We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 236 San Francisco hotels

Hotel Whitcomb

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Whitcomb to your Saves list
Hotel Whitcomb
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
54%
Ranked #144 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Dthekidd
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,512)
  • Photos (403)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (216)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    446
    396
    224
    133
See reviews for
244
456
157
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I spent a week at this hotel and found the location a real challenge, yes there are a lot of homeless people but the city in General has a lot of homeless people especially on side streets and even at the piers. If you walk with purpose they don't bother you. The problem I found is that you are an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked through Trailfinders and, unusually for us, did not review any of the hotels on Trip Advisor before travelling. The hotel is quite faded elegance, in need of some TLC, but is basically satisfactory. It is convenient for the BART and Trolley system, however, the surrounding area is a magnet for people sleeping rough and nearby theatreland is almost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenhaven, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was rated as a 3.5 star by one of the hotel sites that don't tell you the hotel until you purchase. I will never do that again. The Whitcomb had very poor valet parking, small rooms and in a slummy area. This hotel is lucky to make a 1.5 rating in my book. The staff was not very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel with no prior knowledge except reviews found online, some which were good and some not so good. We found it very convenient and fairly quiet but extremely convenient to public transportation which was a consideration. We rode the BART from the airport right to the front door and back again. We used the subway once and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Whitcomb and for posting your feedback about your stay. We are pleased that you were met with our courteous staff and that the location was ideal for your trip. We do hope that you keep us in mind if you should return to SF. Thanks Again. Kris Betz, Director... More

Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all what they charge a night is insane for what it is. The ONLY up side is there is a trolly and Bart train within steps of the hotel. I feel like with the steep prices they are charging more maintenance could be done to the rooms. The rooms are quite small and the bathroom is even smaller.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I would like to personally speak to you about the the comments in the posting as we take those very seriously. I will investigate to ensure that these reports are addressed. Thank you in advance. Kris Betz, Director of Operations More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The service was good, however I wouldn't stay there again. I didn't feel safe outside of the hotel due to the large numbers of homeless people outside. The room was average and not the cleanest. Apparently my travel agent had stayed there before so we stayed based on her recommendation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your posting and for your your time to let us know your thoughts. We appreciate all the comments our guests provide as it allows us to better server our customers in the future. We want all our guests to feel safe and comfortable so we take steps for everyone at the hotel to feel that... More

Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Woke up at six am and found bed bugs in my sheets.... Needless to say I was appalled. The manager refunded my night and I went to another hotel that was much better. The room could have been charming with its high ceilings and cosy feel but the air conditioner being obscenely loud ruined it. It was not very clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. However I am disappointed to hear your claims. We want you to know that we take these very seriously and we have taken several actions to prevent such activity. I would like to reach out to you and get more information so that we can address this claim as soon as possible. Please... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am all about staying at a landmark hotel but there are minimum standards that should be met for your guests. The hotel was rather dirty and looked like it had not been tended to. The location was decent, not close to anything but walkable to anywhere we needed to go. I would not recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. We are disappointed to hear these comments. We will look into your details and work at making improvements as we always try and do with guest feedback. Thank you. Kris Betz, Director of Operations More

Aurora, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were directed around to the laneway behind the hotel to valet parking. The laneway was jammed with cars parked haphazardly while a bewildered looking valet searched in a bucket for keys to a customer's car. Having to carefully maneuver our vehicle so the other customer could exit, we were left jammed up behind another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We have listened to these comments and make changes already to our valet procedures. We have Our goal is to have the best possible experience from the time you arrive to departure in all areas when you stay with us. We appreciate these comments as it allows... More

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is not modern and it's classic architecture is lost in a layer of dust. I imagine because it's difficult to clean. I'm certain our bathroom is from the fifties and the shower is not up to standard at all. Staff are okay, not amazing, just okay. One guy has such a bad grasp of the English language it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts with us. We have listened to your comments and made our staff aware so that they can be more aware of the perception of our valued customers. Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss your stay further. Thank you. Kris Betz, Director of Operations More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Whitcomb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

403 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (278)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (80)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (116)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (6)
Viewed
Superior Guestroom (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
460

See which rooms travelers prefer