiou, Thank you for sharing your kind review about The Carriage Inn with the TripAdvisor community. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our accommodations and friendly staff. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We stayed at the Good Hotel from March 19 to the 24th. We did not make a reservation to go to Alcatraz, and Lilly helped us get the only two tickets left to go there on Sunday. She also recommended us the best places to visit in San Francisco and gave us some valuable information. She was absolutely kind and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear Cynthia G, Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at The Good Hotel. We are delighted that you were overall pleased with our accommodations and service provided by our staff. Especially, Lilly rising star in our hotel family. I'm happy to hear you were able to visit Alcatraz and that you had a great time in... More 

Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We needed to quickly fly to San Francisco to visit an embassy to get a VISA. The embassy didn't respond, and not wanting to make a trip if we couldn't get in, my husband called local businesses. The Good Hotel had Melissa , who sympathized with us and put us in contact with Lilly. Lilly took her lunch break to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear byepuss, Thank you so much for the detailed and amazing review about your recent stay at the Good Hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us, and that Lily and Ashley are doing an incredible job to assist our guest at the Good Hotel and you find our amenities and services to your liking. I will be... More 

Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I stayed here for just one night and it did the job. For the price, it was decent and the room appeared to be pretty clean and in good shape. I was lucky enough to get a room in the back portion where it was pretty quiet although I did get woken up by a couple of people talking at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mario0007, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies about the lobby restrooms being under repair, they are under construction for remodeling. We understand the frustration you felt and have contacted each department to address the comments you have provided. We are happy you... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

My stay at the Good hotel, was just as expected by the name. GOOD. the room was very nicely sized and bathroom was huge. Granted I was given a handicap accessible room which tend to be a little larger. The business center was not what expected since I had to go across the street to a sister hotel. The neighborhood... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ramon C, Thank you for sharing your kind review about The Carriage Inn with the TripAdvisor community. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room and décor. We do apologize about the inconvenience of the business center. We are currently working on making the center at the Good Hotel more accessible to all guests. Your business is very important... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I and my coworkers stayed at the Good Hotel January 18-24 for a business trip. It was booked due to it's location to an event we were hosting and the pleasant pictures here & on their site. We will never stay here again and recommend that no one else does either. First the positives: They do have free bicycles for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris P, Thank you for the review about your recent stay at the Good Hotel and for giving us your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

408 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Other (23)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (282)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Courtyard Room (85)
Viewed
Family Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in SoMa

Neighborhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighborhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighborhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay