We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #92 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Irishgal121212 Wisconsin
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    544
    301
    80
    48
See reviews for
232
435
89
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1198)
  • Mar-May only
    (253)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (339)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (359)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (247)
All months
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Three day stay at the hotel. We got a corner room that offered an awesome view day and night. Centrally located to many great city attractions and right next to the muni and cable car stop. Walking distance to many restaurants and shops. On site restaurant good place to grab a quick coffee or drink. Had pizza late one night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I will make certain the chef hears you enjoyed the pizza. Staying at this hotel to see the city is an excellent choice. With the Cable Car and various bus routes steps away, it makes it easy to get around. David K Director of Rooms More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Big advantage to this hotel is public transportation. The buses to fisherman's wharf run along van Ness avenue and stop outside. If you take a few steps from the hotel the cable car terminus takes you into the city. The fares are $ 6 on cable cars each ride. Bus were around $ 2 dollars. Hotel sells day and 3... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review

It is true, our hotel is perfectly located to catch public transportation to anywhere in the city. I am disappointed to hear about the construction noise. The city sometimes does that overnight to avoid causing traffic problems. I understand they are done with that so going forward there should be no problems. David K Director of Rooms More 

Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Prior to relocating to Texas for work 2 years ago, I had lived in San Francisco for almost 30 years. I worked out at the 24 hour fitness a few blocks away, and liked the location of this hotel. When I recently needed to return to SF for a couple of days, I decided to give this hotel a try.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed comments. That you were pleased with the hotel, the location and the staff was great to hear. Your comments on our shortfalls are very important to know. We will use those going forward to try and improve. I hope you have a chance to stay with us again soon. David K Director of... More 

North Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The property was in a good area. The room was clean and inviting. The beds and pillows were the best. However the walls and windows were horrible. You could hear conversations from next door, down the hall, and outside. Through the night the police and fire sirens could be heard, along with car and motorcycle noise. I was on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review

I am glad to hear that you had some great experiences at the hotel and in the city. It is true that being in a urban environment, it can get noisy. It is disappointing that other guests contributed to the disturbance you were experiencing. I know myself that after a day exploring the city, a good nights sleep is important.... More 

Hebron, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway was wonderful. The view we had from our room was amazing. The room was very nice and exceptionally clean. The staff was amazing. They were very professional and provided us with everything we needed. We could not have been any more pleased with our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review

It is always heartening to hear when a guest has had an exceptional stay. The staff here really do their best to make every guests stay special and memorable. I am glad to hear this was true in your case. Please come back and visit us again soon. David K Director of Rooms More 

Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Never book a meeting rooms at Golden Gateway! Bill 2,5 times higher than promised I needed a meeting room for 2 meetings with 20 people and made the following agreement with a Service sales manager: "Frank, Room Rental is $300.00(23%)(14%) x2 = $841.32 Food & Beverage is $200 (23%)(8.75%) = $267.52 Total- $1,108.84 nn | Catering Sales Manager Holiday Inn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your experience with our meeting facilities. I do not know the details but understand many changes occurred after the initial quote. I believe you are working with our sales and catering team to determine the best way to handle this. I hope everything works out to your satisfaction. David K Director of Rooms More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is located in financial district, not close to major attraction sites. Hotel is very nice location, 2-3 minutes walking to cable car (the end of California line) and also bus stop. If you love walking (and some hiking up hill), you can walk to Lombard street, Fisherman's wharf, Pier 39, Ghirardelli square). The room is nice, clean, quiet,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are well located to catch public transportation to anywhere in the city. I am glad to hear your were pleased with your room although they challenges you experienced on your last day were avoidable. David K Director of Rooms More 

Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The first time I stayed at this hotel I was given a room with a view. This time the first room I was given was already occupied. The second room had a loud buzzing noise. I was finally given a third room that smelled musty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review

It is disappointing to hear your stay with us started off so poorly. That is very unusual and I am very sorry to hear it. I will investigate this and speak with the front desk and housekeeping to prevent this from occurring in the future. I hope you stay with us again so that we can show you how well... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

the hotel itself is a beautiful hotel. The staff is very friendly. Wasn't really happy about my view. I had a king corner view on the 19th floor I believe. One window was of construction and the other window was hardly a nice view of the city. The outside of the windows were FILTHY. so disgusting. My room was about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review

I am happy to hear the staff was friendly and helpful. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy the view from your room. The corner king rooms do offer a panoramic view but it is true, there is some construction going on up the street. We are hoping to have the windows cleaned again soon. The city changed the... More 

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a few nights on the top floor. Amazing views of downtown at night. The hotel is close to many great restaurants on Polk Street. Room is nicely decorated and appointed but the functionality wasn't well thought of. The hotel is central to all the tourist places but none within walking distance (2-5 miles).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review

It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and in the city. The views from our rooms are exceptional. David K More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

615 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (360)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (108)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from room (74)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (230)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Corner King (Grand View) Room (30)
Viewed
Double Double (Grand View) Room (28)
Viewed
Double Double (Standard) Room (29)
Viewed
King (Grand View) Room (32)
Viewed
King (Standard) Room (30)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Nob Hill

Neighborhood Profile
Nob Hill
Swanky and stylish, Nob Hill sits in the heart of the city and is home to amazing architecture and views. The hike to the top can be a challenging workout for those who forego a cable car ride, but they will be rewarded with some of the city’s most beautiful architecture adorning its peak. Originally populated with mansions after the Gold Rush, most if not all were devastated in the 1906 earthquake and fire that followed. Luckily all is not lost; storied hotels and Grace Cathedral surround Huntington Park. Having a drink or dinner while taking in the sunset and views at the "top of the Mark" is tough to beat.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question