We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Whitcomb

1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
Add Photo Write a Review

1,921 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    384
    548
    506
    291
    192
See reviews for
298
595
186
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1921)
  • Mar-May only
    (503)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (557)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (513)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (348)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I had to see it to believe it . I had heard of homeless problem and it is close to hotel . If made me afraid to go out at night! The people at the hotel are friendly and there is security but it makes you want to run away !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I visited this hotel in june 2015 for 2 nights, we had a room with 2 queensize beds. The beds are too soft to sleep in, it feels like quicksand, you will go deeper and deeper in the bed. And if you go with a car you must pay 38 USD for 1 night. That was a surprise for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at Hotel Whitcomb for an overnight in the city last week. I've stayed at dozens of hotels in San Francisco over the years and have a good understanding of value in this city. And unfortunately, San Francisco has gotten to be an extremely expensive place to seek out a comfortable pillow for the night. That said, Hotel Whitcomb... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Cozyotter, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are pleased that you found us and decided to stay. We love to hear that our guests had a great sleep and that the staff was welcoming and the room was clean. Thank You Again. Kris Betz, Director of Operations More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed with a bunch of women at hotel whitcomb last weekend for a bachelorette party. The hotel was a financial disaster. When we checked in the clerk told us that they weren't going to honor our price quoted from Expedia. There was a 100 difference from the quote we paid for to hold the rooms. We weren't in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear DianeNClifford, We thank you for taking the time to share your experience. First let me apologize for your disappointing experience. Since I spoke with a member of your party on the phone a few days ago I am waiting on a reply as to the rate you disagree with. As for the other issues you mentioned I have shared... More 

East Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived early around 9 in the morning. Room was not ready and check in time is 3pm we said to the clerk if its possible to store our luggages. Clerk said one moment and got hold of a manager to have a room ready for us! Wow. Manager offered breakfast while room was being cleaned. Within 45 minutes our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Sunil J, Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We are so glad you chose to stay with us. We love that you had a great experience with our friendly staff and hope that you will stay with us each time you are in SF. Thank You Again. Kris Betz, Director of Operations More 

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived on a Monday evening after a trip of 17 hours from the UK to be told that the restaurant is closed on a Monday. There are no tea/ coffee facilities in the rooms. There was a Starbucks just off the lobby. When we went in there was a person with mental health issues causing mayhem. We decided to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Lynn D, Thank you for taking the time to post these comments about your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a coffee maker in the room. We do have them available at the guests request. If you do find yourself on this side of the pond again please give us another try and contact... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I love this hotel we started staying here in 2005 I love coming back for pride! The hotel is beautiful and charming the staff was amazing lots of memories made here. The rooms are fairly priced and they are clean and comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear DBejarano1029, Thank you for staying with us again to celebrate PRIDE 2015. We are honored to be your hotel of choice for these celebrations each year. We hope to see you again next year also. Thank You Again. Kris Betz, Director of Operations More 

Sacramento
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It's expensive for the rooms you get but still, the place was fully booked. Bad things first - we had a room with two beds in it and it was pretty cramped. I brought a little coffee maker like I always do when I travel and there was no place to plug it in near a desk or cabinet so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear ArtistPaul, Thank you for staying with us over the PRIDE weekend. We love that we are able to accommodate so many people from so many backgrounds. We have listed to your comments and we will do all we can to improve those areas. If you decide to stay with us again please contact me personally to handle your reservation.... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a great time at Hotel Whitcomb! Check in was easy, and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. The hotel in centrally located, right across from the Orpheum theatre. Great location for the SF Pride parade!

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Anne A, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are all pleased that you had a great stay and hope that you will stay with us again next time you travel from Atlanta. Thank You Again. Kris Betz, Director of Operations More 

3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

after arriving in America after flying first class from London I did some travelling and ended up in san fran, a beautiful city with a real soul. the hotel was a nice hotel, very grand reception area which is a little bit of a false hope to be real with the reader. the location is okay its on market street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Hello Anders R, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time in beautiful SF. We do understand that the rooms and bathrooms are not as spacious as some locations around the world so we do understand. Thank you also for the story about the "Ferrari in my... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

528 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (402)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (126)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (104)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (116)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (6)
Viewed
Superior Guestroom (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in SoMa

Neighborhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighborhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighborhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay