We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
444 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115
Offers & Announcements
Beeline to Charm
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Add Your Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    101
    47
    16
    5
See reviews for
75
84
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (280)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Moved to this hotel after a bad experience at a nearby AirnB. What a breath of fresh air. The staff were do kind and accomodating: friendly, informative and helpful. The rooms are spacious and although they could use a bit if updating, everything you need to be comfortable is there. Very large bathroom. Every morning the hotel had lovely pastries... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel 5 years ago because of its location and it is a fantastic location. Plus my room had a great view. Unfortunately it needs some 'new'....new carpet, new paint, new sheets...other than that killer location....with great parking in SF.

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was stuffy room, It didn't have air conditioning. They provide fans. Old & tired. Not near worth the $250.00 per night that was charged. This is not a boutique hotel, it's just old. There are many other hotels for the same money that are a lot nicer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
barcelona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is ok - good location and nice staff. The rooms are big and the bed comfortable, but there is a horrible smell in the room that won't go away, even after leaving the window open all day. Maybe it comes from the carpet, or from the couch? Not sure, but it definitely makes you not want to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Recently, we changed to a new fragrance that our Housekeeping Department uses in our guest rooms. This is a strong fragrance that should only be used sparingly. I will make sure that our staff is using it as directed in order to avoid further incidents of the smell that you mentioned. Please let me know... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love this part of town. Right near the Lyon steps that take you to the exploratorium and Crissy Field. A few blocks from Japan Town, the Presidio, Clement Street and other mid-town attractions. The hotel itself is nice, but not great, and that's fine by me. The room was clean, bed was comfy, and you can get a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

I am glad to see that you found our location to be well suited for your trip to San Francisco. Providing our guests with a clean room and a comfortable bed are the basics of our industry. I am also thankful for the comment that you left in regards to Eats on Clement. I will be sure to have our... More 

Trenton, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for a 4 night business trip. I was a bit taken back upon my arrival. The front desk service was good upon my arrival, however there was a big difference in the night service staff from the day staff, with the latter being the better. A breakdown: 1. Room itself. I have discovered that I really don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry for the challenges that you experienced. It is our intent to ensure that every guest has a wonderful stay with us. I would be happy to assist you in any way possible when your travel brings you back to San Francisco. Please feel... More 

Placitas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The laurel inn is a very convenient and welcoming hotel in a great neighborhood. Our room was spacious,very clean and even had a kitchen. The hotel staff is very accommodating and knowledgeable. They even have a good assortment of movies they lend you free of charge! The hotel is right across the street from an outstanding JCC that the guests... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your great stay at the Laurel Inn with TripAdvisor. It is reviews such as yours that help us with our "word of mouth" marketing. We look forward to your return to the Laurel Inn on your next visit to San Francisco. Sincerely, Clark Latterell General Manager More 

Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Good: Good location, pleasant staff, great morning pastries, great views from room,lots of room storage, ez parking! The Bad: Smelly halls, old and very dated bathroom, someone else's hair in our shower, topped by a cleaning woman who walked into our room without knocking! Because we had to make a last minute trip, many SF hotels were booked. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you found that many aspects of our hotel (location, staff, views, room size and parking) met you expectations. At the same time, I am sorry that you had challenges with Housekeeping and the age of our property. I can assure you that we are currently meeting with some interior... More 

dallas/madison
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was extremely professional and courteous. Great location for access to park and Presidio. Terrific restaurants nearby. Would stay here over and over. 3rd Floor rooms particularly attractive with gorgeous views of skyline. Love the dog friendliness. Very humane and caring, while being discrete and business-like.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It is a true pleasure to see that you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to your future visits and hope that you do stay with us over and over again. Sincerely, Clark Latterell More 

Portland, OR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Weekend with my sister and young nieces. We always like the neighborhood hotels and laurel inn is in perfect location. We visited Alcatraz and Japan town - and even the beach - and it was nice to come back to our quiet hotel at night. Free DVDs to borrow with new titles. We had 2 doubles with kitchenette - older... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review

It is a pleasure to see that you had an enjoyable stay at the Laurel Inn. I am glad that you found our location to be perfect for you as well as the fact that our staff was very friendly. We look forward to once again being your hotel of choice when your travel plans bring you back to San... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

280 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (235)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
City View Room with Kitchenette (89)
Viewed
Presidio Room (72)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question