We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 236 San Francisco hotels

The Good Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Seventh Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Hotel Britton)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Good Hotel to your Saves list
The Good Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
44%
Ranked #163 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
spierces Seal Beach, Ca
  • Reviews (312)
  • Photos (391)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (57)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    96
    109
    47
    29
See reviews for
34
120
27
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is clean, simple decor, green. Over priced for the area. Desk clerks are helpful. Parking is a rip at $30 per day. Don't forget to add that on. Also, remember your earplugs. I didn't understand all the photo booth photos? What's that all about? It's different?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend were recommended this hotel by a travel agent. The hotel itself is clean and basic but overpriced. We paid the same amount for a 4* hotel in NYC!! The travel agent forgot to tell us that once you walk out of your room you are falling over homeless people who beg you for money. On an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Straighttothepoint88, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Good Hotel. We are happy that your room met your expectations. It is unfortunate that you felt the rates were unsuitable our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central... More

Ramat Gan, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

TINY ROOMS. Stained carpet. Dirty blankets. Noisy. Parking is 30$. No free parking around. All the facilities are practically in the Best Western Americania across the street (parking, fitness center, meals - not complimentary - and even wifi) so you might as well just stay there. Got this room through a Priceline name-your-price. It was waaaaay too expensive for what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Haoneg, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Good Hotel. We understand how frustrating it must have been for you that we were unable to meet your expectations and offer our apologies. Many of our rooms come in various sizes and configurations we apologize that the room you had... More

Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel then saw all the bad reviews. When we arrived we were a bit put off by all the passport photos stuck to the wall,the reception was more like a youth hostel. We were however given a room across the courtyard from the main hotel which was quiet and very clean. The staff were very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jill A, Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, the service of our staff, and appreciate your candid insight about our surrounding area. Your review I'm sure... More

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice, quite and clean hotel. Location good for all places in SF (link to BART, walking almost to everywhere). Next to bus stop to airport (20min ride). The rooms have nice decoration. Friendly staff, ready to help you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Georgios B, We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us at The Good Hotel and the Trip Advisor community. I am pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and service! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco, thanks again! Kind Regards, Kathleen Sheridan Front... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arriving at the Civic Center for the first time was daunting, and arriving at the Good Hotel really was a life saver! Though our room didnt look anything like their professional photos on the website (we ended up being put in a room in an outside block?!), we felt safe and secure, the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Hi SFtraveller49er, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, our services and the hospitality of our friendly staff. We certainly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on with us and the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next... More

South australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on the 17 th we were not advised of a $34- parking fee , the girl in the office showed us the small print the next morning ! We have been travelling from LA for 10 days prior and had not paid previously . It's a ripoff ! In.my opinion and the street below was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Tony H, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies for the situations you encountered during your stay and that our services did not meet your expectations. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than favorable impression about our hotel and... More

seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I've stayed here many times over the past five years, as I travel to San Fran for business. I've been less satisfied with every visit. The prices keep going up, and the services continue to go down, including the friendliness of the staff. I agree with other reviews about the noise level. I always ask for a room with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Hello lisajilk, I do apologize that we fell short of your overall expectations; our staff does continuously aim for outstanding customer service. We understand the frustration you felt and have addressed with each department the comments you have provided. We thank you for your feedback and do hope that you are willing to give us another chance as we are... More

Pompano Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel as it was recommended by a conference organizer in the city. Website looks good and pictures portray a euro-setting. Upon arrival I felt like I was going into my first year college dorm or worse, a student hostel. This might be fine for certain people, but it certainly did not meet my expectations. I checked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Hello billhanifin, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies that we did not meet your expectations. If I can assist you in anyway I am at your service. Please give me a call at 415-626-0200. Sincerely, Kathleen Sheridan Front Desk Supervisor The Good Hotel More

Boulder, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Second time here, and less happy this time. Stayed in the courtyard instead of the main building, and I wouldn't recommend it. Walls and windows are so thin you can hear every conversation within a block! Plus, the restaurant was closed for renovations!! Courtyard rooms are not nearly as dirty as some other reviewers are claiming.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Celeste2070, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your review of your recent stay at the Good Hotel. We apologize that your second time at the hotel was not up to your expectations. We thank you for continuing to choose the Good Hotel as a place to stay in San Francisco and we would love the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Good Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Good Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Good Hotel

Address: 112 Seventh Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Hotel Britton)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Good Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your The Good Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Hotel San Francisco

391 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (282)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Courtyard Room (85)
Viewed
Family Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district of downtown San Francisco, the Good Hotel has 117-rooms and is intended to be the first hotel with a conscience by taking a green approach to design that inspires the "good in us all." Renew, Reuse, Relax!Guest rooms feature sustainable products and materials such as 100% reclaimed wood bed frames, bed linens and light fixtures made from recycled water bottles, and our "sink positive" installations; all designed to be environmentally friendly.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
79

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer