We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Remo Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

668 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    298
    261
    74
    26
    9
See reviews for
89
280
73
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (668)
  • Mar-May only
    (173)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (223)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (179)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (93)
All months
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This isn't a hostel but you do have to share restrooms and showers. The facilities were well-kept and clean. Cleaning staff seemed to be omnipresent (especially in the morning) making sure that the bathrooms were kept tidy and that clean towels were always available. The rooms are quite small but you're not planning on spending all of your time in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for 4 nights, including Sat 4 July, as the first part of our Californian road trip - coming from England. I would say that this hotel is exactly as described on their website and in most of the reviews here, generally the people giving negative feedback about not having their own bathroom etc., have not done their homework!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved this place. We wanted somewhere central and the location was perfect. The staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi was good. We were unsure about the shared bathrooms but they were spotless and we never had to wait. Liked the Victorian feel and the art work/decoration. Bed was really comfy. There was always coffee and tea and water available.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I called their reservation number and unfortunately they are booked the days we'll be in town. But I wanted to give them a shout-out anyway, because the guy who answered the phone was so nice. Great customer service and helpful tips on finding a place to stay - even though I wasn't a paying customer and won't be staying there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your phone reservation experience. We are blessed with a wonderful staff, but mainly with many loyal and new guests, who book as far as 3 months in advance. A good way to keep in touch with the San Remo Hotel or hear about our specials and offers, is by... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was traveling through California and changed 6 hotels. This hotel was the most expensive, the smallest room and one bathroom for the level. There was horrible smell in the hotel and in the restaurant below, bed was extremely small and not comfortable at all. There was one single bed and one double bed in the room and around 30-35... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. The San Remo Hotel may not have been the right choice for you. It is a fact that the rooms are on the small side, as this historic building is over 100 years old. It is important to keep in mind that San Francisco is... More 

London
Level Contributor
862 reviews
252 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is great value for money. Our room was homey and it was nice staying in a historic hotel. It's a short ten minute walk for the ferry to Alcatraz which was convenient. Communal showers and toilets were spotlessly clean. Our room was quiet and we slept well. Receptionist was friendly and helpful. We used uber to get us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We love to hear our guests find our historic hotel to be in a good location at a good price. As an interesting point, Alcatraz now offers Night Tours, which are limited to just a few visitors per evening, so you could start your excursion right from the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and a friend stayed here on the last leg of our 6 week American adventure for 3 nights. When we arrived the first receptionist was quite short and boderline rude however the manager took over (Gutted I can't remember his name) and he could not have been more helpful. We had a few conversations with him and he was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments and feedback. Our staff are well-trained and expected to help our guests above and beyond, just like Kenley (our manager) did. We will look into the front desk staff you mentioned, as we are in the hospitality business and expect the best from our staff. Besides being close to many famous attractions, our... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was situated in the best location. Unfortunately we didn't realise we had planned our trip for one of the busiest weekends in San Francisco so therefore prices were through the roof. I wish I stumbled across this place earlier. It was a 10 minute walk at most to Fisherman's Wharf and parallel to Powell Street, which if you're... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CChevaili, Guest Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

The San Remo Hotel owners and staff members sincerely apologize for this rude behavior by “one of their own”. What you described is totally unacceptable at any time. Apparently the staff member momentarily forgot that we are in the hospitality business. We will be looking into who was so rude to you. It is certainly not the owners policy to... More 

London, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked the penthouse for 4 nights over the 4th July weekend 2015 (5th July was my husband's 50th Birthday). We were not disappointed!!! The rustic room on the roof was lovely and cosy and the decking areas were great spaces to chill, after our 14 day road trip. The staff were friendly and informative. I would highly recommend the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations! We are very happy that you were able to spend an important birthday in our Penthouse. The Penthouse is very special and gets booked months in advance. Throughout the years sometimes you can hear the sea lions barking all the way from Fisherman’s Wharf. From the terrace you can also enjoy the view of Coit Tower and the top... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a couple of days during a long trip around the US. First thing to be aware of is that this is not your average cookie-cutter hotel. It feels much more like staying at your grandmother's house together with a whole lot of other guests. The hotel has no private bathrooms and no elevator, but neither of these factors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you stayed with us. If you are not a fan of cookie-cutter hotels we are the right place for you. We know we are different and that is our trademark, we find most of our guests are seasoned travelers who like to discover different places that will keep them refreshed and inspired. Hope to welcome back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

586 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (230)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
2:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (232)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Corner Double Room with Shared Bathroom (Sink in Room) (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Shared Bathroom (Interior View) (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Shared Bathroom (Sink in Room) (21)
Viewed
Double Room with Wardrobe and Shared Bathroom (Interior View) (15)
Viewed
Double Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (Interior View) (16)
Viewed
Double Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (Sink in Room) (18)
Viewed
Double Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (Street View) (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#15 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,107 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#83 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,757 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#88 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman'...
#62 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in North Beach / Telegraph Hill

Neighborhood Profile
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
The aroma of freshly roasted coffee beans, the sounds of opera, and the sights of the romantic Italian ristorante come together to create the charming neighborhood of North Beach, once the stomping grounds for the Beatnik Generation. Although parts of North Beach are known for nightlife that’s not always suitable for younger visitors, few neighborhoods in the city exude as much European charm and style. Peruse a bookstore for the literature of Kerouac, Ferlinghetti and Ginsberg, grab some gelato and head to Washington Square for a perfect afternoon of people watching. Just east of North Beach, the hills and staircases of Telegraph Hill are a unique delight. At its peak, the art deco Coit Tower provides sweeping panoramic views of the bay and city. The beautifully landscaped Filbert Street Steps, a street too steep for a roadway, rewards those willing to hike uphill. Keep your ears open and you might even hear the squawk of the wild parrots who call this neighborhood home.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay