We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mosser

Certificate of Excellence
54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mosser
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Mosser
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    740
    256
    86
    49
See reviews for
78
592
424
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1680)
  • Mar-May only
    (389)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (508)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (515)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (268)
All months
Mars, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had never been to San Fran, so I was unsure of location, and hoping I wasn't spending too much. No worries with this choice, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Across the street from the biggest Marriott I've ever seen, so the neighborhood is full of amenities.Liquor store around the corner (for the surprise refrig in the room), neighborhood... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Due to a mixup from a supplier we were given the wrong room, we were given a deluxe full room, which i believe is too small for a couple.the hotel was fully booked so we had to deal with it for the night. The next night we were given a deluxe queen, which was heaps better, great view of city... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review

Dear Shellsta84, Thank you for your honest feedback- as an independent family-owned property, we are always looking for ways to improve our guest’s stays – I'm glad you liked the location of our hotel. The location of our hotel is walking distance to many awesome shops, restaurants, and bars- which I find very convenient as well. I am sorry to... More 

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I always say that things are "excellent" because that is my style. For what I needed, this hotel was excellent and it was what I expected. For instance, the rooms are not large but for SanFrancisco, I not expect anything else. What i wanted I received: clean rooms in a spectacular location with friendly service. This was my second stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review

Dear knikitas, wow, THANK YOU so much for such a glowing review! I’m so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. I’m glad you found our rooms to be clean— our housekeeping staff strive hard to make the rooms very fresh and modern for our guests. I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed the location... More 

San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Mosser May 11 and believe me, you can do much better in SF, even in the downtown area. Despite my specifically asking not to be in a room by the elevator, and reiterating this when I checked in, they put me in the room right next to the elevator. They switched me to another room which they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have fond memories of staying at The Mosser in 2007 when I first visited San Francisco. However, I recently booked another trip and was rather more disappointed with my stay. I arrived at the room after 14 hours of travel and it was nearly impossible to fall asleep in my attempt to recover from jetlag. The single-glazed windows in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review

Dear KrustyKrabs, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very sorry to hear that you had so many issues during your stay and I wish that you had brought these to my attention while with us so that we could have taken care of them and ensured your stay was truly Mosser Hotel caliber. I do appreciate... More 

Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with my husband twice for a 10 day California trip. We stayed here in the beginning and end of our stay. The 1st stay was good, CLEAN which was my major concern and it was for the most part quiet. I was initially skeptical about sharing bathrooms and a shower but as I mentioned they were surprisingly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review

Dear Maureen S, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the hotel, it truly is the best way for us to improve our operation. I am happy to hear that your first visit was good, however, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us on your second visitl. Our property is unique because we do have some economical... More 

Ojai, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I tend to stay in larger more luxurious hotels, so I was a bit surprised by the small, European room size and 2-star hotel level amenities. But everything was so clean, stylish, comfortable (including the bed) and with such a friendly staff that I ended up being really happy with the accommodations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review

Dear Louise S, Thank you for staying with us and for your glowing recommendation! I’m happy to hear that you found our beds to be very comfortable—we always aim to make the rooms very fresh and modern for our guests. I'm glad our staff was friendly and attentive to your needs-- I will pass along your kind comments to my... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, nothing is really affordable in San Fran, but this hotel is relatively reasonable. The room was small and simple, but if that's all you need it then it's a good choice. Convenient location and easy check-in. I only saw one elevator which was kind of slow, and there was little selection at breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review

Hi Jenny S, thank you for staying with us and for your appreciated recommendation. I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel- I completely agree that our location is very central to majority of all the shopping in downtown and your key points of interest. I’m glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and value and I hope... More 

Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I bought a Groupon for the Mosser and stayed for 5 nights at the end of March. I was coming off a three-night stay (paid for by my employer) in the Hyatt Regency on the Embarcadero. I was a wary of going from a swanky hotel to the Mosser (which some reviewers called hostel-like), but it was what I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Mosser for 3 nights for a short first time getaway to San Francisco. We had a little hiccup upon arrival as front desk at first would not accept our visa debit (which we had used to book the hotel). We never had problems booking with this type of card before but apparently it's not that common in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

450 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (376)
Viewed
Room/suite (161)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (56)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen (11)
Viewed
Euro Style (26)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in SoMa

Neighborhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighborhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighborhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities