We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 236 San Francisco hotels

Powell Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel amenities
Powell Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Powell Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #165 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Lausifer Gibraltar
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    235
    180
    111
    94
See reviews for
105
247
69
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (724)
  • Mar-May only
    (147)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (214)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (224)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (139)
All months
Gibraltar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On location, the Powell cannot be faulted. Perfectly placed just a short walk from Union Square and with easy access to buses and trams from Market St, the hotel's location is its USP. Service was generally good, however the complimentary continental breakfast consisted of a few doughnuts and pastries (no toast, butter, jam, jelly) and tea and coffee served in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you need to stay in Union Square or near Moscone, but don't want to pay a fortune, this place will suffice. It is an old property, with one elevator not functioning, and with layers and layers of paint on the doors and window frames. Aside from a strange bathroom arrangement and no light in the walk-in closet, the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Powell Hotel in September through our Virgin holiday.The location was good, but the Hotel itself was pretty dire. Our room was so small with 2 single beds with a shared bedside cabinet between the beds ,nowhere to put our cases , no tea/coffee making facilities,complimentary breakfast was awful served on a little balcony i think it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

321DEE- Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at the Powell over your holiday break. We regret if the guest room layout did not meet expectations during your stay. At this time, we only offer a light continental fare for our guests, however, there are plenty of full-service restaurants nearby that serve full breakfasts. There will be many... More

Windsor, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Right next to the Cable Car turnaround this is a great location. In an old building the rooms are cozy but fine if you don't plan on hanging out in them. I like the old time feel but everything that needs to be modern is. Like the bathroom fixtures. Post Street is noisy but fun to view. The noise died... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

Scapperdan- Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location, historic charm, and comfortable guest room. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon! More

Singapore
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

rooms are decent. Clean. Basic. It's small no doubt. But location is really good. Just few steps from BART. Entrance right next to SEPHORA. We are two girls and carrying our heavy bags, so the location really helps. The cable car turntable is there too. It's kind of noisy as our rooms at on the second level. Anyway, we chose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

cola480- Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our close proximity to the BART station, cable car turnaround, and Sephora. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon! More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is OK. Clean, decent wifi. The free breakfast is basically some donuts. What you pay for here is location. At the end of the trolley line and in the heart of union square. Easy to get a cab, walk to dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

TravelAddict15222- Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location during your stay. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon! More

Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I must say, the reviews made me nervous, but SF is so expensive. We got a King room. We loved it. Big room, comfortable bed, the carpet was even newer. Only problem I had was the closet was wasted space, bathroom was super small and there was NO water pressure. We would stay again. Staff was very nice and accommodating.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

cmrochel- Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback! We are pleased that you enjoyed our spacious/comfortable guest room, accommodating team members, and central location. Your comments about the water pressure will be addressed, and we appreciate you bringing to our attention. It would be a pleasure to be of service to you again soon! More

Reno, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This isn't a top of the line hotel, but for the price and location it's a great deal in SF. It's right behind the 3 story Forever 21, with the end of one of the cable cars and BART right next to the entrance. My room was rather large compared to other places I've stayed, with a sizable bathroom and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

keykatbryan- Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting San Fran. We pride ourselves on our great price proposition and central location steps from the cable car turnaround, Forever 21, and BART station. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon! More

Peoria, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I audibly laughbed out loud when I walked into my room. I was in town for a large conference. When talking about local attractions, I offered to let people see the smallest hotel room in San Francisco. I was assured that rooms in Japan are smaller. Now, fortunately for me, my conference kept me busy 16 hours a day. So... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

Brian B- Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. We pride ourselves on our competitive rates and central location near Union Square, and we're glad you appreciated these perks during your stay. Please be aware that our hotel will be undergoing significant renovations at the beginning of 2015. More

Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is located in the perfect spot. Unfortunately it's really awful. :-( The entire place smelled terrible - basically like an older person's house, which also seeped into my clothes and I kept catching whiffs of it today while in my business meetings. My bed had really minimal, thin covers and the shower head in my bathroom was barely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Powell Hotel, responded to this review

Heather F- We understand that our hotel is not a perfect fit for every traveler, but many guests greatly value our excellent price point, friendly service, and location in the heart of it all. We regret if our guest room accommodations and hotel scent caused any major inconvenience during your recent stay. Please be aware that there will be extensive... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Powell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Cable car(16)
  • Union square(5)
  • Very clean(3)

Additional Information about Powell Hotel

Address: 28 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Powell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Powell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powell San Francisco
Powell Hotel San Francisco

182 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (177)
Viewed
Room/suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay