We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mosser

54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mosser
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Mosser
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    727
    250
    83
    48
See reviews for
75
580
417
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1646)
  • Mar-May only
    (355)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (508)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (515)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (268)
All months
Seguin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Mosser's best quality is its location; it is in downtown San Francisco less than 10 minutes' walk to stops for the major public transportation methods of the city, including BART and the Cable Car lines. What makes the hotel ideal in my book is that in addition to the location, it offers comfortable, quiet, clean lodgings at affordable rates.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I spent a night here during 2014 new year's eve and I have to say there's really nothing wrong about this place except one, the bathroom, which is not located inside the rooms (I'm not a big fan of this kind of stuffs). Besides all that, this place is located right in the heart of Union Square so that it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tracy, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were very surprised we'd be so comfortable downtown. Even with the loo in the hall, this place was great. Noisy outside yet quiet inside (and we had a street-side room). This will be our place for every Giants game.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YOSEMITE NATIONAL PARK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

yes the hotel room are small and the hall ways look a little run down, but this is a great hotel for over night stays or single travelers. this asian style hotel has small rooms with a bed, t.v., small sink, closet, great local t.v. staions, and shared bathroom. the staff has alway been so friendly to me when i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review

Dear Chris L, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts. Thank you for your honest feedback- as an independent family-owned property, we are always looking for ways to improve our guest’s stays. This property was built in 1913 and we certainly have some very economical rooms with a shared bath in the... More 

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Small Room. Don't bring more than one piece of luggage. No real air conditioner -- open a window. Wear the supplied ear plugs if you're sensitive to city noise. Other than that it was a clean, comfortable room. Service was great. Experience was much better than expected

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review

Dear Joel T, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts, it truly is the best way for us to improve our operation. I am sorry to hear that the size of your room did not fulfill your expectations. We have value oriented rooms that are smaller; however, we do have plenty of... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great experience! Awesome location and great value! Super friendly staff that was quick to answer any questions we had and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco, And will definitely be staying there again on any future endeavors in the Bay Area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review

Dear Trevor B, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We thank you for your business and for your glowing 5-star recommendation! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. I completely agree with you, our location is very central for quick walks to some of the... More 

Sandy, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really liked this hotel: updated older building but neat and clean. The rooms are on the small side, but this wasn't an issue. The staff was friendly and professional, and they made me feel welcome. The location is pretty good - near convention centers, and the room prices great for the location. You can get a very inexpensive room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review

Dear Mary V, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel- I completely agree that our location is very central to majority of all the shopping in downtown and your key points of interest. I’m glad you found our rooms to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was great for us - perfect location for union sq + powell st cable-car / bart, westfield, walking distance to the ferry building. Yes the rooms are a little small, but reasonable. And if you book a 'shared bathroom' room, then don't expect to have your own bathroom. It is so much cheaper than pretty much all other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review

Deak jfjf k, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review! You mentioned you stayed in our European style rooms with a shared bath in the hallway. It makes me happy to hear you found these rooms to be comfortable—we really do strive to make each room very fresh and modern for our... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is ideal if you want to visit to downtown. The rooms are very small. But prices were relatively okay. It was however the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. Parking is nearby on mission and 5th street and costs approx 35$

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review

Dear Rik G, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at the Mosser Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the close proximity of our hotel to your nearby points of interests. The location of our hotel is walking distance to many awesome shops, restaurants, and bars- which I find very... More 

California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Good : Place was Clean and staff was professional. We opts for a private bath. Rooms are slightly smaller than we expected, however it turned to be perfect for our two day stay. Parking $45.00 for 24 hours ( including valet and In and out Privileges )

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review

Dear MsCindy2015, thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I’m glad you found our rooms to be clean—we really do strive to make the rooms very fresh and modern for our guests. I'm happy to hear our staff was professional; I will inform them of your kind words. Thanks again for your recommendation... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Union square(17)
  • Very clean(17)
  • Great location(13)
  • Cable car(10)
  • Rooms are small(7)
  • Street noise(5)
  • Public transportation(4)
  • Ceiling fan(3)
  • Bart station(3)
  • Front desk staff(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

445 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (371)
Viewed
Room/suite (159)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (56)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen (11)
Viewed
Euro Style (26)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in SoMa

Neighborhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighborhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighborhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question