We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Good Hotel

GreenLeadersSilver level
112 Seventh Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Hotel Britton)
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Good Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Horseheads, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

The room is very small, there are stains on the walls, noisy as the walls are thin, toilet flush was not working properly. The was a bad odor in the corridors all the time. You definitely can find better hotels with the same price in the same neighborhood, I do not recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
3 Thank Omid E
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Omid E, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with the Good Hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies in regards to the cleanliness of your room. We understand the frustration you felt and have contacted each department to address the comments you have provided. Sincerely, Christina Cosby More 

Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

The room is a good size and clean. The location is good, close to Market street, within walking distance to the convention center. However the room is very basic, there is no table but only a stand to set the computer, so not a place to stay if you plan to work a lot in the room. In addition, they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helena9504
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helena9504, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with the Good Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be very convenient to all of the main attractions. We do apologize regarding the shampoo and conditioner dispensers, we will make sure to look into that issue. Sincerely,... More 

Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

Basically what I wrote as a title. You are very close to Union Square and Market St where you can easily get to public transport. The rest is very poor. The rooms have minimal services, no fridge, awful tv quality, small bathroom, low pressure water. No gym and no restaurant, neither room service. Additionally I arrived late in the evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank FabrizioCantoni
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FabrizioCantoni, Thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are sincerely sorry about how you were treated upon check in, no one deserves that type of treatment. We understand the frustration you must have felt and have contacted... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015 via mobile

We asked for extra pillows three times & housekeeping never brought them. They said sorry and that was all. Lousy service. The bed was so uncomfortable and small for 2 people. Then they want you to pay $35 for a $200 hotel room. Way Over-priced for what you get.

Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ashley S, Thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations in regards to the speediness of our services. We thank you for your feedback and do hope that you are willing to give us and Good Hotel another chance... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

Spent three nights here and thank goodness we were out a lot. Our room was very small and dark and the view was a wall on a roof. Though generally clean the carpets were badly stained. There was a nasty smell most the time. Staff friendly and helpful. Location ideal for all areas and taxi fares very reasonable. 10 dollars... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Victoria, Thank you for the review about your recent stay at the Good Hotel and for giving us your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve,... More 

West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

Room was minimalist but big. Small bathroom and even smaller shower. I'm a small person and I felt a little clausterphobic. Lots of stains on the carpet in the hallways not very appealing. All in all an ok value for a room near all the attractions.

Helpful?
Thank JOHN M
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John M, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

Very friendly and professional staff, and very easy on the wallet! Was very comfortable with my two night stay here, and it was easily accessible to local transit links and sights! Would definitely recommend!

Helpful?
Thank D E G
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DEG, We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us at The Good Hotel and the Trip Advisor community. I am pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and service! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco, thanks again! Sincerely, Christina Cosby More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

Stayed in july 2015 for 3 nights.The hotel looked ok in the pictures but the neighburhood was very bad.A lot of junkies and homeless people.Human exrements and garbage on the street outside the hotel.Went for Mexican food nearby and was harassed by a agressiv man trying to pick a fight with me in front of my sixyear old and wife.Shame... More 

Helpful?
Thank ralsom
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ralsom, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with the Good Hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies that your impression of the Good Hotel did not meet your expectations. We understand the frustration you felt and have contacted each department to address the comments you have provided. The Soma neighborhood... More 

Mougins, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

Terrible hotel, rooms, and neighborhood. Staff is not nice, lot of insects in the room. A lot of noise. Air conditioning were leaking. We booked 3 nights but we prefered to pay a second hotel because we could not sleep at all... I do not recommend it, they don't make any effort.

Helpful?
Thank Ilham H
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ilham H, Thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations. We understand the frustration you must of felt and have contacted each department to address the areas of concern that you have highlighted. We thank you for your feedback... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

Hotel was clean, friendly staff and standard amenities. No coffee maker in room but available in foyer every morning. The area it is in though means you walk to the main sites at your own risk. We did walk around in the day but caught taxis at night. Even then it probably wasn't the best idea walking in the day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elbur1
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elbur1, Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. The Soma neighborhood like most of San Francisco is in a large urban metropolis filled with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

420 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (129)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (282)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Courtyard Room (85)
Viewed
Family Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#101 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#165 of 234 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
SoMa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
#141 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#107 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#145 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighborhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighborhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighborhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay