We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 236 San Francisco hotels

Powell Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel amenities
Powell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Powell Hotel to your Saves list
50%
Ranked #165 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Anne R Crewkerne, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    228
    165
    105
    91
See reviews for
100
234
68
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (692)
  • Mar-May only
    (147)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (214)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (192)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (139)
All months
Thirsk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We opted to stay at the Powell as part of our trip to the US despite reading TripAdvisor. What a disappointment, this I have to say is one of the worst hotels I have stayed at in the US. The room was dark, poorly decorated. The Lamp was broken, smoke detector was hanging off the wall. No Chair or Coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crewkerne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Powell Hotel San Francisco for 2 nights. She is an elderly lady and could probably do with refurbishing. However you get a continental breakfast in the morning and a happy hour drink in the evening for free. the location is right on the street trolley terminus but you don't really hear the noise. if you are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

Anne R- Thank you for choosing to stay at the Powell during your time in San Fran. There will be lots of refurbishing to take place starting very soon. If you happen to return to the bay area in the future, we encourage you to return to us for a much different perspective. More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and would advise finding somewhere better. The room was small, grubby, noisy and worst of all the bed was awful to sleep on. I have never known of any half decent hotel to use an open coil mattresses for there beds. As a Hotel, a good night sleep should always be a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

JeffOJeff- We understand that our hotel is not a perfect fit for every traveler, but many guests greatly value our excellent price proposition and location in the heart of it all. We sincerely apologize for the experience that you had as it is not indicative of the service that we strive to provide to all of our guests. There are... More

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Powell is like a lovely old lady - she has seen better days but is now a bit shabby around the edges - however, we had a lovely room on the 6th floor which was quiet - no view though but we didn't mind that as we were going to be out and about during the days anyway. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

SuJones007- Thank you for your honest comments. We are about to give this "lovely old lady" a major face-lift while preserving the historic elements throughout the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the quiet room on the 6th floor. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip across the pond! More

Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing great. Nothing terribly bad. Not a chain hotel by any means and is dated. It's comparable to some of the old time vintage boutiques in NYC. Good location. Service is good. It is noises and dated. I'd spend more money and stay at the parc 55

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

spls76- Thank you for your review. Our hotel is not perfect by any means, but we work hard to accommodate our guests with our central location, affordable price point and friendly reception. There will be major improvements happening in the next couple months, and hope you will return to us for a much different perspective next time! More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been in this hotel twice, the rooms are ok, the breakfast is kind a poor but ok. The best thing in this hotel is the location. Is very close to the Union Square, in front of the Cable Car, near from the Westfield Mall, Maycs, Gap, all the stores.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

FabiaMT- Thank you for acknowledging our convenient location near all the great stores and Cable Car turnaround. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel location is great. Rooms are a little dated but in good condition. Staff are nice and friendly we requested a room with a view of the cable cars which turned out to be too noisy to sleep next morning we told the desk clerk and we were given a very nice room which was quiet. They had our cases... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

Sammeg21- Thank you for choosing to stay at the Powell Hotel! We are glad that our service and location exceeded expectations during your stay. It is always a good feeling to know that you didn't have to lift a finger to relocate guest rooms. More

Somerset, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel rooms were small,dated, no view ,noisey, and unacceptable in this day and age,not a good start to our holiday , the position was the best thing . Breakfast was donuts,coffee, seating was very limited and cramped and no organisation what so ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

Dawn B- We are a historic hotel located in the heart of San Francisco built back in 1908 - one of the first buildings rebuilt after the Earthquake in 1906. We have some exciting renovations coming in the new year and we hope you will give us another try. More

Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first stop on a coach tour of the National Parks. Having read the other reviews, I would agree that the room was a little dated BUT the bed was comfortable, the room was big enough (given that this is a city centre hotel), the sanitary fittings were very clean and the location was perfect. I would agree... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

Liz M. - We are happy that you enjoyed our comfortable bedding, central location, and excellent service. Glad you appreciated the adjacent Bellini Cafe during your recent stay. More

Solihull, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just visited the powell hotel and have go to say, I am suprised at some of the negative reviews. The hotel is in a fantastic location, less than 5 minutes walk from union square - in addition, the cable cars are located right outside the door. The free happy hour in the hotel was a welcomed Surprise and much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KokuaHospitality, Manager at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your experience Chris D. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back again soon! The Powell Hotel Team More

Do you own or manage Powell Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Powell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Cable car(16)
  • Union square(5)
  • Very clean(3)

Additional Information about Powell Hotel

Address: 28 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Powell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Powell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powell San Francisco
Powell Hotel San Francisco

181 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (176)
Viewed
Room/suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay