We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greenwich Inn

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
3201 Steiner Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Greenwich Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    50
    60
    23
    30
See reviews for
28
83
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (169)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok, so I don't know what other reviewers are complaining about, wasn't bothered by noise, and Golden State won the championship while we were there yet somehow we were able to drown out any well deserved galavanting with a bathroom fan. This inn deserves 4 stars because it felt safe, and an excellent location and bargain given the cost of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerDM, Manager at Greenwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear paulyw170, Thank you for the 4 star rating! We are thrilled you had a positive experience with us. We love that you appreciated our location and parking. We apologize about the sink in your bathroom and hope it didn't cause you any inconvenience. Please come stay with us again when the Warriors are in the championship next year (or... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last minute we were looking for a place to stay and we ran across this one. The receptionists were very nice and helpful. They have free parking and free wifi which came in handy. We stayed 3 nights and it was a very pleasant stay. It is good for the price compared to other places. So if you want something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerDM, Manager at Greenwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear vkittenn, Thank you for your review. We love to hear that you had a pleasant stay! We sincerely apologize about the problem with your shower. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention so we can address the issue. In the future, please feel free to tell us about any issues with your room and we will relocate you.... More 

Leksand, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

I was worried and curious at the same time when I booked and prepaid this Motel. Perfect location at half the price of anything else in town, no matter where. Now when I'm here, I agree that it's a little bit noisy from the streets outside, that we miss both AC and breakfast, but... the noise is just normal for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shropshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

we stayed 2 nights and where given a disabled room which was very roomy ,it was cleaned well ,shower head broken so had to hold over our heads ,great location and free parking , manager was really friendly giving tips ect ..only issue was his noisy children ! if u are running a hotel u have to respect paying guests... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

The Greenwich Inn has a nice location near The Pier and AT&T Park (Go Giants!) The rooms are pretty small but clean. Wich is all you need when you'r out all day anyway. The Inn has free parking spots, but they are quite small so some people where not able to park their car the way so that everyone had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Good points: the location was perfect for our stay, and a short bus ride away from all the sights (Walgreens sell 3 day and weekly passes) The neighbourhood felt really safe, and free parking was a bonus. The room was also clean and WiFi was okay. Shower was modern too. Bad points: we were in a room right by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Just the facts: 1.We reserved and paid for 2 queen sized beds, got 2 terrible, unsupported full size beds that barely fit in the room. 2.Vent in the entry door blocked none of the noise from the street and the hotel. 3. Hooker knocked on our door at 2am looking for Julian (whomever that is) 4. Bathroom door didn't lock.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Beware of room 20. This is the room with the weird vent on the door. So noisy and cold because you can't close it. Holes in sheets. Grimy, old and dirty. You are desperate if you stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sacramento
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Just the facts: 1. No central heat and no air at all. 2. Bathroom door did not latch or lock 3. No exhaust fan or window in bathroom 4. Cigarettes burns and stains in carpet 5. Microwave left in room was broken 6. Vent in outside door is unable to shut 7. Noisy motor running at night 8. Old and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Stayed here for 6 days. Location is very good, right in the marina and cow hollow area which has many good restaurants and bars. MUNI stops right around the corner. The hotel and room are pretty run down. Old and and show signs of wear and tear. Tv made a weird noise. No AC, just heater(which also makes noise). Beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn Lombard Street
Days Inn Lombard Street
#150 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Marina District
No photo provided
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near...
#179 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#157 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Country Hearth Inn San Francisco
Country Hearth Inn San Francisco
#142 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Marina District
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#117 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Marina District
Americas Best Value Inn Golden Gate
Americas Best Value Inn Golden G...
#152 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighborhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighborhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay