We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Opal San Francisco

Hotel website
Hotel packages
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Opal San Francisco
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

921 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My children and I stayed At the Opal in August 2015. I must commend the staff for being very helpful. From arranging car rental, giving directions and recommending restaurants, they were always happy to assist. Bus service conveniently located just by the hotel just in case you don't want to make the trek to the pier on foot. Breakfast is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helene L
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My conference was cancelled at the last minute so I needed a quick place for a reasonable rate. As advertised, it is old but it did it's job. The rooms were clean and provides adequate space. We were obviously not here for the hotel so it was perfect for our stay. Reasonable walk to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caitlin C
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was traveling for two weeks and stopped in San Francisco for three nights. When traveling I always look for location, free Wi-Fi and free breakfast. This place is perfect for that especially when on a budget. The towels where soft, the toiletries where amazing, the beds were comfortable and the pillows were perfect. (I can't stand to soft of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany S
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This disgusting hotel has nothing special about it, and if you are staying in San Fransisco for quite a while I do NOT recommend staying here. My room was not nice and my brother and I wouldn't sleep underneath the sheets because it stunk. It smells like a hospital and looks like one too. When you walk outside, you don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shalene1221
Tony F, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Shalene1221, Thank you for your feedback. Although I do regret that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us. I will look into the different points you brought up and share it with my team. If you would like to try us again or provide additional information from your recent stay, please feel free to contact me... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had gotten in to San Francisco late in a he evening after a road trip from LA. Exhausted and without accommodation for the night we searched several sites and came up with the opal. Although onsite parking was a bit expensive, the actual hotel was rather cheap! The rooms were clean and neat with a very nice hot shower!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony B
Tony F, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Tony B, I've made that L.A. to S.F. drive myself and it can be exhausting. A clean room and a nice hot shower is indeed a nice welcome after such a trip. Thank you for trying our hotel. I'm glad you thought we were all in all a bit of a find. Best regards Tony Fernandez General Manager More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Opal Hotel has a couple of positives, one being a friendly staff seriously concerned about security and the other, helpful maintenance personnel. I learned about the latter when I tried to cool down my 83.5 degree F room. I did have a choice, low 60's vs. 83.5. I followed the instructions to manually operate the thermostat but no such... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard V
Tony F, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Richard V, I apologize that a large amount was authorized on your debit card without your initial knowledge. When a payment card is given upon check in, we typically do alert our guests that our payment system won't differentiate between a debit card and a traditional credit card when going out for an authorization. However we should have done... More 

Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved it here. So old world charm. Close enough to walk to Union Square, but need to catch a local bus(fares very cheap) down to Fishermans Wharf. The staff were very nice, ample complimentary breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Lollies_11
Tony F, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Lollies_11, Thank you for your kind support. Please do stay with us again when you visit San Francisco on your next trip back. Best regards, Tony Fernandez General Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a hole!!! I have never been to a place worse then this and bob and I travel on a budget... The room stunk like a hospital and the lift was broken down for some of the time. It was totally overpriced for what it was... I would highly not recommend this place and would not stay here again...

Helpful?
1 Thank Kev1221
Tony F, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Kev1221, I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your usual expectations. Our elevators are well maintained and regularly inspected per local and state requirements. In the event a mechanical issue does occur, our elevator company typically do respond in a timely manner to get it up and running. Again I regret this occurred during your particular stay.... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

For those going to San Francisco soon discover hotel sticker shock especially when a convention is in town. But even without these peak periods, with its packed like sardine buildings and a high number of tourists in such a small area, hotel prices can be relatively high compared to other cities. The Opal offered a reasonable rate and despite being... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David L
Tony F, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review

Dear David L, You are correct. San Francisco can get expensive real quick if you don't look for the best value and budget accordingly. But I am glad you were able to find us and take full advantage of what we are able to offer. Our rooms are very clean, well maintained, and comfortable. And the hotel itself is centrally... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights here at the start of a trip, the hotel is OK. Rooms are spacious and clean with comfy beds. The staff weren't very helpful and the whole place is in need of some TLC. The breakfast is varied and alright but nothing special, mainly coffee, bagels and cereal. The bed was really comfy though the toilet... More 

Helpful?
Thank AbbilC
Tony F, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review

Dear AbbilC, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your stay experience. I do wish our team could have been more helpful to you during your stay. They are young and energetic and usually are more friendlier and helpful than described. So I do apologize that they weren't more so during your stay. But I am delighted that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

312 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (195)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Double Double Room (22)
Viewed
King Room (23)
Viewed
King Room (with City Views) (32)
Viewed
Queen Room (27)
Viewed
Superior Suite (25)
Viewed
Superior Suite (with City Views) (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#100 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,937 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#76 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Union Square
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#133 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,863 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#12 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay