We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
444 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115
Offers & Announcements
Beeline to Charm
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    103
    49
    16
    5
See reviews for
76
86
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (286)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Beveren, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel location is great!Near the busstation that take you to the best places off San Fran!We are from Belgium so we didnt know nothing in San Fran.The front desk staff members helpt us very well!We checked in earlier thene the time that we have to!Great!The service was really good!You have coffee,tea and water whenever you want,and cookies from 4p.m.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not really a huge list of positives or negatives, but honestly I expect a little more for a hotel with a price tag like the Laurel Inn's. We stopped here on our way back from a trip to Seattle and were hoping for a quiet space in a lovely neighborhood to catch up on some R&R and see friends. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel location is great, especially for what we were doing. You feel like you're a local when you stay here. However, it is overpriced for what you get. The lobby is nice with great service, but the rooms are aging. Everything was clean, but the sheets were slightly stained, the bathroom door and counter top was peeling, and flooring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that our location worked well for you and that you felt that we had great service. I do understand your comments in regards to our rooms needing to be renovated. I am happy to tell you that we have an extensive renovation scheduled to start in February 2016. Please feel... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very inviting hotel in a great location. The rooms are clean and well-appointed. Ours had a kitchen with a refrigerator, stove/oven, sink, microwave, and dishes/flatware. The service was outstanding!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

It is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that you found the kitchenette to be a nice amenity for you. We look forward to your return to the Laurel Inn. Best Regards, Clark Latterell General Manager More 

Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I did not know what to expect with mixed reviews. We checked in easily at an earlier time. The hotel and garage were easy to access. The front desk staff member was friendly and courteous. There were cookies and coffee available. We had read the elevator was small. While we agreed it was, it certainly was serviceable. We had no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

I am glad to see that you were able to enjoy the comforts of the Laurel Inn. Our convenient location along with some of our amenities (i.e. complimentary bicycles, complimentary Blu-Ray movies) and our service do tend to provide our guests with an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your return to the Laurel Inn. Sincerely, Clark Latterell General Manager More 

sunshine coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location was great as hotel is located close to bus stops servicing Union Square, Ferry Building, Marina/ GoldenGate bridge areas & Haight Ashbury. Also short walk to Trader Joes for cheap snack & alcohol supplies. Room was spacious but alittle noisy on first floor corner, staff were pleasant & rooms well serviced. All amenities are close by in Laurel Heights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you were able to enjoy staying in San Francisco without the hustle and bustle of downtown. Just like you did, many of our guests truly enjoy our location in Laurel Heights as well as our proximity to all points in San Francisco. We look forward to your return to the Laurel Inn. Please feel free to... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Moved to this hotel after a bad experience at a nearby AirnB. What a breath of fresh air. The staff were do kind and accomodating: friendly, informative and helpful. The rooms are spacious and although they could use a bit if updating, everything you need to be comfortable is there. Very large bathroom. Every morning the hotel had lovely pastries... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! It is so nice to see that the Laurel Inn was a breath of fresh air for you during your stay in San Francisco. Our spacious rooms are something that many of our guests enjoy. At the same time, we are finishing up the plans on a full renovation that will be taking place. We are looking forward... More 

Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I stayed at this hotel 5 years ago because of its location and it is a fantastic location. Plus my room had a great view. Unfortunately it needs some 'new'....new carpet, new paint, new sheets...other than that killer location....with great parking in SF.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

It is nice to see that our fantastic location benefited you 5 years ago as well as once again recently. The new paint and carpet that you mentioned are both included in our renovation plans. While we have completed a renovation of our bar (Swank) and our hallways recently, the guest rooms are next on the agenda. I am confident... More 

West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

The room was stuffy room, It didn't have air conditioning. They provide fans. Old & tired. Not near worth the $250.00 per night that was charged. This is not a boutique hotel, it's just old. There are many other hotels for the same money that are a lot nicer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Laurel Inn. It is our intent to ensure that no guest has a disappointing stay as you had mentioned. While there are a good number of hotels, government buildings and offices in San Francisco that do not have air conditioning, we are planning on adding it in... More 

barcelona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

The hotel is ok - good location and nice staff. The rooms are big and the bed comfortable, but there is a horrible smell in the room that won't go away, even after leaving the window open all day. Maybe it comes from the carpet, or from the couch? Not sure, but it definitely makes you not want to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Recently, we changed to a new fragrance that our Housekeeping Department uses in our guest rooms. This is a strong fragrance that should only be used sparingly. I will make sure that our staff is using it as directed in order to avoid further incidents of the smell that you mentioned. Please let me know... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

281 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (235)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
City View Room with Kitchenette (89)
Viewed
Presidio Room (72)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question